Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Debbie is a great host, very friendly and she even invited me to her Thanksgiving feast. Also on Friday nights they have a live jazz session in their living room, absolutely brilliant!! Only 15 mins to Manhattan via the A train and the station is less than a block away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

Excellent warm and welcoming BnB in Brooklyn.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the lovely service from the staff, and the great conversations every morning over breakfast and coffee.
Cons: There was an issue with the hot water at the time, but I'm sure that will be fixed by the next time we show up.
Location: The BnB is just 3 blocks from the A and C lines on the subway, and a 15 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens and 20 min walk to Williamsburg.
Staying at the BnB with Denise running the show was an excellent choice. The hotel is an old row house renovated and turned into a multi room BnB. The service is fantastic with great made to order breakfast in the morning, and late night jazz and speakeasy drinks in the parlor at night. The beds are spacious and comfortable, rooms large, and just 3 block to the subway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I would not recommend this place to anybody

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to subway
Cons: All the details that are mentioned in the review
Location: The location has beautiful brown stone homes and is about 15 min walking to shops and restaurants that are typical to the area
The room is dark , dusty and dirty. The carpet was never vacumed. No lock or key to the room door. Noisy area at night. No TV . No reading light. No desk and no chair to sit on. We had to buy our own breakfast since Breakfast preparation started at 9:00AM ,and we came to NY for sightseeing not for breakfast waiting Shared bathroom was dirty Owner is very nice but it did not serve our purpose of staying in a nice clean and comfortable Setting
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time and Sankofa Aban was a wonderful place to stay. Very welcoming!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Super nice host and great rooms. Cool furnishings in a historic brownstone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brownstone Heaven in Brooklyn

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We had an incredible time celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The owner is a wonderful Lady who knows the history of the neighborhood and where to go for food and fun. Although the neighborhood has been a bit gentrified it is still a hub of African American cultural life. Sankofa Aban is just 1 of many black owned businesses in the area.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Pittsburgh

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Debbie is very friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great two-night stay!

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location, warm atmosphere, food and Jazz!
Cons: The bed at a 45-degree angle might not be the best use of space.
Location: Close to subway and walking distance to many Brooklyn sights.
This was our first time in Brooklyn so we wanted an authentic experience, which our b&b provided. The location is terrific and the building a classic brownstone with vintage Victorian decor. Don't expect a hotel, but a much more intimate experience and the opportunity for a truly fantastic jazz evening on a Friday or Saturday night. Debbie seems to be a one-woman show, so a little patience is required but the pay-off is A+: friendly, fun and family-like. Our highlights were Brownstone Jazz - six guests enjoying four top-notch musicians and a late-night dinner of fish, coleslaw and cornbread; and the breakfasts cooked to order and enjoyed with a fellow guest. There is a lot of world still to be seen but we would definitely consider Sankofa Aban if we make it back to Brooklyn!
5 out of 5
by Corey

Debbie makes the place

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
While being barely 5 mins from a very convenient metro stop is nice - Debbie makes everything even more worthwhile with her wit and reliable recommendations for sights and foods in Brooklyn. I hope to stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special Place

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Debbie is a lovely host with a whole lot of Heart. She welcomed us so warm and made our Stay in bed stuy really special. Friday Night Jazz and Fried Fish was extraordinary Even though we had to leave early...thank you debbie! Much Love from Tania and Max