Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SUK HA from Hong Kong

The location is not very good.

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room is quite hard to find. Even when we are taking a taxi, the driver has to ask others for several times to find the hostel. The staff there was kind and nice. The room is big enough. The decorations are great. However, there were some small insects.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Poor quality and cobwebs = character???

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: I love quirky conversions - quality lets this one down
Cons: Everything here needs attention be it paint, tiling, grout, and a couple of boxes of gap filler
Location: Penang is a great place and we had a wonderful time.
While our room was spacious and the place certainly had potential the price point is far to high for the bad quality of everything about this place. At this price you expect clean, decent quality linen rather than thin, stained and torn sheets that don't cover the bed and broken foam pillows - pretty poor form. Added to that, all of the finishes from the tiling to the plumbing and even structure were of the lowest quality and done in a very shoddy fashion - none of the tiles level, the started tiling in one corner with no cuts and then just finished wherever it went. Paint flaking off the walls, wall hooks broken and hanging on the wall, mural peeling off, big gaps in the roof/wall/corners etc. I understand this is an old building and a quirky conversion, just doesn't excuse the pathetic quality and poor work. Even to the point where bits of roof tile cracked and fell on us in the night and again in the morning when it cooled and heated up (there is no ceiling/seal between the tiles and the room).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Home Sweet Home

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
The surrounding is very nice, cosy, spacious and quiet. The hotel building is very clean, nice and reminded me my old house thirty years ago. The staffs were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zhenyi from Singapore

Great place to stay in Georgetown~

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
A very comfortable place to stay in Georgetown. We choose the family suite and I didn't expect the place to be so big which could comfortably accommodate our group of 4. There is also a sofa bed in one of our room and at our "living room" downstairs which makes it a very comfy place to hang around and chit chat with our relatives whom lived in Penang and had pop by our hotel to bring us around. Will definitely consider this hotel for my next trip to Penang :) Many thanks to the Mango Tree staff.. you have made my family's stay a very comfortable one :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Germany

Charming, but overpriced. Ikea furniture

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, Style
Cons: Condition of the rooms
Location: 30 mins walk to center
Staff / Service: super nice Breakfast: was the opposite of an "intercontinental breakfast": local and various. We liked it very much. Location: good, but not sooo central. Free shuttle to city center in the morning. Rooms: Spacious and nicely decorated, but furniture of lower quality. The Family Appartment is offered for 5 people, but the 5th person had to sleep on a very poor Ikea sofabed on the floor (which is fully charged). We got towels only after asking for them. Overall: A charming and individual place you will remember, but rather a "holiday flat" and "stay with friends" than an Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Quaint and comfy stay

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
Loved the heritage feel of the rooms!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by 喜歡旅遊的人 from 香港

服務貼心, 令人舒服

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
酒店只提供早上10-11時內有免費車車去市中心(光大百貨)或車去轉車站, 可以的話增長這免費車子時間至全日更好更方便, 因為酒店位置拒市中心要行去的話也要20-30分鐘而車子去只8-10分鐘.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Adelina from Singapore

Perfect short getaway!!

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
Great place, Great location, Wonderful staff!! A homely place out of home to rest and relax. The warm reception and informative staff aid to make our short stay very fulfilling and restful. Highly recommended to ALL!!!! Never be afraid to ask them where to find the best food in Penang as they are always very willing to give you all the information you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

top service

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
Very special place, located in residential area. Quiet, convenient. Staff are sooooooo helpful!