Ratings based on 691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nee jersey

Outdoor pool in a nice setting

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Was close to downtown area. Had a shuttle running every half hour. Pool in a pretty setting on the water
Cons: More staff needed. There was only one housekeeping person that I saw. Not possible to clean all those rooms
Location: Good location, nice restaurants, bars, took a nice sunset sail
Arrived on Sunday room not ready until 5pm. Was there for 4 nights. Did not clean the room except on the first night. No clean towels. Had to go find housekeeping and bring them my dirty towels and garbage. So many guests complaining at the front desk during our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location was great
Location: We walked to downtown area for dinner and activities.
Pleasant staff, couldn't check in early, so went to pool. Changing rooms were unpleasant, hot and small. Room was fine. Double beds in our room instead of Queen size. Clean, but dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
It was a pleasant stay. Saw lots of families and couples alike. It was a very busy weekend (and season) but parking was easy and service was fine. Pleasant staff. Would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not worth the high price

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Free water at the front desk
Cons: A lot, but mainly the hotel needs to spend some $ on decor, get rid of the mirrored columns, better towels, and new carpets. Do not lose guests' cars.
Location: Sunset cruise on the Madeleine was very nice.
I booked this as a replacement for another reservation. I originally booked the Vanderbilt Grace for a special surprise for my fiance. Then I got a call later that day that this hotel had been booked for months, so Expedia didn't know how I got the reservation. To make up for it, they suggested applying the $ for the Vanderbilt Grace toward the Hyatt. Initially I said no way, but my accompanying travel plans were non-refundable. Expedia apologized, promised a "suite" at the Hyatt was on-par with VG and offered $150 for future travel I caved. This hotel is so far below the standard of any place I'd spend half of what we paid, and I was embarrassed to take my fiance here. This hotel is fine if you book early/don't want to spend a lot of $, but the prices get jacked up based on supply/demand. The rooms haven't been updated, the decor is very shabby (carpets in stairwells have stains on them, the furniture is damaged in the rooms), we were barely given towels, and the valet lost our car for an hour. They left the keys in the car and didn't lock it, so we were just glad nothing was stolen. The staff was pleasant but the woman at reception spoke in broken English. Our room was far away from reception, so clear instructions would've helped. Paying almost $700 for a two-floor basic room they called a "suite" since everything else was booked felt like a ripoff, even with an offer of $150 credit. Had I known it wasn't comparable I would've cancelled. 4-star rating needs amending!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachussets

great staff but a very small room

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: Very small room.
Location: great location
Amazing staff!!! Always ready to help with a big smile!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Reasonably good, but somewhat overpriced

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Location: Newport waterfront has a lot of fun places to shop, dine, and take boat trips. There are also historic mansion tours you can take.
Hotel facilities were nice, as they had a pool, restaurant, bar, and outdoor lawn & walkway. Location was slightly inconvenient as we had to take a shuttle back/forth to the main waterfront area. Shuttle service wasn't always on time and didn't have enough capacity at times. Gym was small but still good with a few different machine, plus they had indoor pool which we didn't use. Hotel staff was quite friendly and always willing to help. For its quality, it was slightly overpriced, but this is one of the few name-brand hotels in the area (I generally stick to those and not BnB's), so not surprising.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel But Way Over Priced

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I think it is crazy to charge $700 a night for this hotel. It is certainly not a 5 star hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

OK hotel - overpriced

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Location was great - beautiful sunsets
Cons: Daily maid service - improve restaurants and foods selection. Rooms are too small.
Location: Great shuttle service - drivers were super helpful.
The staff was very friendly and very accommodating to all of our needs. The hotel was clean and was convenient to the downtown area with a free shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. However, for the daily cost the rooms (Waterview) were very small and cramped. The bathroom was tiny and very tight. We had to request on both days (late in the afternoon) to have our room attended to - beds made, fresh towels, etc. The restaurant and food selection is very generic and nothing special. Overall if you have the opportunity, consider another location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Tolle Aussicht

Posted May 29, 2016
Resortgebühr von 35 $ pro Tag etwas teuer, tolles Frühstück
5 out of 5
by Norma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels