Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Can't wait to go back

Posted Dec 22, 2010
xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Quaint + Amazing Location

Posted Dec 19, 2010
It is important to note that this isn't your typical hotel... you check-in at an office rather than a front desk. It's not a problem if you arrive on time (and it wasn't a problem for me), but I know some people got there late and it was an issue for them. The room was quaint, cute, and cozy. They've done a nice job of decorating, and the rooftop deck is pretty romantic. We just had an issue with electricity. Not sure of the whole story, but electricity had been shut off in our suite, and it didn't get turned back on that night. Luckily we still had heating, but no lights. We were only there for one night, so bought candles and they gave us flashlights, but would have been convenient to have some actual lights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

NOT A HOTEL!

Posted Aug 13, 2009
This is just an apartment complex (not a nice one at that) that they toss off as a hotel to tourists. It's overpriced and not equipped with anything you'd expect with a hotel, i.e. soap, shampoo, toiletries, room service, A FRONT DESK. Avoid at all costs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Minetta Street Suites - I'd Stay Anytime

Posted Apr 15, 2009
You cannot beat the location of this place. If you are fine with a small room, no elevator, and no frills (including your own soap and shampoo), you will be quite satisfied. I walked out of my door, and up to the roofdeck -- what a fantastic view of the city. They even made it so that if you go all the way to the edge, you can get a good sightline of the Empire State Building. When I went out the front door of the hotel, you are essentially adjacent to MacDougal and all of the restaurants and bars in the area, AND they were filming Law & Order: CI that night. Got a great view of Jeff Goldblum! This place has obviously been refurbished recently, and each room has a small kitchenette so if you are truly on a budget, you can make it work. I really liked staying right in the heart of the Village instead of some corporate hotel. It was great, and I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Cool little place to stay, without any frills

Posted Apr 11, 2009
It's not a hotel; it's a tiny apartment building. When I got here, I had to walk a few blocks to a real estate office, and they told me I had been "upgraded" due to overbooking, then put me in a terrible, crummy building (these people are very unprofessional, by the way), so I insisted that they "upgrade" someone else. Don't let them "upgrade" you; it's garbage. Minetta's a cute little place on a tiny street, though. Location is fantastic, and the building has a cool feel to it. DO NOT stay here if you can't walk up a few flights of semi-steep stairs (no elevator). Bring your own soap/shampoo, and plenty of cash. Everything around here is cash only, but there are lots of ATMs. The a/c blows heat in my unit (just kept it off and it wasn't a problem), and the tub jets either don't work or they turn on and scare the crap out of you at random times. Overall, it's a great place to stay for the money and gives you a real "new york" feel that can really make your stay, and you can walk almost anywhere around here. I would definitely stay again, but I don't recommend you stay here if you can't overlook the things I mentioned earlier in this post (check in hassle, tub jets, a/c, etc.). Also, this place is perfect for young or single travelers; it's more private than a hostel but still gives you a cool "touristy" feel. With the exception of the small issues, it's a great buy for the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Huge Problem

Posted Mar 24, 2009
I showed up for check-in late and there was a number posted on the door to call if checking in late and the number was out of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great value

Posted Jan 28, 2009
A real find for an inexpensive hotel room with all the basics and a great location. Pretend you are staying at an aquaintance's studio apartment who is living a spare life. No frills here other than the espresso maker - and a tub with jets. Having the efficiency kitchen is a plus (microwave, fridge and hot plate). Bring a bar of soap. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Little Falls, NJ

Affordable accommodation

Posted Jan 21, 2009
Check in to the hotel was not that bad as other people commented. Maybe, because we were arrived after 6pm, the person was on site to check us in. Hotel is located in the heart of West Village and very convenient. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Jacuzzi was difficult to operate and the bed frame was fallen apart. But otherwise, I will go back and stay in this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J.J. from CT

Great place to stay in Greenwich Village

Posted Dec 24, 2008
We truly enjoyed our night at the Minetta Street Suites. The location was perfect for a night of fun on the town. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again in a New York minute!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

This is NOT a hotel

Posted May 16, 2008
There is no desk. You must arrive between 10am and 6pm, and even then you must call someone who will come let you in sometime in the next 30-45 minutes, if you are lucky. If you don't have a cell phone, you are out of luck. You are then given a door code. I lost mine (my fault, of course) and the only person who had one had given his cell phone to the doorman in a building four blocks away. I waited in that building for over an hour for the man with a code to return. Many rooms are up two or even three flights of stairs. The rooms are pleasant enough, but they supply _nothing_. You have to bring your own _soap_. I would never stay here again.