Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Super nice host and great rooms. Cool furnishings in a historic brownstone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brownstone Heaven in Brooklyn

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We had an incredible time celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The owner is a wonderful Lady who knows the history of the neighborhood and where to go for food and fun. Although the neighborhood has been a bit gentrified it is still a hub of African American cultural life. Sankofa Aban is just 1 of many black owned businesses in the area.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Pittsburgh

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Debbie is very friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great two-night stay!

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location, warm atmosphere, food and Jazz!
Cons: The bed at a 45-degree angle might not be the best use of space.
Location: Close to subway and walking distance to many Brooklyn sights.
This was our first time in Brooklyn so we wanted an authentic experience, which our b&b provided. The location is terrific and the building a classic brownstone with vintage Victorian decor. Don't expect a hotel, but a much more intimate experience and the opportunity for a truly fantastic jazz evening on a Friday or Saturday night. Debbie seems to be a one-woman show, so a little patience is required but the pay-off is A+: friendly, fun and family-like. Our highlights were Brownstone Jazz - six guests enjoying four top-notch musicians and a late-night dinner of fish, coleslaw and cornbread; and the breakfasts cooked to order and enjoyed with a fellow guest. There is a lot of world still to be seen but we would definitely consider Sankofa Aban if we make it back to Brooklyn!
5 out of 5
by Corey

Debbie makes the place

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
While being barely 5 mins from a very convenient metro stop is nice - Debbie makes everything even more worthwhile with her wit and reliable recommendations for sights and foods in Brooklyn. I hope to stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special Place

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Debbie is a lovely host with a whole lot of Heart. She welcomed us so warm and made our Stay in bed stuy really special. Friday Night Jazz and Fried Fish was extraordinary Even though we had to leave early...thank you debbie! Much Love from Tania and Max
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nicosia, Cyprus

Enjoy living in a grand Brooklyn brownstone

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The house has not been insensitively cut up or "modernized". My room had a splendid fireplace with mantel and tile surround.
Cons: It would be nice if gas fires could be installed, but safety rules may preclude that.
Location: I found the neighborhood warm and friendly. A woman who had misdirected me to Macon St. very kindly backtracked to correct the info.
I arrived a bit late after a train trip from Boston and braving holiday crowds to get through Penn Station and onto the subway A train express to Nostrand Avenue, the stop nearest Sankofa Aban. I had neglected to contact the gracious owner, Debbie, and also hadn't noted the 6 p.m. cutoff for checking in. Luckily I was able to phone her and from then on all went smoothly. The house exudes period charms and was also lavishly decked out for the holidays. It was a special privilege to be able to talk with Debbie over coffee about the history of the house and her family. She also recommended an excellent car service (Evelyn) to Newark Airport when I left on the morning of Dec 29 and again had to cope with holiday traffic in rain and fog, plus airport crowds. My two nights in the house were blissfully quiet, comfortable and relaxing. Thank you again, Debbie, and I look forward to returning. As I said before leaving, it really feels like a home away from home.
5 out of 5
by yutaka from 日本

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
MTAのNOSTRAND AVの駅に近く、マンハッタンに行くにも便利。近くに学校があり、治安は悪くない。落ち着いたインテリアの部屋は広く、天井も高いのでくつろげる。オーナーはとても親切で陽気なで方で、また宿泊したい。
4 out of 5
by Joe from NWA

Beautiful old Brownstone in Brooklyn.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful old Brownstone in Brooklyn with a excellent host named Debbie. Not for those who are looking for modern amenities but great for those who want to experience the local culture in a historical BB. Great Jazz on site ever Friday and Saturday.