Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Home away from home

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The magnificent views of the ocean from the private balcony. The peaceful and serene location.
Cons: Wish they had drawer space. I tend to over pack, but other than that not one single thing.
Location: About 10 minutes from the plaza. Kaplash has the best fresh seafood empanadillas. The Mofongo at La Fiebre is to die for. Both are very close.
If you ever wanted to have your own apartment overlooking the ocean this is the place for you. Live among the locals and take advantage of having a fully furnished kitchen. The magnificent views whilst having breakfast and watching the local fishermen are priceless. Wake up to the waves crashing directly outside your windows and let them lull you too sleep. You'll enjoy just lounging in your own private balcony while recharging. If you are looking for an antiseptic hotel experience this is not for you, but if you are looking for authentic living and a nice quiet place to recharge, this is for you. Caretaker was friendly and courteous. Yes parking is across the road, but if not your rental will be in the ocean (someone complained about that in a previous review, what a dolt) but it's a small road. Really can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The view and sound of the waves crashing at all times is worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Bella Jane , Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars! We are so glad you liked the view and sound of the waves. I too agree it is worth every penny. Come back and see us next time you want to do some more surfing! Warm regards, Bella Jane
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

There Needs to BE More Transparency

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The view and location
Cons: The owner should be forthcoming about the bugs.
Location: Rincon is a great area. Very scenic and serene.
The site is rustic and right on the water. It's not luxurious and I knew that going in. I wanted to hear waves crashing into the wall outside my cottage. I asked the owner of I could check in early and she accommodated me and said it would be $60 to do so. I was fine with that. She was super responsive when I called to get the early check-in together. I got their at about 4 am. I was placed in the Quepena which has a semi-private terrace and is designed for the single or budget friendly traveler (as described in my welcome letter). The cottage wasn't the one that was in the pictures advertised on Expedia, but I decided to make do. There are designed openings on the wall, so critters can easily enter. Wasn't thrilled about that, but I was going to make the best of it. There's only AC in the bedroom, so the rest of the cottage is super hot and muggy. I turned the AC on in the bedroom and crashed. When I woke up, the AC was off and it wouldn't turn back on. Then I went into my suitcase and it was teaming with ants. They'd found their way inside through the part that was unzipped. I had rum in bubble wrap but that didn't stop them. I shook everything out and rinsed out the bottles and put them in the fridge. A huge water bug was in the shower, but waterbugs are no biggie. I called the owner to still pay the $60, request bug spray, and to get the AC fixed. She wasn't surprised about the ants and said sometimes they won't be around for months and then they show up. She said she had
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
We regret Maya had this difficulty with the sugar ants, to be so small, what a pain they can be. These critters are widespread throughout the tropics. Unfortunately for Maya, as housekeeping reported, she had unwrapped candy in her suitcase as well as the bottle of rum. As Maya learned, even small bits of sugar will draw them inside. We have a contract with an exterminator who treats the property both inside the suites and the outside throughout the grounds. With Sugar Ants though, careful attention to keeping a suite clean while you are here is really important. Frequently we will go months without these ant visitors and then they will show up. If someone asks me if they will see a bug or ant or mosquito while they are in Puerto Rico, I cannot not say, “no” as they are a fact of life in the tropics.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This is my second time around the Cottages, the staff is exceptional and very helpful in every manner. At first I had the 'budget friendly' option which wasn't bad overall but it was not what we expected. The staff was hasty and arranged an upgrade for our last night. This is a hidden gem just outside rincon, perfect for relaxing and enjoying a weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Gian, We were happy to welcome you back to Lemontree! I'm glad we were able to accommodate your request for a room change. We are so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warmest regards, Bella Jane
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

On the beach!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
My stay was excellent and I would definitely return! It's a great location and comfortable place to stay! Bella Jane was amazing and very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Alma, We are so pleased your stay was excellent! Thank you for the five stars! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our fabulous beach, comfortable suite and accommodating staff. Hope to see you soon! Very best, Bella Jane
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massa

Dangerous, loud and uncomfortable.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: There should be staff on duty all night.
Location: restaurants and beach resort
There was a used and wet wash cloth in the shower, the shampoo expired in 2014. The ocean was too loud and too close. I was scared to sleep incase of a Tsunami. There is no staff in case I run out of something. The room was nice. But I wouldnt stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
In running the Lemontree, one thing we have learned is that no property is right for all guests. Being on the water at the Lemontree really means being close to the sea... so close that, on some days you can hear the waves as you go off to sleep. We are not a large resort where the rooms are set back from the water and what you have is actually a distant sea view. At the Lemontree the suites are oceanfront. Staff is onsite in the morning for housekeeping and then in the late afternoon and early evening for guest check-ins. As you know, we are available 24/7 by phone should you have a question or concern. We are glad that you liked your room but are sad that you did not like your stay. If you choose to return to Rincon, our town has a wide variety of properties including large resort style hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The cottage was complete with kitchen, the rooms were comfortable; the parking spaces were outside the property but we always found one available. Clean but could improve. Easy access from Main avenue #2. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound and view of sea-priceless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Mayra, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the complete kitchen and comfortable suite. As regards parking and cleaning, we listen to our guests feedback and use them as tools to learn and grow. I have to agree with you. falling asleep and waking up to the sound and view of the sea is "priceless." We look forward to welcoming you back really soon, Best regards, Bella Jane
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Washington, D.C.

Great option to hear the waves from your bed!

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best places I have stayed. The suite is simple, large, with a huge balcony overlooking the water. Stayed on the coco suite. Just outside of town away from the crowds. You can swim at the property, and the water was fairly calm. Not much beach as the water comes up to he foundation of the building. Really nice beaches are located 10 minutes away. You can walk to a nightclub and a couple restaurants and bars from the property. Google maps had the cottages situated down the road from the actual location, so type in the exact address.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the five stars, we truly appreciate it. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our simple suite with huge balcony overlooking the water, fabulous beach and the waves you can hear from your bed! Please let me know when you are returning so we can make sure you receive the VIP welcome back! My best, Bella Jane
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Literally on the water

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location, environmentally friendly, off street parking, GORGEOUS view, helpful staff, cleanliness
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Within a short drive, there is a neighborhood beach with free parking. Beach is gorgeous for swimming/walking. Restaurants up the road that were great
Very accommodating staff. We last minute booked, and they let us leave our luggage in the room prior to check in time so we could head off and go kayaking. We stayed in the smaller of the available rooms, but it was plenty large enough for our needs. Very clean, comfortable bed. Coffee pot, dishes, pots/pans, towels, soap, shampoo/conditioner all provided. The balcony directly overlooks the gorgeous ocean and you can hear the waves slapping against the wall as you are sitting out enjoying the view. Nighttime sounds are LOUD though, you can hear the coqui frog call out to all its friends and hear them respond just as loudly. There suite was quite comfortable with ceiling fans and AC in the bedroom (which was quite quiet and we only had to use for a couple hours). Boogie boards and sand chairs available for use were a nice added touch. Great location, not far from surfers beaches. Very highly recommend LemonTree Cottages; we would definitely stay here again if our travels brought us to this area. Oh yes, and do NOT rely on your GPS to get you to the right location! Correct street, but the wrong house number. The owner provides correct driving directions for you (just be sure to pay attention to them (we got turned around a few times))
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
Hi Karen and Sean, I'm glad we were able to help you out with the last minute reservation. Thank you for your 5 star review. We're glad you enjoyed our gorgeous beach and our anemities. We hope to see the two of you again soon. Warmest regards, Bella Jane
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

On the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Orbitz
It was wonderful being on the beach, hearing the waves at night and swimming in the ocean whenever we wanted. Some great restaurants close by and just a short drive into town. We loved our stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Bella Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review, it means a great deal to us and we truly appreciate it so much.We are glad you were able to enjoy hearing the waves at night and swimming in the ocean whenever you wanted. We are fortunate to have some great restaurants near us and I'm glad you were able to sample those. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warmest regards, Bella Jane