Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewisburg PA

Beautifully situated and close to many activities.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The room decorations and the brunch get rave reviews.
Location: Westminster was only a few minutes away and seemed to have a lot of cultural opportunities (including the activities at McDaniel College).
Small room but functional. Amazing and pleasing decor. My wife and I marvelled at the painted murals on the walls. Brunch I would rate 10 out of 10. Would re-visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila./ South Jersey

Yellow Turtle Inn

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Room decorations an expression of the proprietress Joan's art & Joan's creation of an atmosphere of quiet relaxation. Joan is wonderful!
Location: Sit on porch & pet the cats. Bike ride hilly roads. Bike ride C&O canal tow path. Western Maryland train museum. Gettysburg. Civil war sites.
Wonderful, comforting, relaxing, quiet, scenic. Porch view of the cornfield, rolling hills & sun setting behind mountains stunning. The room decorations are well thought out to comfort & relax. Very interesting & pleasurable. Hearty breakfast on the porch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

New Windsor quaintness

Posted Jul 30, 2015
This b&b has a wonderful atmosphere of serenity and well being. The Innkeeper is very welcoming and the food is just delicious , plentiful and filling. An experience of true Maryland hospitality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013
5 out of 5
by S.D. from new Jersey

Lovely bed & breakfast near Gettysburg

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Lovely and gracious home. The owner greeted us as we arrived and changed our room without hesitation or any extra charge. I wish we could've stayed l
Cons: Breakfast should be earlier. 10 am is a bit late if you want to go out for the day.
Location: Very pretty location.
We were visiting colleges in the area. We checked in late (10:30pm) and the owner very kindly switched our room because we needed 2 beds, not one. We did not EST breakfast, because we had to leave by 9. We could've had the cereal and coffee, but we chose not to.
4 out of 5
by Kris from Colorado

Beautiful Manor house in peaceful setting

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Quiet peaceful area. Old Manor house.
Cons: Clutter, area to keep belongings. Help with the local area. Took our used soap and did not replace it. Grounds and building need some attention.
Location: Restaurants are 6 miles to nearest town. Not much to do nearby. Confusing country roads.
You must be a tad adventurous to stay here. We had to find our own room and settle in. Notebooks with directions to restaurants in Westminster, 6 miles away were in the room. Breakfast was a grab-n-go due to varying schedules and was fine. Food was left out all day for snacks. In a quiet remote area and beautiful 1800s Manor house on 3 acre grounds. The grounds needed attention and the home is also in some need of finer tuning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Clawfoot tub looked great but was a safety concern. Victorian decoration was fitting but very cluttered and it was difficult to find a place to set our clothes, toiletries and food or drinks down. We bought dinner back a couple of nights. The dining room was the same. Plates, glasses, food containers on the dining tables made it rather cramped. I ate on the porch one night and watched the fireflys. Overall a pleasant stay. Slept well. We had a 40 minute drive to Gettysburg. Great for a longer quiet respite, a party, visiting locals or a quick night driving through. Not a good location for a headquarters as it was so remote.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10 minutes to McDaniel College

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Location to McDaniel College. Proprietess is very nice.
Cons: No shower in room, only tub so you have to improvise. Teenagers may not be happy.
My first stay in a bed and breakfast. Not a lot of hotel rooms available in the area. During lacrosse tourneys they sell out months in advance. The Yellow Turtle Inn had a room available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Quiet Country Retreat

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: It was like staying with a great aunt in a big country house. Very comfortable. Refrigerator in room.
Cons: A way to reach someone if you need something, phone directs you to the website not a person. (however there is an emergency number provided)
Location: Located in a quaint small town without much going on. Plenty of places in the surrounding area you can drive to though for events, antiques etc..
If you are OCD and do not like clutter this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a quiet weekend in the country in a big Victorian house with huge verandas filled with wicker furniture overlooking miles of farmland THIS IS IT!. The hostess is gracious and leaves coffee,tea, soda and snacks out for the guests in the breakfast room. I spent 2 nights and came in the evening and left early in the mornings so really never saw the staff after I arrived. I hear the brunch which is provided is great but I was not there for it. You can order dinner by request as well. Great place for couples or people traveling alone not so much for families with children. If you want to be on your own in a comfortable setting this is a great place but there is no central desk with an attendant on duty so you kind of need to fend for yourself when no one is about. I felt very safe and at home there and would stay there again. You may need to drive a few miles for anything other than a homestyle diner or fast food.
5 out of 5
by Scotto from Eden, NC 27288, USA

Great for a romantic stayover.

Posted Nov 26, 2012
The hostess made you feel very welcomed & the atmostphere within the historic building was outstanding. The inn is very personable, cozy and romantic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yellow Turtle Inn Review

Posted Apr 30, 2012
We had a very nice stay, very charming. This is a very old home that has been turned into a bed and breakfast and would be a great place for a small wedding and after party.