Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful view

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Great location to get almost everywhere in the Financial District. Wall Street, the Staten Island ferry, the Brooklyn Bridge, Battery Park City...
The room was spotless and really comfortable. Both windows had beautiful views of the East River and the Brooklyn Bridge and the outdoor space was incredible. I was in town for a run and managed to get a fantastic night sleep the night before!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Good location and reasonable price. Very close to Wall Street and Chinatown. The flushing of the toilet is not so good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Best hotel for a stay in New York

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We tend to always stay at the Best Western when traveling to New York City. This hotel is in a good location and the staff is awesome. Hotel is clean and all is well there. No worries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, seaport

Good location but terrible experience

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Cons: Base on what the Great Western customer service rep told me I can say that GW does not care much about hygiene, rodent problems and customer service.
There are several things wrong at this hotel but I will tell you the worst one which was the reason why we had to check out earlier than planned. We were laying in bed around midnight lights on and I was almost asleep and my husband was on the computer, he realized there was a mouse on the floor. I called the reception and asked him to move us to another room, he said I had to wait for the manager till next morning because there was no other room available. the mouse was running around the room and one second it was in the tv cabinet on the coffee maker next second it was on the floor, then we realized there were two of them. They were living in the TV cabinet. I called the reception again and told him I could not stay in this room. Later when we went down to the front desk, we saw two more mice in the breakfast are. The receptionist We took their photo too and attached them below. We found a room at another hotel close by. Recetionist refused to pay even for a taxi and he was very rude ;we had to walk with our luggage at 2:30 am in Manhattan. After going back to the hotel several times we finally got to speak with the manager 2 days after we checked out, he said this mice problem is very common in this area and there isn't anything he could do as if this whole situation is very normal. I paid over $3000 to them and he said all he could do is $200 refund. I also called the GW customer service and gave them all the details, the rep said there is nothing they could do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above.
HAd a great time. Would have been nicer if there weren't two large black garbage bags filled with ?????? Just outside our terrace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

South Street Seaport Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity to lower east side, rooms were clean, good water pressure, TV service and complimentary breakfast
Cons: in room Wifi was very poor and floor was very sloped.
Location: Location next to South Street Seaport site and restaurants and 15 minute walk to 9/11 memorial, Battery Park, Statute of Liberty and Ellis Island.
This was a clean, convenient and reasonably priced alternative for seeing the sights of lower Manhattan and the financial district.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

in south street seaport

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Location: Brooklyn Bridge, South Street Seaport , Pace University
Great hotel, great location, very nice staff, complimentary breakfast , I will definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location, broken air conditioner

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I was looking for a last minute hotel because I was working late and needed to be back down in the city early the next morning and figured Best Western was a good bet. Check in was as convenient to be expected, got my keys for a room on the 6th floor, the elevator smelled like rotten fish, the room had a beautiful tall ceiling, but a very loud portable air conditioner that proved to not be able to keep up with the size of the room because even though I adjusted it, I was still sweating through the night. The in room hair dryer didn't work and I needed to call the front desk to request another unit. The one window was too tall to see out of, but if you stood on the desk, there was a beautiful view of the Brooklyn bridge. But i wouldn't necessarily recommend this. Overall, the hotel was clean, breakfast started at 7 which was later than I needed to be at work so I couldn't use the amenity. The room had a whirlpool which I also didn't have the chance to utilize. There's a ton of restaurants and a Duane Reade within walking distance which was definitely convenient. Bottom line, if you're in a pinch and need a place to crash, it works. But if you're on vacation and looking for a nice place to stay, I'd keep looking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Good location, terrible room

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The location was great. There was a lot of sightseeing in walking distance.
Cons: The parking procedure and the condition of the rooms. I talked to a total of 5 employees about parking, as well as the garage attendant.
Location: The water taxi for harbor tours was in walking distance. The 911 Memorial and St Paul's churchyard were also nearby.
We arrived in the city to early to check in, but were able to leave our suitcases at the hotel before we parked our car in the garage. The hotel employee did not tell us that when we picked up our car the next day, our parking stub needed to be validated. When we dropped the van at the recommended garage, I told the attendant we were staying at the Best Western and asked how much parking would be, he told me that since we were staying at the Best Western, it would be $30 (again, he didn't say anything about needing to have the stub validated) We chatted with the person that checked us in and again, no mention of the need to have our parking stub validated. We went up to our room and it was TEENY. The ceiling had loose, crumbly parts from water damage, but the worst part was the sink. Someone had thrown up in our sink and it was dried on and disgusting. The internet was barely usable because it was so slow. The next morning, I went to take a shower and while trying to adjust the hand held shower head (which was positioned so low that it had to be held), the water pressure was so low that I wouldn't have been able to rinse my hair, so no shower. As I walked out of the hotel I greeted the employee in the lobby and said I was going to get my car and he didn't mention that I need to validate. I got to the garage (a block and a half) at 6:00am to avoid rush hour traffic and he tried to charge me $60. I had to return to the hotel (showing my key wasn't enough) for validation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire, england

Nice hotel overlooking Brooklyn Bridge.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: View of the bridge
Cons: Refurbishment of the room
Location: Nice shopping area across the road
Had an enjoyable stay after an eventful first night when the hotel was evacuated because of a fire outside that spread to the dining area. We had 9 fire engines and apart from a couple of hours lost sleep weren't really affected. The staff did an amazing job recovering and we had breakfast in the dining area the day after the fire. The room on the 6th floor was a little tired but had the best views of the bridge through the window with the broken window frame. The location is a 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station, but as we like walking it didn't bother us. It is also a short walk from Ground Zero, Wall Street and the ferry to the Statue of Liberty but all other attractions need to be accessed by Metro.