Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by David from Berkshire

Huge rooms, quiet location – but details lacking

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Pleasant, quiet, location. The breakfast.
Cons: See general comments re state of chair, toilet and heating.
Location: Very quiet peaceful location and surrounded by a garden.
An old country house converted to a hotel with the big high ceilinged rooms you would expect. Pleasant friendly staff some details need attention – one of the two armchairs in my bedroom was very frayed and the toilet had a very unpleasant looking black stain below the waterline which a dose of bleach should have cured. The central heating was not working, though the night was cool. I don’t mind a cool room, but others might. Excellent breakfast with especially good scrambled eggs. NB there is no lift but the receptionist helped take my suitcase upstairs. Free WiFi worked well.
5 out of 5
by Lee from Hull

Top Top Location to stay

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed in one of the superior rooms in the main house at Horton Grange whilst working only a short way away at Blyth. The house was easy to find via satnav and parking was plentiful. The staff were chatty and helpful and made me feel instantly welcome. My room was large with a lovely view, warm on a cold day and with a lovely big en suite. The steak I had for tea was out of this world and cooked to perfection. I will definately be staying here again when I have to work in the area.
5 out of 5
by Catriona Cory from Edinburgh

Relaxation through and through

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
I had a fantastic nights sleep here at the Horton Grange. Staff were fantastic all the way through my stay. I dined on the excellent value Dine in Style menu, and the rooms were super comfy. Downsides, because no place is perfect: walls are thin, so I could hear next door, but sleep swiftly overcame, so for me, it wasn't a problem. However, if it was slightly more rowdy, I could see that becoming an issue. As the heating was turned down in the restaurant area, rooms upstairs also became cooler - but again, once tucked up in bed it wasn't a problem for me. I also had to cut my trip short - and handled all without a fee (24hrs cancellation policy) or a quibble. I walked out with a smile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value country hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Location and country setting.
Cons: Maintenance.
It was pretty quiet when we stayed, the staff were friendly, the rooms were nice and the breakfast was very good. The hotel feels as if it needs a bit of TLC in places, a cracked washbasin, a sash window that couldn't be opened and the sitting room carpet needs a clean. We paid a reduced rate so overall the hotel was good value for money and I would happily book again.
4 out of 5
by Sean from Dubai

Horton Grange 1 nights stay

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels
Really nice hotel where all the staff were very helpful and service was good, only downside was that wifi coverage did not reach to our room and we booked the hotel specifically for that reason
4 out of 5
by John from London, UK

Meals at Horton Grange

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: Accomodation & Staff
Cons: Type of main meal
Location: A very peaceful location with excellent road links to surrounding places
Every part of the hotel was very pleasing the only dissapointment was the lack of traditional meals on the dining room menu, as my wife and I do not like modern or fancy cooking this meant we had to seek our main meals elsewhere. We feel that the type of meals available could have been reflected in the hotel advertising.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

soundproofing problem

Posted Aug 14, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel building is impressive and the grounds and garden are very pleasant. The food in the restaurant is very good, the evening meal menu offers a good choice and breakfast of scrambled eggs was superb. However, I stayed in the one of the Garden rooms, in a separate annexe and the soundproofing between the walls would appear to be non existent. I had read reviews of the problem before I stayed but hadn't expected it to be so bad. I could hear every single movement of the people on either side of me, including turning on any switch, sitting on the bed and every sound from the television. My nights sleep was compromised by the guy next door snoring.
5 out of 5
by louise

Our stay at Horton Hotel was extemely

Posted Jun 8, 2009 on HotelClub
Our stay at Horton Hotel was extemely pleasant. (apologies for not remembering the guys name on reception) Got within a couple of miles of the hotel eventually, may I just add, the hotel was as close to the airport as specified but unfortunately with me getting lost I ended up further away, believe me there is only me who can do that. BUT that was not a problem, the receptionist mentioned earlier came and found me and I followed him to hotel. On arriving at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised to find such a beautiful place was so close to the airport and very quiet. Inside was just as good and receptionist did not faulter to find food and drinks for us as bar and kitchen were shut. Altogether, the hotel and room were very impressive, bed was comfortable and I did not come across 1 member off staff who couldnt of been more helpful, and the breakfast, well what can I say apart from compliments to the chef.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Unobtrusive quality service

Posted Apr 20, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel is ideally situated close to Newcastle, Newcastle Airport and the market town of Morpeth. A classic small country house feel, set in it's own grounds it offers privacy and a relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. There is a seperate living room, bar and restaurant. The food is excellent and staff are helpful but unobtrusive.Would recommend it to all categories as a relaxing place to stay.