Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's hard to not like Hostal San Blas...

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Great location. Lots to see and do nearby.
Hostal San Blas is in a great location, and the price is "right." What's not right? Well, when we arrived at 5pm after a long day of travel, we were told the Hostal was "closed" for renovation(!) "Didn't we get the message from Expedia?" No. We didn't. We could stay, if we didn't mind jackhammering from 8am until day's end. What could we do? We planned to sightsee the next morning, so figured the sound during the day wouldn't be an issue. We could stay one night. Our room was clean, but no heat - it's cold in the Andes in December. We kept warm under blankets. Also there's no fresh air in the room, or AC, or a fan. The only window opened directly out into the hallway, and there were no screens. The internet, spotty at best, was turned off from evening until late morning when the "host's" daughter arrived to make breakfast: instant coffee and a croissant with eggs. The food was pleasant. There's also no potable water - "Only water to buy," in plastic bottles. It worked for a night, but we were charged two night's taxes because apparently the Hostal had to pay them to Expedia, so expected us to cover it, even though they were technically "closed" and we were not notified in advance. A small price to pay for the convenience of not trying to find an alternate place at 5PM in a big City. We slept well.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Honolulu

Hostal San Blas

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
9 day stay between the old town and La Mariscal. Family operated. A bit English challenged so a little Spanish will go a long way. Easy to locate, right on Plaza San Blas and next to Iglesia San Blas. Great value for price.
5 out of 5
by Kenda

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly, great breakfast. Beautiful views of church spires at night.
5 out of 5
by BRODY

Would stay again

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Booked for 2 nights and stayed for 4. The window faces in not a issue for me. For value its a great deal and great eggs in the morning. Close to bus and old town
3 out of 5
by Carol from Fairbanks, Alaska

Hostal San Blas

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel offers very BASIC accommodations but the price is extremely reasonable, staff friendly and helpful, and location fantastic--just a few blocks from the heart of colonial Quito. Also, hotel is quite charming. I spent 5 nights here and was able to do a lot of sightseeing with a safe place to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: English stations on the cable tv. Staff attitude and friendliness.
Location: Great location, easy to walk to transport and old Quito.
There was construction, it had been ongoing for a week, we werent advised until arrival. This meant loud noise from 8 am until 6 pm, and no water. We arrived at 3pm and had to wait to be checked in and enter our room. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. When I advised them we had no water, there was no apology or anything. I wouldnt stay here again. Very disappointing.
4 out of 5
by Leif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for the price

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent value for the price - owners in attendance so there is personal touch but no english but we get by. Owner took the trouble to wake up at 5 AM to put me in taxi which was nice. There is hot water in the room but none in the early hours of the morning when I left. I suppose this is to save electricity and it is understandable but would have been nice to have some notice that there will be no hot water. Apart from that, I would recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room was very dark. Need much better lighting. Can't see to read. Book in the room! Hot water was not really hot, tepid shower.
Location: Can walk to the basilica del vote nacional, parque almeida. If you like waking, it's a good walk to the plaza grande and other old town features.
Excellent location reasonable walking distance to old town sights, on good roadway for access to taxis and buses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Good Value for your money in Old Town.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location and Price.
Cons: More english fluency.
Location: Location good at north edge of old town so easy to go down there and to new town. A lot of cheap restaurants nearby.
We were overall quite satisfied with the hotel. Hotel staff was nice and tried to be helpful, however, the staff barely spoke any english, which made communication difficult. Lack of english speaking was common at hotels across Ecuador. Hotel won't take credit card so make sure you've enough cash on you when checking out.