Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.8 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
1.6 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Point OR

Excellent location, very friendly staff

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff and Location, Location, Location
Cons: A bit of room maintenance
Location: Close proximity to all the action. We walked everywhere and always felt safe. Cool little coffee shops and cafes within a couple blocks
We were nervous based on reviews, but we were short on options and decided to give it a shot. As all you do while in New Orleans is hang out till wee hours, we were not so worried about it. There were 12 of us and everyone said they would go again. The early mornings and late evenings on the main front deck meeting new people was great. The rooms are in dis-repair and I wonder why they don't spend a few hundred a room to improve, but? I have stayed in other reasonably priced slightly off the action hotels and homes and this was .not all that much worse.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Tear it down or gut it and renovate.
Location: Location is not bad.
The conditions are horrible. The hotel staff are nice but in retrospect ashamed. We were shown to our room, which is dead bolted and the front desk person left immediately. When we entered the room the walls are in horrendous condition, the bathroom floor was rotted through, the mattresses are covered in plastic, the room smelled. The only window was was opaque glass with a broken blind. There were roach traps in the bathroom and the best of all, only one bath towel with black stain marks. We left and found another hotel on royal street for twice as much but 1,000 percent better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
The only good thing I can say is that the location is awesome but the management needs to make upgrade to the rooms. They need to makes major repairs and fixed the water leaks. It was not worth the money I spent. Another hotel told us this place is known for prostitution and drug place. We we're so very disappointed, it could really be a great place if the owner put money into the facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Steiermark

Spartanisches Hotel in Nähe des French Quaters

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Die Lage des Hotels ist super! Es befindet sich unmittelbar am Eingang zum French Quater. Abends ziehen sogar noch Bands direkt am Hotel vorbei. Die Zimmer sind sehr einfach. Es gibt ein Bett, einen Stuhl und einen Fernseher. Weder Ablagen, einen Kleiderschrank, noch Wandhaken sind vorhanden. Generell ist es nicht besonders sauber und die Decke hat etwas geschimmelt, weil es im Bad weder Lüftung, noch Fenster gibt. Außerdem ist es sehr laut. Man hört alles, was sich im Gang abspielt. Die Zimmertüren können gar nicht leise geschlossen werden, weil sie ineinander keilen. Alles in allem würde ich das Hotel nicht mehr buchen. Es war mein zweiter Aufenthalt in New Orleans, daher weiß ich aus Erfahrung, dass es bessere Alternativen zum gleichen Preis gibt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from monroe, la

Not somewhere I would recommend.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on CheapTickets
Let me preface this review by saying that the staff was helpful and nice. This is a very old hotel though and the plumbing is jacked up. We had a leak in our bathroom ceiling which caused not only a water leak but also plaster from the ceiling to fall into our bathroom floor. Staff was nice enough to get us buckets to contain the mess but it really was a hassle to duck around. I was surprised to learn even with the ceiling falling in that they still rented out the same room to someone after us without making any repairs. The plastic mattress liners are the worst though. Ever tried to sleep on a plastic mattress liner? I would equate the experience with something befitting torture for terrorists. Fitted sheets won't stay on the mattress, the god awful sound of plastic rustling every time you move ...and the mattresses really aren't very comfortable to begin with. However, if you are just looking for somewhere near the quarter and don't mind roughing it this place is cheaper than most other places. Don't expect much from this place though--it's a roof with a place to sleep.
1 out of 5
by Alois

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ummm..NO!!!

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
We definitely DO NOT recommend staying here. There is only enough room for a double bed, which is covered with plastic, so every move you make crinkles. The floors are beat up, the bathroom in total disrepair. Parking is a nightmare. We only decided to stay after checking in because we checked in very late and needed a few hours of sleep. The tv is a computer monitor, with only a few channels. 0 stars from me!! It is about a half a mile from Bourban Street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the French Quarter, it's a good & cheap

Posted Mar 15, 2016
It's great if you want a place to sleep and shower. Just a few blocks away from the French Quarter. The staff was nice. For us it was a good stay. Not to expensive. I'm you don't go to New Orleans to sit in a fancy hotle anyway. Prefect for people who are going to spend a lot of time seeing the city. The only thing I say is. . . If you have kiddos this is not really a place you would probably want to take them, it more of an adult atmosphere. Nothing crazy a lot of people coming back late from Bourbon Street. Lol
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than staying on the street

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
You truly get what you pay for. I was traveling alone, and needed something rock-bottom in price, without being too far to walk in and out of the Quarter. When my cab dropped me off here, he told me that any time after 11pm, I needed to take a cab in and out of the neighborhood. Well, I didn't do that and I was fine, but way to start me off on a high note. Speaking of a high note, I'm pretty sure most of the other guests were high out of their minds. Wouldn't have been any of my business but the walls are thin enough that you can hear literally all of the conversation in the hall or in the adjoining rooms. Also, one night past 2am, I awoke to loud screaming up and down the hall; a woman was making a very loud fuss about something, and wanted to fight just about everyone, apparently. I heard one of the clerks eject her, and yell into the street that if she ever came back he'd put her in jail. FUN. Walls are peeling. Shower didn't drain very well. Mirrors were all broken somewhere. Sink leaked profusely, and also didn't drain quickly. Mattress was covered in loud plastic sheeting that trailed onto the floor. On the plus side, the A/C worked, as did the outlet to charge my phone. So it's not even the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Location: Within walking distance of Bourbon St.
Dirty floors, mold and dust on ceiling. Ant traps in room. No guests allowed back in rooms. Weird shower head, had to crouch down a little to be under it. Another patron's cash was stolen. Declined room service due to this. Charged for something not agreed with, but paid to not start anything.