Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Walls are paper thin

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Shuttle
Cons: Expedia
Besides the hotel lobby and bar area, everything else was disappointing. I was told I had an ocean view, it was more on the line of being a roof view. Rooms were small for the price, but the worst part was how thin the walls were. I could hear my neighbors like they were in my room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing Water View

Posted Oct 24, 2016
I paid a premium rate to be guaranteed a Water View. My room had one tiny little window that was broken! The seal between the 2 window panes was broken, so the window was completely fogged leaving me with no view of any kind, I could not even see the outside. Since I had paid for the room in advance through Expedia (the only way I was told to get a water view guaranteed) the Hotel was not taking responsibility for the lack of a water view and not refunding me any portion of the room charge. I will not be staying at the Hyatt Regency again and will have to consider if the convenience of Expedia is worth it, if the Hotel relinquishes its responsibility because you pay Expedia and not the Hotel directly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: This hotel was in an excellent location off of Goat Island--we had a wonderful two nights here with my family in two different rooms. Our rooms were in different locations so got to see two different views on the hotel's property. The location is really lovely and was what drew us to this property--we were able to go on an evening boat tour seemingly just directly off the property as well. The breakfast buffet was tasty and very filling--however, some of the wait staff were not very kind and lacked good service, some examples including I had to ask for a glass of milk five times the sbefore it was delivered to my table, but other than that, the front desk and concierge more than made up for the disgruntled attitude of a few in the dining area.
Cons: They did not clean our room until room service was requested late in the afternoon... not sure if this was a hotel policy or they just a lot of guests during our stay...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing hotel room and service

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location was ok if the shuttle was working. Views seem nice if you are able to get a room with a window larger than a porthole & over water not parki
I booked a "deluxe" room at this hotel as it was our first time visiting Newport and wanted a decent hotel experience. However, the "deluxe" room was at the far end of the hotel in what looks like an old wing of the hotel and looks out over a parking lot. The room looked like something out of the early 1980's and was very tired and worn in appearance. The window was very small so almost no light came into the room. the room looked more like a Motel 6 room in appearance, certainly not a "deluxe" room at over $450 per night. furthermore, the hotel shuttle which was supposed to run every 30 minutes to the town center never showed up for departure and the whole crowd of people waiting were forced to either get cabs or walk into town. Same experience on way back....shuttle never showed for trip back to hotel. No explanation and no apologies. Told the front desk people about the room and the shuttle but never received any sort of proper remedy. I loved Newport and will definitely return but absolutely NOT to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: servcie was ok
Cons: not a room that i would pay $500 a night for?
About $550 a night for what was essentially a motel room in a conference center. service was ok but way overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: View and location
Cons: Check in could be handled more quickly with more staffing
My son is at URI and Newport is a great spot to stay when visiting! Hyatt is perfectly located in Newport with a shuttle to get you around town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Disappointing at these prices

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Brown water in room. Could not use the tub. Room requested was not available and we were assigned to a room in the rear of the hotel which required walking a flight of steps to access. Food in the bar area was nearly inedible .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Great hotel, great staff. Fabulous outdoor area with pool and chairs facing the bay. Probably the best buffet breakfast we have had! Make sure it's part of your room rate, otherwise it's $20.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edgewater, NJ

Great location

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed this hotel and would come back again soon! Loved the amenities!