Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groton Ma

excellent value

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: value cleanliness
Cons: maps on how to get there
Location: downtown -typical amenities
no problems except finding the place. Downtown location is nice, except it's easier driving in Boston
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very worn out and noisy.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The pool water was grey in color and stagnant. The whole place, including the room was very worn out. The walls were thin and we could hear people talking and a screaming baby out side...for what seemed like hours. I turnrd the heat up and it smelled - I was concerned something might catch fire. I felt uneasy there, actually, not safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rumford, Maine

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Affordable
Cons: It was old appearing and small room
Location: Central location and close to everything
Okay place to stay for a night or two and affordable. It was adequate for me but if my wife would have been with me she would have much preferred someplace newer and with more space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 4, 2016
Noisey hotel could hear the H20 ALOT. !!! The gentleman that checked us in was friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wedding to attend in nearby Maine

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Pool & location
Cons: Could be more explicit regarding the deposit fee and about not having a credit card.
Location: nothing. Came for a wedding.
When checked in, I was paying cash, as I didn't have a credit card. Card was held on another persons name. When making the reservation, was told that this would be fine, as I informed them that I would pay cash when I arrived. I arrived and was then told that there would be a deposit applied in case of damage to room. Don't have a card, so another person used their card to do this. Yet the card that I used when calling was charged $162. for the room, and now am having a problem getting the money taken off their card. They knew I didn't have a card, as I informed Expedia about this, and I called the hotel directly about this. Told no problem, yet when I arrive they want a credit card. Made for a very bad experience, and put a damper on the wedding that I was attending.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

special request not honored, ruined stay

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: It was very clean
Location: We were hindered in our visit by the second floor room.
I made reservations for two rooms for two nights well in advance, more than two weeks, and requested a first floor room for my 88 year old mother who cannot manage stairs and has difficulty walking. Since this request wasn't honored, she was given room 258 in a hotel with no elevator. The hotel was full the first night so it couldn't be rectified, but surely could have been for the second. The entire purpose of our 746- mile round trip was for her to see my nephew who recently moved to Portsmouth. Since she couldn't manage the stairs, she was unable to go out to dinner with the family. Since we'd paid in advance, we couldn't leave without losing over $225. The hotel is very clean, and the breakfast wonderful. The beds in rooms 258 and 269 were brutally uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Great Location!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms needs a little remodeling.
Location: Awesome! Excellent!
Great location!. Walking distance to all the great restaurants, shops, entertainments and very friendly people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There were bugs in the bathroom

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Generally little on the dirty side with small alike fruit fly bugs and bigger ones especially in bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Clean room but is out dated. Slight odor from masking chemicals to cover up smoke smell. Breakfast room was very small and room temp was very hot. On a positive note very good resteraunts with in walking distance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: LOCATION!!!! Right IN the city center. Plus the indoor pool/ hot tub.
Cons: Larger towels....but thats true for all hotels.
Location: The Farm (restaurant) is awesome.
We stay here every time we visit Portsmouth/ Dover. It has been updated since last we stayed. We appreciated that the hotel has put in a small area for smokers since last we stayed (all the rooms are nonsmoking, but there is an area with a patio set and place for cigarette butts). Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.