Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Old out dated hotel doing the best it can! But for a last minute trip can’t really complain. Cheap price for the off season
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

WORST HOTEL EVER! BED BUGS AND NO HOT WATER.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Location only.
Cons: Hotel is old, dirty and infested with bed bugs. Lots of things should be improved starting with the room cleanliness, disinfection, etc.
I have never had a worse experience in an US hotel. We had no hot water during our entire 5-night stay although I did complain to the front desk. I was bitten by bed bugs and had to seek medical advice at an emergency medical clinic in Myrtle Beach. I have skin rashes on my body and face, infection and swelling due to the bites and am currently taking medicine. Very dirty hotel and overall a very disappointing experience. I should get a refund for the accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and every room has an ocean view. We will stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Reef Resort Management, Hotel Management
That you for your response. We appreciate it and look forward to you staying with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Desperately needs to be painted, bathroom regroute

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Suppose to stay 2 nights Changed to 1 night Only received a portion of refund Quite disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Reef Resort Management, Hotel Management
I apologize about the room being unsatisfactory. We are planing on shutting down for a few months this winter to do our annual preventative maintenance and deep cleaning the rooms in the hotel to take care of any issues like this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

LOUD, Beautiful views, good location

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: room itself was very nice. the view and location were great. restaurant was good and moderately priced
Cons: pool needs heated, ph fixed in hot tubs and volume control
Location: lots of shopping, restaraunts, family amusement park nearby
we were put in a room that, were it not for the extreme noise, would have been perfect. It had all the amenities promised, was clean and comfortable. However, we were put next to the bar and it was like there was a bachelor party going on from 10am til way past my bedtime!!! We asked that the music be turned down and it was for one evening. Asking at the desk was worthless. She told me that the hotel had no control over the restaurant area and couldn't help us. The heated pool wasn't. The hot tub was like sitting in a tub of dish soap. Extremely bleachy and ruined a pair of black swim shorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Reef Resort Management, Hotel Management
I apologize that you were not satisfied during your stay. We will make sure maintenance checks into any issues concerning the pool area. And i do apologize about the noise. The bar and grill has music during certain seasons and that is controlled by them which is leased out so we unfortunately have no control over their music.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach stay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Directly on the beach. Staff was amazing.
Cons: Update furniture, flooring, TV's.
The room was as expected. Small 2 bedroom and a little outdated. But for the price, it was clean and comfortable. There were 3 of us and the size of the room wasn't a problem. Any more and it could have been though. The hotel staff was awesome. Very helpful. Yuri, the maintenance man, was great. Very punctual and handled any issues we had. The front desk was exceptional as well. If you're looking for a lower priced place, directly on the beach, and don't mind small and a little old, this is the place for you. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Reef Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do plan on doing a complete remodel next year to take care of anything outdated. We hope to see you stay with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbia, sc

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Need a 1000% do over And the rooms had a bad odor by my money was non refundable that' s the only way I kept this but We stayed out majority instead of being here in this room and I put a sheet to sit on the couch it was old & smelly! The truth must be told but will be my last visit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Nice place to stay would stay there again. Would stay n king room this time . Like the location of the hotel close to restaurants and attractions. Love that the hotel is on the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Reef Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Run away

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Hotel in dire need of a facelift.room is old old old out of date. I almost went back down to my car to sleep thank goodness I only had one night there. They should have paid me to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilmington, nc

Not bad

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Need to redo walls. Need a head cleaner to check behind the housekeeper. Need a new blanket due didnt feel comfy. My husband and i will come back overall.