Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Peaceful paradise!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The gardens were beautiful - it was an oasis of calm and beauty.
Cons: The bathroom and kitchen could do with an update - and a slightly softer bed!
Location: It is ideally situated in the centre of the island and just 5 mins drive form the sea and a lovely beach with a great beach cafe/restaurant.
These cottages are set in the most beautiful tiered gardens, with plenty of delightful hidden corners to explore. We stayed in No. 6 which is all on one level nestled down amongst the trees. It is very private and secluded with a view over part of the lower part of the garden. Each cottage has its own area for lounging and eating outside and No 6's was very private. The cottage itself was OK but perhaps a little tired and dated. It was clean and tidy and had everything we needed but could do with a bit of updating. There was no oven, just a microwave but did have a washing machine, toaster, kettle and all the kitchen equipment you would need. The bed was a bit too firm for our taste - but better than too soft! Bonita and Ed were very welcoming hosts, giving info on the island and things to do. The site is in a good position half way along the island near the south coast just 5 mins drive from a lovely beach with a great beach cafe. There are good and fast modern roads easily accessed that go the length of the island if you are in a hurry with picturesque coast roads through small villages and with amazing view points to enjoy a more leisurely drive. The site is only about 15 minutes drive from the airport, although the turning into the road that the accommodation is on is very narrow and easily missed, despite a large sign!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful private botanical garden setting

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful botanical gardens
Cons: Major credit cards should be accepted. The access road to the hotel is very narrow with limited sight lines, drive slowly and carefully up it.
Location: A quick 15 minute drive from the airport, and close to major roads which take you anywhere on the island.
Very pleasant stay, the owner even set up an extra hammock in the shady botanical garden for our use.
5 out of 5
by Jose D from Bermuda

Quinta das Acácias - beautiful and charming

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
The Quinta is a small cottage colony that is immaculately kept and absolutely charming. We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Bonita, Hotel Management
Thank you Jose. We are working daily on providing a place for relaxing and stress release. The gardens are landscaped so you can do yoga or stretch exercise under a tree and away from it all. The cottages are supplied so that you have everything you would need to provide a meal for your family or bring supplies to BBQ in your garden next to the cottage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Botanical Wonderland

Posted Jun 26, 2015
After Expedia goofed up our original booking, we found Quintas das Acacias and got rebooked there. Bonita and Eduino couldn't be better hosts. If you are looking for a self-service option on Sau Miguel THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU!!!! 10 minute drive to downtown Ponta Delgada. 5 minute drive to the supermarket. 5 minute drive to the beach. What else do you want! We were originally going to stay in Ponta Delgada and couldn't have been happier with the relocation. The grounds of Quintas das Acacias are spectacular. Beautiful gardens, private outdoor sitting areas and even some local horses on the neighboring property. They also have some vegetable, fruit and herbs all over the grounds. Make sure to check with Bonita what herbs are ready for the picking before heading to the store. Bonita and Eduino also supplied a high chair, crib, and crib sheets for our 8-month old infant. They couldn't have made our trip any more worry-free. They SAVED our trip and provided great insight on what to see on the island, where to hike, where to eat. THEY DO IT ALL! We couldn't have been more appreciative of their kindness, high level of service, and beautiful vacation home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Bonita, Hotel Management
Charlie, It was very stressful to change plans at the last minute and hope for the best at the end of the day. We are so glad we were able to salvage your vacation for you! We wanted you to remember this vacation as one of your best especially on Sao Miguel. We appreciate your kind words and glad the vacation was good for you and you liked the little things we tried to help you with.
4 out of 5
by Danielle from Arnhem, Nederland

Relaxed verblijf

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels
We hadden een vakantiehuisje met 1 slaapkamer, op kleinschalig complex waar de eigenaren Bonita en Ed ook wonen. Gastvrije ontvangst met tips voor wandelingen en bezienswaardigheden op Sao Miguel, comfortabel huisje met eigen terrasje in fraai aangelegde tuin. Goede uitvalsbasis om Sao Miguel te verkennen, auto is wel noodzakelijk. Houd er rekening mee dat je je verblijf vantevoren moet betalen, Quinta das Acacias heeft geen mogelijkheid om te betalen met creditcard of pinpas. Maar zeker een aanrader voor wie wil genieten van rust op een centraal gelegen plek op 't eiland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extended weekend trip

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Very friendly Canadian hosts that created a cottage feeling on the Azores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Bonita, Hotel Management
HI Didi, Thank you and we look forward to your return trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Unexpected Find

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The cottage was well appointed and the kitchen had everything we needed to make a few home-cooked meals. And the garden was fun to explore!
Cons: Detailed directions to the hotel from the airport (you can't get there using Google Maps).
My family and I decided to spend a couple of days exploring Sao Miguel, the largest island in Azores, Portugal. During my search for a hotel on Expedia I happened across the Quinta das Acácias Guest Houses, which had an impressive 5-out-of-5 rating. And this is in spite of their unique policy to have guests clean their own houses. Intrigued, I decided to try them out. Within a couple of hours of booking my stay, I received an email from Bonita, who manages the hotel. She provided directions to the hotel and answered all of the questions that I had before we started our trip. When we arrived at our "hotel," Bonita was waiting for us. She showed us to our small house/cottage, which was nestled within an elaborate garden (lovingly managed by Ed, Bonita's husband). After we got settled, Bonita then gave us the rundown of all the sights we could see during our 3-day vacation. Since our house had a full kitchen, we were also told were to get groceries if we decided to cook some of our own meals. And although our house was small, it had more than enough room to comfortably fit my wife, daughter, and me. It would be an understatement to say that we enjoyed out stay. If we had any questions or requests, they were addressed quickly. And Bonita and Ed were very friendly and willing to do whatever they could to help make our trip more enjoyable. More importantly, this hotel was an unexpected and pleasant discovery during our vacation. We will definitely be staying here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Bonita, Hotel Management
Thank you ! We are here to do what ever we can so you want to return on the next vacation. We love welcoming back our return guests and adding to their next adventures on Sao Miguel. See you soon!
5 out of 5
by mickey from Mississauga

Cottage Paradise

Posted Aug 19, 2010
Beautiful small cottage property. Well cared for gardens. Superb value. Make your own meals and coffee. We stayed for 6 nights and explored the entire island. The hosts are super friendly and very helpful recommending restaurants. You will need a car. No air conditioning...but it is not needed. No pool...but you can swim just about anywhere in the Azores. No daily housekeeping...we didn't need it. We would definitely return here and would highly recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014
Thank you Mickey for your nice review. Our self catered accommodations allows guests to enjoy their homes at their own speed. No one to bother them while they remove all stress. Populo beach with restaurant is just 2km away through the village of Livramento. Sculptures by Eduino M. Sousa are only available to enjoy in this private gated gardens in all of the Azores. We look forward to you returning again in the future.