Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to sleep and shower

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Paid for a room with double beds. Arrived and found debris on top of toilet seat. Changed to a single room as not more double rooms were available. Single Room had more issues including dirty floor, stained towels, Bedding and room accessories.and no bottled water in the room. Hotel did try to make things right by offering to refund $93 for my inconvenience. This was not the most pleasant hotel stay and I would never return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia,PA

Great Hotel in a great neighborhood!!!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Room was clean! Service was great. Check in and out were super smooth. It was a quiet hotel in a good section of the city. Hotel was in a great sectio
Cons: Nothing really. For the price of a night's stay,I think you get your money's worth.
Location: The location is in a nice section of the city. There are neighboring restaurants,landmarks, and attractions.Everything is in both walking distance ...
Had a very great stay for a birthday weekend with my wife. Hotel was nice and cozy. A small apartment style room but that was all I was looking for. Room was very clean. Had a great view of Houston Street as I was on the 5th floor. Staff was exceptional. Value was top notch for a hotel in New York City. Hotel was also close by to lots of restaurants,landmarks and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to place I frequent in the neighborhood

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Centrally located in the Lower East Side.
Staff is always incredibly helpful. Rooms are sparse, but clean. A great value. For NYC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel: clean and comfortable.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Already mentioned - the hotel was comfortable, clean and updated. Anthony at the front desk was great - very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Cons: As mentioned - heavier blankets on the beds, adjust the room doors so they don't slam shut and add a few vending machines with drinks and snacks.
Location: Located on Manhattan's lower east side. Subway is just a block away. Easy access to all of Manhattan.
We spent 4 nights at the Gatsby Hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean and updated. Anthony at the front desk was great - very helpful and pleasant. I have no complaints about our stay and I would definitely stay there again while visiting New York. I would however, make three suggestions to the hotel. While the room had a good heating system and I was not cold, I felt the bed could use heavier blankets. The weight of the blankets were equivalent to 2 sheets and a lightweight blanket. We were there in January and I like the feel of something heavier. The second suggestion is, if possible to adjust the heavy doors so that they do not slam as they are closing. If you were careful to hold the door, you could close it quietly but for the most part, I heard a lot of slamming doors. Part of the blame should definitely go to other guests who allowed their doors to slam behind them, often late night and early am. My final suggestion would be to add a few vending machines with drinks and snacks. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and I would recommend your hotel to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Good stay in local area

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Great area to walk around town, lots of restaurants, bars and metro within walking distance. there is some construction in the area near by and it's on a corner so it's busy. As long as u ask for a hotel room on the 4th floor or higher you should not hear too much noise. They provide tea and coffee and store your luggage for free if u need to check out but still want to hang out in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, calm decor, good location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Clean, calm, new decor. Hotel well located in East Village/Bowery area. Comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute Arrangements were excellent

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hi! My stay at the Gatsby Hotel was excellent! My grandmother passed away they not only made special accommodations they made me feel special welcome and very safe exclamation point I recommend it to anyone in my family friends Neighbors go there you would love it the staff is great God bless them
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK CITY

Not living up to the name it has.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing much to praise about the hotel.
Cons: Get good housekeeping staff and have the room significantly sound proof; especially the doors.
Location: Central position - Easy access to the subway and good eating places.
We could hear very clearly every noise and conversations made by the guests next door. Hardly got more than 4 hours sleep on the first two due to one child guest next door playing with his parents and watching TV till 2:30 am. And can hear everyone's luggage rumbling pass our doorway. With the price they charged, they should at least be able to grease all the door hinges and installed soft closers to prevent doors from slamming shut loudly. We don't think they put on fresh clean sheets and pillow covers as they were not crisp and tuck in smoothly like other hotel rooms. The were bits of visible dirts and twigs in the carpet; luckily we manage to buy some cheap rubber thongs on the first day. NOT IMPRESS at all that this is the only blemish in our otherwise lovely and enjoyable America trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Noisy

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Didn't sleep well!! I heard people walked so close, heard the cars passed... we got very noisy room!! If by any chance you have to stay in this hotel, stay in higher level.. the floor wasn't really clean! There smell in the room that I couldn't tell what smell is that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
the room they gave me was in the basement and although they said the rooms have been updated they were not, chips in the bathtub, cold, noisy