Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lewisburg PA

Beautifully situated and close to many activities.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The room decorations and the brunch get rave reviews.
Location: Westminster was only a few minutes away and seemed to have a lot of cultural opportunities (including the activities at McDaniel College).
Small room but functional. Amazing and pleasing decor. My wife and I marvelled at the painted murals on the walls. Brunch I would rate 10 out of 10. Would re-visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten path

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
It's isolated, which can be great. There was a lot of mismatched decor, both inside and out, and it was unattractive. The pictures online seemed a lot nicer than in person. We were a little put off that there was no separate bathroom and the toilet is in the room with you, with no more than a privacy screen separating you from any sound or smell of its use. However, the bed was really comfortable and clean, the bedding was attractive, the room was very spacious, and the tub was spacious and relaxing with actual hot water instead of Lukewarm. As for service, the owner was a little intimidating and judgmental (we smoke cigarettes and didn't expect a comment when we went to the designated smoking section), and very talkative when we got there and during breakfast (I mean like a 15 minute conversation when we were trying to settle in or talk to each other). However, we got to check in a few hours early without headache even though it said not till 5 on the reservation, and for leaving you just leave the key on the bed to check out. Breakfast was tasty and filling. And it is one of the few choices of where to stay in miles around that area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phila./ South Jersey

Yellow Turtle Inn

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Room decorations an expression of the proprietress Joan's art & Joan's creation of an atmosphere of quiet relaxation. Joan is wonderful!
Location: Sit on porch & pet the cats. Bike ride hilly roads. Bike ride C&O canal tow path. Western Maryland train museum. Gettysburg. Civil war sites.
Wonderful, comforting, relaxing, quiet, scenic. Porch view of the cornfield, rolling hills & sun setting behind mountains stunning. The room decorations are well thought out to comfort & relax. Very interesting & pleasurable. Hearty breakfast on the porch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

New Windsor quaintness

Posted Jul 30, 2015
This b&b has a wonderful atmosphere of serenity and well being. The Innkeeper is very welcoming and the food is just delicious , plentiful and filling. An experience of true Maryland hospitality.
1 out of 5
by chris from southport NC

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
The place was cluttered....My room "Angels paradise" had no door on the bathroom...and the entrance door had no lock. The room itself was very cluttered
4 out of 5
by LBR from Bethesda

lovely retreat

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
I felt very welcome at the Yellow Turtle Inn and really enjoyed the short time I stayed there. It was close to town with interesting shops and the surrounding area was beautiful. My friend and I each visited the massage therapist at the Inn and both came away happy. Brunch was DELICIOUS!! We visited a winery that was also close by and enjoyed live music and a tasting and met lots of fun people.
5 out of 5
by Bettina from Rockville

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was relaxing and comfortable. It was a fun and relaxing time at the Yellow Turtle Inn. Beautiful views and so quaint and social! I would visit the Yellow Turtle again and I recommend it to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S.D. from new jersey

Lovely bed & breakfast near Gettysburg

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Lovely and gracious home. The owner greeted us as we arrived and changed our room without hesitation or any extra charge. I wish we could've stayed l
Cons: Breakfast should be earlier. 10 am is a bit late if you want to go out for the day.
Location: Very pretty location.
We were visiting colleges in the area. We checked in late (10:30pm) and the owner very kindly switched our room because we needed 2 beds, not one. We did not EST breakfast, because we had to leave by 9. We could've had the cereal and coffee, but we chose not to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kris from Colorado

Beautiful Manor house in peaceful setting

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Quiet peaceful area. Old Manor house.
Cons: Clutter, area to keep belongings. Help with the local area. Took our used soap and did not replace it. Grounds and building need some attention.
Location: Restaurants are 6 miles to nearest town. Not much to do nearby. Confusing country roads.
You must be a tad adventurous to stay here. We had to find our own room and settle in. Notebooks with directions to restaurants in Westminster, 6 miles away were in the room. Breakfast was a grab-n-go due to varying schedules and was fine. Food was left out all day for snacks. In a quiet remote area and beautiful 1800s Manor house on 3 acre grounds. The grounds needed attention and the home is also in some need of finer tuning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Clawfoot tub looked great but was a safety concern. Victorian decoration was fitting but very cluttered and it was difficult to find a place to set our clothes, toiletries and food or drinks down. We bought dinner back a couple of nights. The dining room was the same. Plates, glasses, food containers on the dining tables made it rather cramped. I ate on the porch one night and watched the fireflys. Overall a pleasant stay. Slept well. We had a 40 minute drive to Gettysburg. Great for a longer quiet respite, a party, visiting locals or a quick night driving through. Not a good location for a headquarters as it was so remote.