Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted May 15, 2017
Pretty good hotel, location in a park like setting. Good value, I swam every morning in the indoor pool. Staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Lovely hotel, shame about the dinner

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, great walk in shower, beautiful settings.
Cons: The evening meal was very poor standard and a waste of money.
Location: Great location. Easy to find, well signposted from the road. Town of Woodstock nearby has several good pubs. Food great at The Kings Arms.
We stayed here for 1 night this weekend. The room was small but good, a really comfortable bed and great shower. I didn't realise that all the hotel information was on the TV so that would have been good for the staff to point that out. It is set in beautiful surroundings. My one disappointment was the evening meal in the restaurant. The menu sounded promising but it fell below standards. My mackerel starter was overcooked dry and tasteless. We both has a steak and mine was just bland where as my husbands has a weird taste. Mine was supposed to come with a garlic butter sauce but was just a pot of melted butter that tasted of burnt garlic. Def not a sauce. It was such a shame and waste of money. We were really looking forward to a good meal out and were disappointed with the standard. Despite this we would return to this hotel. actually the breakfast was really good. It's a good hotel, lovely location and good room rate, I just feel they are let down by the standard of evening meal catering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Disappointed

Posted May 2, 2017
Room was pokey with no comfortable chair - in a king size executive room!! Nowhere to hang clothes properly with out staring tiny space with an ironing board. No mini bar in fridge. Poor signing around hotel. Limited menus in restaurant and bar. Breakfast was very expensive for what was offered. Generally not a good experience and would never return.
3 out of 5
by Mrs. N

Weekend stay

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small and insufficient drawer or wardrobe space, A/C did not work and as it was the weekend could not be fixed. Offered a fan but as it was noisy had to be switched off at night. Bar prices are extremely high however the staff where very good and the location is superb
4 out of 5
by Penny

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel in lovely grounds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Really tatty hotel that needs an overhaul

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Poor check in experience. A room that had zero space for anything other than the bed that was in it. We asked to see a larger room and was shown a room the same size with two beds in it. We didn't have the heart to eat dinner there. Despite booking breakfast for two I was twice challenged about my booking saying that I owed more money despite showing my booking email the first time. The second time I had to email my booking to the receptionist. The staff were generally low grade and unhelpful. The price of the stay was well in excess of the experience with neighbouring hotels (Cotswold Spa) at a cheaper rate with a higher rating - in hindsight we should have booked there
4 out of 5
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jane

Good Cotswold base

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Seemed to have a lot of children here during our stay who weren't always well behaved - think running screaming up and down the corridors. There is a long drive from the main road to the hotel and the signs aren't lit which when you are arriving after dark isn't helpful. Breakfast which was included was great but avoid the bar. The service is bordering on rude and the prices are very inflated for a captive audience, either drive to Stow or Bicester to pick up something on your way in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Sensational

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff and facilities
Cons: No
Location: Easy access to all Cotswolds towns. The hotel is really a resort and very self contained
At first I thought this hotel was a cross between 'The Shining' and 'Fawlty Towers' as it was off season. Suddenly the hotel started filling over Xmas and everything changed. The staff are excellent and really go out of their way to help. The facilities are first rate and it is most reasonably priced for the quality of the accommodation. The grounds are superb. After a few days I really didn't want to leave the hotel, even though the gorgeous sites of the Cotswolds were around the corner. A great four days and I would certainly come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Second time here definitely come again staff very friendly