Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Windows dirty couldnt see outside. Bed uncomfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not to good

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff were very nice and pleasant
Cons: all mentioned in the review
Location: The facilities near by were great most things were with in walking distance and that was very helpful.
felt like I was staying in a dark dingy room opened the curtains and my view was of a parking garage. one of the rooms sprinklers in case of fire was coming out the ceiling and had a thick ring of built up dust around it that also occurred in the bathroom around the hand basin piping. The hot water seemed to be playing up as well as one moment it would come on straight away and then the next I was running the tap for a good minute or so and nothing would happen as far as hot water coming out just barely luke warm water. The kettle put on top of the mini bar fridge was so old it seemed to have rust stains around the edges and I would have to hold down the end where it connected to the electrical base to get it to boil other wise if I released it, it wouldn't make the connection and boil. The T.V. also seem to play up abit having interruptions altering the picture and the sound so I would have to turn it off and on it get it to be alright again. I felt as though it really wasn't worth the money I paid for it and felt like it was not right that they were asking for the amount that they did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Up there with the worst would not recommend

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Hotel is run down and filthy. Paid for a room with a river view and was left staring into the huge trees blocking the view. Old condom over the shower head. Beds were like concrete. Made to use stairs from carpark down through the back of the dirty service area. Hotel looks nice from the outside and in reception but once beyond the lifts your in a different world. Would not recommend staying here even with its location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
very old building, the ceiling has patches of stains and the floor was satined and smelly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only thing going for it is the view....thats it

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: everything needs to be improved
Location: excellent
the whole hotel is extremely dirty even the lobby is in a poor state. my room had chipped walls and smelled like smoke. all the food i the room was close to expiry by a week or 2. i requested another room which they supplied on the 8th floor. not as bad as it was bigger but still the same dirty standards throughout. i had to hold the dirty kettle down just to get it to work. the elevators are so dirty you don't want to push the buttons. the walk way to the hotel from their carpark is a disgrace. walking past bins in an alley way to get get through the dirtiest door i have ever seen which takes you to the lobby.. i wanted to use a tissue to open the door. this is not an exaggeration... it is really dirty. will not go again unless a major revamp is done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

You get what you pay for.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to work, cheap, close to the new esplanade
Cons: Needs a major upgrade really, nothing cosmetic, its just old but seemed clean
Location: The best part about it
Booked the Hotel firstly because it was closest to work, was cheap, and I thought it was a newly renovated hotel because it had the word "New" in its name. However it should have been called "The Old Esplanade Hotel" because it is old. However having said that I accept that you get for what you pay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Great position overlooking the river

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We had a deluxe rivervuew room. The view was great the room was ok. Double bed room for a king. Bathroom very tired needs an update. Also no breakfast offered .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap for a reason

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Wotif
The hotel is pretty rundown. Definitely in need of a massive renovation. The style of the hotel is something brought out from the 60s and i dont mean "Hipster" 60s. I can find an apartment as cheap as this with a much better living space
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms could probably do with a renovation however it was comfortable and well located for the city. Staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The New Esplanade Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was a cheap room in a great area, the hotel was old style, needs updating, friendly staff, no restaurant but local cafes.