Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, calm decor, good location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Clean, calm, new decor. Hotel well located in East Village/Bowery area. Comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute Arrangements were excellent

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hi! My stay at the Gatsby Hotel was excellent! My grandmother passed away they not only made special accommodations they made me feel special welcome and very safe exclamation point I recommend it to anyone in my family friends Neighbors go there you would love it the staff is great God bless them
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK CITY

Not living up to the name it has.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing much to praise about the hotel.
Cons: Get good housekeeping staff and have the room significantly sound proof; especially the doors.
Location: Central position - Easy access to the subway and good eating places.
We could hear very clearly every noise and conversations made by the guests next door. Hardly got more than 4 hours sleep on the first two due to one child guest next door playing with his parents and watching TV till 2:30 am. And can hear everyone's luggage rumbling pass our doorway. With the price they charged, they should at least be able to grease all the door hinges and installed soft closers to prevent doors from slamming shut loudly. We don't think they put on fresh clean sheets and pillow covers as they were not crisp and tuck in smoothly like other hotel rooms. The were bits of visible dirts and twigs in the carpet; luckily we manage to buy some cheap rubber thongs on the first day. NOT IMPRESS at all that this is the only blemish in our otherwise lovely and enjoyable America trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Noisy

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Didn't sleep well!! I heard people walked so close, heard the cars passed... we got very noisy room!! If by any chance you have to stay in this hotel, stay in higher level.. the floor wasn't really clean! There smell in the room that I couldn't tell what smell is that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, Dc

Loud hotel even for NYC

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location but not enough to stay again
Cons: Let me be able to sleep in a hotel. That is the bare minimum I could ask for and that was not met.
I checked in with an individual that was pleasant and a delightful way to start my stay (I wish I could remember his name). The room was in the basement, which is immediately unappealing but the decor helped the small space seem appealing. The bed was small but for the most part comfortable. After coming back to our hotel after a night out getting ready for bed, I started to notice that the noise coming from the window/ AC Unit were incredibly loud. I thought I was still adapting to the NYC volume which is normal but hearing people walk by steps and conversations sounded like they were coming from inside the room rather than outside. On top of that the elevator right outside the door (the hotel was so small that only 3-4 rooms were on each floor, no escaping) and Mechanical room let out a loud hissing and banging almost every 20 minutes that would wake me up. When checking out the next morning I was asked about my stay and told them I barely got any sleep and found the stay unacceptable. I was then told that is a shame and found that the response to my complaint was on par with the hotel, so lackluster and unimpressive that it slowly starts to irritate you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

立地は良いが設備はもうひとつ

Posted Sep 28, 2016
9月中旬に宿泊。立地はイーストビレッジとソーホーの間で便利です。ホテルの部屋は狭く、セフティーボックス、歯ブラシがなかったです。ハンガーもひとつでした。部屋の掃除もやや雑でタオルが1枚かけていたり、バスタブが洗われてなかったりと・・・。立地が良いだけに残念です
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: A little expensive.
Stayed in the area of the hotel all night. The hotel was conveniently located and was very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunshine USA

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
I don't like this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels