Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Pros and Cons

Posted Apr 3, 2016
This hotel had an amazing view of the beach, good food and a good wait staff. If you are looking to only relax on the beach this is a good spot, but if you are looking for tours/adventure and seeing Lots of things, this is not the best place to go. It is very far away from a bigger city and the tours/adventures we signed up for through Expedia were not able to pick us up from this hotel because of the location(It was misleading online). We had to rent a car and drive close to an hour to go into Tamarindo to participate in zip-lining, rafting and horseback riding. There was also an issue with the room and we had tons of bugs all over. It seemed like an older hotel and the doors/windows didn't really seal shut creating an opportunity for creatures to enter, it was almost like camping with walls. From what I can tell, they were doing renovations so maybe they will be updating their rooms soon. Overall, the view of the beach from Hotel Iguanazul is incredible and can't be beat, but the remote location and the bugs will not be bringing us back.
3 out of 5
by IMELDA from guadalajara

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
el baño no tenia agua caliente. tuvimos que pagar 15 dolares extras por el aire acondicionado.
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Monterrey

Chill out and relax with amazing sunset

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Just in the middle of nowere, great for relaxation and forget about the world.
4 out of 5
by Mariana from Santa Ana,Costa Rica

Muy lindo, lástima la playa

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Muy lindo hotel, con una increible vista desde la habitacion. El servicio del restaurante es bueno tambien. Lástima que la playa no es de las mejores de Costa Rica, mucha piedra para entrar. No aconsejable ir con niños a la playa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This was the first of 4 hotels we stayed at on our vacation. We found the location to be a bit remote. Which was fine for us. The resort had a nice restaurant, pool area and landscaped grounds looking over the beach. Stunning views. The beach had good tidal pools, snorkeling and swimming. All the resort staff was very nice and were able to help with questions. Are only complaints were the beds had very hard mattresses. It would be nice to have a refrigerator in room to feed kids when the restaurant is closed. We did find a good market close to the resort.
4 out of 5
by Fish Tacos

Amazing Tropical Paradise, but Rooms Need Work

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Pool, atmosphere
Cons: Rooms, cleanliness, modern comforts
Location: Numerous amazing isolated beaches
This place is a hidden gem in Guanacaste. You have to drive on a gravel road for a mile or two, but do not need a four wheel drive vehicle. The pool, bar and restaurant are fantastic. The outdoor area overlooks the ocean from a cliff that faces due west. You can't beat this aspect of the place. When we went it was quiet and serene. The pool was very clean. The room is what could be upgraded. We found numerous dead and alive bugs, some on the bed. The beds were ok, but not the most comfortable. There is no phone in the room, although there was a decent wifi connection. If this facility had a major room makeover it would be a solid four to five star resort.
4 out of 5
by Esther from Puriscal

La vista es increible

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
Exc vista!!! ls habitaciones no son tan bonitas, pero estar en la piscina y la playa es el paraíso desde ahí
1 out of 5
by Randy from Winnipeg Canada

Don't check in.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: lobby was nice but there was a hole in the roof over the bar. The view was magnificent, the pool was great. The grounds were good.
Cons: The rating for the hotel, it should be rated in the hostel category.or only a one star at best.
Location: Not much near by, nothing within walking distance and dusty roads.
No hot water, bugs in the room that bit us and keep us from sleeping, no wifi, no water glass in the room, hole in the roof of our unit (#1), broken door to the unit which had been visibly repaired over the years, door was very poorly fit because bugs could get in beneath and all around the door and the door jamb ( there was a significant space between the door jamb and the wall surrounding it. No clean towels each day. Twenty years ago this may have been a good place but definitely not today. It is rated as a three star just like the Samara Inn but if one used the Samara Inn as the norm this place would be a minus three. Unfortunately we trusted Expedia and prepaid for five nights, however we only stayed two and are requesting a rebate for three nights. The parking lot was gravel and terrible. Room was way over priced.