Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inside was amazing

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Had a great time, inside was amazing. It was like taking a trip to Germany without flying, highly recommend it, the architecture was awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Quaint Bravarian Old World Feel

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Cons: Upkeep of the facilities and grounds. Broken furniture in the hall, landscape overgrown, driveway entry not obvious.
Location: Closed to great restaurants and the highway.
Our family enjoyed the aged facilities. Our three year old loved his stay in what he affectionately called "the castle."
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Haunted Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Location: Not be in the hotel
This was a super scary hotel. Not just because it is very outdated with a medieval theme, but also because it reeks of smoke from years past, and a little hint of what could be rotting flesh/food. The room was somewhat clean, but everything in it was outdated and defunct. The bed was not supportive, the towels were rough as sandpaper, the furniture was scratched up. The staff was reasonably nice, for interacting with them upon check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Real Bavarian Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This hotel is AMAZING. I walked in and it felt like I was back in college backpacking through Europe. Our room had the creepiest picture of two women from the 1800 and we could not stop laughing at how fun it was to be there. The decor is the most unique and interesting of any hotel I have ever stayed at because it feels like you are in the movie psycho. I will never stay anywhere else when I come to Quad Cities. 5 stars
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern Illinois

Disappointing

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The history and architecture .
Cons: Everything needs restoration.
Location: Close to all the hotels and restaurants and easy to get to it. It has trees in the front and very pretty front exterior.
The kids seeing the hotel for the first time were impressed and said we should stay there; of course we told them we were and a big wow came from their mouths. The check-in was easy and the clerk was friendly and seemed very knowledgeable on the history of the hotel. The hotel had lots of character and was probably very beautiful in it's day, but now it is rundown. We had 2 rooms. One room had a entry door that got stuck and was very hard to open. We told the front desk and they sent a maintenance person over to fix it , which they did although not perfect. The same room also had a tv cabinet that was leaning against the walls in the corner because of broken rear feet. Also the tv's in both rooms were not flat screens, but the last generation of picture tubes. The other room had a very slow draining tub. Reported it and they fixed it as well. There was alcohol consumption everywhere on the premises. With a lot of renovation I believe this hotel could be really beautiful again , and a great place for the whole family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Charm

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The Lodge is an older hotel that has a LOT of character and charm. The German decor is beautiful with lots of old wood and antiques. On the down side the hotel has suffered from some neglect but I think the owners are trying to renovate the hotel which would bring it back to its original beauty. Our air conditioner didn't work well in our room but when we called down to the front desk and asked for a fan they promptly brought one up. I also asked for a refrigerator after check in and it was delivered with a microwave! I was impressed! The beds were comfy and besides being a little dated the room was very clean. The outside had character and it was nice to stay somewhere that wasn't a "cookie cutter" hotel. There wasn't a time where I felt unsafe outside either. The pool was clean and the hot tub worked well also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. louis, mo

Older But Could be awesome

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Restore the place, Get some of the locals back in the Bar/ restaurant
Nice place but they need to put some money back into the place
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Sad

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Old world elegance...stained glass in elevators for instance.
Cons: Basic maintenance like replacing burned out light bulbs in rooms being used.
Location: Movie theater one exit north on I74 and accompanying shopping mall. Lots of food places.
You can tell this hotel had great charm and elegance at one time. Now the counter needs varnished, broken furniture needs replaced, a lot of burned out light bulbs need replaced, stained carpets need cleaned and the list could go on and on. On a positive note, we did sleep fine and it was very quite, probably due to being almost empty. Was right price for what we got and the bathroom and bed sheets were clean which is important and saw no bugs which is very important. The desk man was nice and explained they are just in sale mode so I guess that's why minimal efforts at keeping it the same versus doing even minimal maintenance are happening. If I was on a tight budget I'd stay there again, but if I could afford more I'd probably stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Dark and quiet

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bathroom and elevators.
Location: Stayed to play at TPC Deere Run the next morning.
The lodge is a dark Bavarian decor. The room was good, bathroom need to be in better shape. Check-in staff seemed interrupted when I checked in but answered all questions politely. Everything was good for my one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing good comes to mind.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Area around the Lodge seemed run down. We did not feel comfortable visiting any businesses in the area.
We arrived and the parking lot was almost totally dark. The entrance was not easily found. When we approached the desk we had to wait for a clerk. Then they could not find our reservation and it took several minutes to get that straightened out. It seemed that the Lodge is changing over to a long stay hotel with several questionable people milling about the lobby, the elevators and even following us out to our car. The room was slightly run down and had definitely seen better days. We will not be staying here again.