Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Avoid Room 8, first floor annexe

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: We would go again, but it might be wise to insist on a ground floor room!
Cons: Black tea (e.g. English Breakfast) and milk of some kind would be a useful addition to the hospitality tray.
Convenient for travellers using Boulogne/Calais, attractively set well back from a country road in its own grounds, gardens. Charming owner hosts, excellent dinner. No doubt they have bedrooms up to the very good general standard, but ours, room 8, located on the first floor of the annexe was not suitable for a double bed. The room's a strange shape, with not much usable space. The head end of the bed was under the sloping attic roof - you'll bang your head if you're tall, and it's impossible to sit up in bed. (A single bed, placed against the side wall, would be fine). In the shower room, the loo is set under a sloping ceiling at an angle that makes it difficult to use whether standing or seated. The out-of-date literature in the room we found off-putting, but the menu arrangements once in the dining room were more encouraging, and the charm and professionalism of the service and the quality of the cooking won us round.
4 out of 5
by Ann from Epworth

Upscale Farmhouse Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The Staff and surroundings of the hotel are first rate. However, Room 8 is not so great. Low beams over the bed and toilet make it almost dangerous. This room should be mentioned separately and guests offered it at a reduced rate if they accept.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Houston TX

Quiet Farm Retreat Close to Channel Beaches

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good location for those who want to get away from the hectic city scene. The hotel is an ancient converted farm stead, surrounded by fields and adjacent farms. It is only 15-20 minutes to shore fishing villages such as Wimereux and Wissant, where there are many bistros and seafood restaurants, ocean activities and hiking the coastal trail. This area is mainly populated by European heritage French locals. The proprietors are excellent cooks who offer dinner in their quaint dining room, which is from another era.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Beautiful tranquil setting

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great ocation in rural setting and beautiful gardens. Easy to get to coast etc
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very convenient for the tunnel, lovely setting, good food, but expensive by comparison.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent breakfasts -

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The internet
Cons: not a lot.
Location: Bakery n Wierre I well worth a visit.
The rating is a tad above O.K. Only had breakfast in the hotel - dinner out with friends on both nights we spent at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent on both mornings. The bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Malcolm from Symington

Very nice dog friendly country hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice small hotel in the country that has the benefit of being dog friendly. Great situation with a lovely garden, friendly helpful staff, and very nice food. My only negative points are the rooms are small (bed was full size and comfy), bathroom was tiny, and its on the pricey side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant room in the middle of nowhere

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Disappointed that being on the top of the building there was no view outside as the windows were too high. The sloping roof meant that the one had to bend down to get to the loo and the loo did not fill up after flushing. We came back to the hotel after eating elsewhere around 9.10 pm to find it all locked up and our keys had been left in reception. It took a little while to raise anyone and we think we were the only ones staying!
5 out of 5
by Mark from Peterborough

Great getaway

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
Great relaxing hotel with excellent service. Food was very good quality. Rural location with plenty of charm. Ability of staff to speak English appeared limited which some may find a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location, lovely gardens, good breakfast.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Didn't explore as just using for overnight stay.
Lovely peaceful setting which provided a good overnight stop between Calais and our onward journey. Fairly remote location so decided to eat in the restaurant rather than travel to nearest town for a meal. Opted for fixed price menu which was still a bit pricey, but very nice food and wine and good service. Bedroom was good, although en suite facilities were a little cramped but it was manageable for one night stay. Tea/coffee making facilities were included Breakfast was excellent - nothing was too much trouble and there was a good selection available even though we were the only overnight guests. We would certainly consider using this hotel again