Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beisbane

Never stay here!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Staff were good, but hotel was tired dirty uncomfortable bed horrible shower. Holes in walls bed was never made correctly.. Never again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Cheap and cheerful. You get what you pay for.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Allocated a room that was already occupied. Second room I was given, the aircon wasn't working so got moved to third room which was adequate but without a Riverview which is what I had booked for. In need of modernising.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Hotel very convenient for city, bus station etc

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: se above
The hotel occupies a prime position on the Esplanade but is desperately in need of refurbishment which could upgrade it to 4 stars plus The construction site across the road means the windows are constantly dirty and although the room was booked as a river view, it was impossible to see out. Despite the busy road beneath my room the noise level was minimal but the walls are thin and i could clearly hear the conversation in the room next door! There was plenty of hot water and clean bedding but the towels were old and discoloured. There was a fridge provided and usual milk tea and coffee plus well stocked mini bar. It was reasonably priced for the accommodation provided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in middle of everything

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Hotel in center of Perth is also a block away from a train/bus interchange and the ferry terminal. Wow!
Cons: Such a great location. But with two new 5-star hotels being built opposite in the ferry terminal site, I guess a full renovation will not happen.
Location: Location!!! Can do and get everything from this hotel.
Air conditioning...pre-set for whole hotel with season of year, so cold spell in Spring meant I could not warm the room even a little built.m Windows overlooking Swan River sealed...staff could open them, dirty outside windows need cleaning. Electric water jug cord too short for floor powerboard or from bathroom sink to power point on wall. Libby needs makeover...first impression was the worn lighter edges showing through the black vinyl on couches...not a reassuring first impression on arrival. $20 per day charge for Wi-Fi...even country motels free as with cafes, etc. Plug too big for sink...it works but leaks your hot water after a while. Fridge set too cold and thermostat likely to blame...frozen Coke can, 2 water bottles, 2 bottles of beer frozen solid in door rack.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Terrible junkie hotel in s great location

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Hands down one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The positives first: the girl who checked me in was lovely, and the hotel's location is perfect - it's in the heart of the city, has views of Elizabeth Quay (which, granted, is a huge construction site now but will soon be a lovely view) and is just steps from Esplanade train station. Now the negatives, which far outweigh the good: the place absolutely REEKED of stale cigarettes. The air was thick with a gross, dirty mustiness that makes you feel like everything you sit on/touch is filthy, even though my room was generally cleanish. Ironically, there are signs all around the hotel threatening to charge you hundreds of dollars for fumigation if you dare to smoke inside (it's apparently a non-smoking hotel), though based on the smell I sincerely doubt the place has ever been fumigated. My room was dark, dingy and creepy, and everything in it was incredibly outdated. All the windows in my room looked directly out into one of the floors of a multi-level carpark, meaning I had to keep my blinds shut because there were people coming and going from their cars like 5 metres away from my bed. I'm also pretty sure there was a generator of some kind in a cupboard in my room; there was a non-stop loud humming noise coming out out of there that made it difficult to sleep and feel comfortable. I'd only recommend this place to my most drugged up junkie friends, not that they could afford its insanely unjust prices anyway. AVOID.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

お風呂だけは良かった

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Wifi 利用に1日20ドルもかかる。 接続もあまり良くなく、不便だった。 もう少しスタッフの対応が良いほうが、いいと思う。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty poor overall considering the cost

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: full reno
I know hotels are expensive in Perth - hate having to pay hundredsfor an extremely pedestrian offering, looking out onto a car park with bloody great air conditioners all night. Also object to them (and many others) whacking a $100 bond on my card which then takes about a week to get back. What was I going to steal?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Wotif
Old and needing a full refurbishment. Would not stay there again given the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carnarvon

Nice view to the water tempted to go back

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Nice view to the water I think this will be nice during festive
Cons: To help customers with their belongings.especially if they need them.not saying that people should be careless, forgetting things doesn't mean taking
The reception was not good nut I did like what I saw in the room and was already planning to go back on weekend when not working or attending workshop
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night in Perth

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Lastminute
$100 per night in Perth doesn't get you much and I was proved right with this stopover at the "New Esplanade Hotel". Nothing "new" about it, the place needs a mass overhaul and a word of warning to families my room was on the first floor and notably there was no safety catch on the windows. This was reported, but unsure if corrected. Ok for one night, but nothing longer.