Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, Dc

Loud hotel even for NYC

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location but not enough to stay again
Cons: Let me be able to sleep in a hotel. That is the bare minimum I could ask for and that was not met.
I checked in with an individual that was pleasant and a delightful way to start my stay (I wish I could remember his name). The room was in the basement, which is immediately unappealing but the decor helped the small space seem appealing. The bed was small but for the most part comfortable. After coming back to our hotel after a night out getting ready for bed, I started to notice that the noise coming from the window/ AC Unit were incredibly loud. I thought I was still adapting to the NYC volume which is normal but hearing people walk by steps and conversations sounded like they were coming from inside the room rather than outside. On top of that the elevator right outside the door (the hotel was so small that only 3-4 rooms were on each floor, no escaping) and Mechanical room let out a loud hissing and banging almost every 20 minutes that would wake me up. When checking out the next morning I was asked about my stay and told them I barely got any sleep and found the stay unacceptable. I was then told that is a shame and found that the response to my complaint was on par with the hotel, so lackluster and unimpressive that it slowly starts to irritate you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO


Posted Sep 28, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: A little expensive.
Stayed in the area of the hotel all night. The hotel was conveniently located and was very clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location, reasonably priced and comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: It is well located in the lower east side and it's affordable and comfortable..
Cons: Things can always be improved but I have never been disappointed.
Location: Lower east side, lots to do. Great restaurants everywhere, walk east river trail, museums, off broadway shows, river cruises, about everything!
We have stayed here several times as it is literally across the street from my daughter's apartment. I've never had a bad experience. I have seen other reviews with complaints about small rooms and outside noise.......It's New York City......get over yourselves!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gute Anbindung

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Zimmer sind klein, aber ausreichend, kein Frühstück, Supermarkt und UBahn Station in der Nähe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Comfortable & clean in a great location.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very helpful staff, surrounded by great restaurants & shops.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Göteborg

Kanonhotell för NYC besökaren

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Väldigt trevligt hotell med kanontrevlig personal. Peter i frontdesk är extrem hjälpsam. Hotellet ligger 2 min från tunnelbana som tar dig vart som helst. 10 minuters promenad från Little Italy, 15 minuters promenad från China Town, 20 minuters promenad från World One Center. Små rum men räcker gott om man för turisten. Lite lyhört från korridor och gata men inget som stör.
5 out of 5
by Wanda

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The service at the Gatsby was the best part. Anthony at the front desk was amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great Location! Great facility! Perfect NYC spot!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Most everything! LOCATION specifically! Right in the bustle of things!
Cons: A better working "front door" elevator as there are steps up to the front desk and the elevator was slow but staff offered to carry my bags.
Location: SHOP! The subway! MOVIE Theatre! Whole Foods (right across the street)! NYU (about a 15 minute walk )! Little Italy! Chinatown! Katz Deli!
Front desk staff was very attentive, professional, and helpful as well! Room was clean, new, with perfect HDTV, FREE WIFI (woot woot), with fridge and microwave. Minimalist style and newly remodeled room was excellent. Room is small but its a boutique hotel and I cannot complain as its NYC and you can't beat the price! Please stay reasonably priced! :) Room is small but again....its NYC! Don't expect to put a family of 5 kids in there as you might need to book more rooms! Hotel is close to most all subway lines! Bus as well and walking distance to NYU and SOHO shops and restaurants! You can walk to Little Italy and Chinatown or head down to Broadway or down Houston to just people watch. "artsy fartsy" Movie house next door which is a plus! See those independent films! LOVED staying here and WILL stay again!
5 out of 5
by Julie


Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Jessica at the front desk was fantastic!!! The room was new and clean. The location is good too. They were very accommodating when a room switch was necessary and everything about the stay was great! Would stay again in a heartbeat.