Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
At least it is cheap. Rooms are old and show it. Nice tv but the remote didn't work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali-Baja

Too afraid to spend the night.

Posted May 16, 2017
While waiting to check in, an extended argument was ensuing over a three dollar refund to a customer. It was finally paid with quarters even though I could see they had bills available. After that ordeal ended I checked in. The room was not ready so while waiting for the room to be cleaned I had time to observe the grounds and clientele. My room was in the back. Tall weeds were growing over the entire property. The grass area was overgrown and full of weeds and litter. Old building materials were piled against a wall. An untied dog wandered around outside the rooms. Two guys stood on the balcony above my room smoking and dropping their butt's in front of my room all the while eyeing my vehicle and luggage. As I continued to wait for the room to be ready I saw the cleaning crew toss trash and used ice out of the door into the weeds in front of the room, adding to the cigarette butts alleady there. At this point red flags were going off in my head and I decided it wasn't safe or clean enough to stay. Before even seeing the inside of the room I booked another room at another hotel, again through Expedia. Because I had pre paid the room the Expedia's agent could not get me a refund, since the hotel said I had checked in. Accepting the loss, I went to the room to see the inside condition. It was as I suspected, unfit to stay in. While I did loose the money I spent on this hotel, I was very happy with the next hotel. Sleeping comfortably in a clean room, knowing my car was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State of Washington

Would NOT recommend this place

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: It needs to have new owners, the people running it are neglecting it. They put in a new TV on the wall but left the old one sitting in on the shelf.
Location: We would not stay there again so it doesn't matter
Although we had stayed there years ago, it is now a run down motel. Our room was #132, holes in the wall, beat up furniture, hair dryer missing from the wall. Loud noises all night, someone tapping on our door. It looked like they rent to long time tenants. We asked directions of staff to the Olive Garden Restaurant. They had never heard of it. ?? It turned out to be about 2 miles down the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Kristin

Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here because I was attending an event at the Atlantis, and they were completely sold out due to hosting several events on the same weekend. The Vagabond Inn was walking distance away. Next time I'll do a better job of researching review sites before booking. In retrospect, since I spent all my time with my associates at the venue, it wouldn't have killed me to get a ride once a day to a better location. The bathroom was disgusting. I saw the shower and immediately knew I wouldn't be taking one while there. See pics. I wasn't about to step barefoot into that. The walls were so thin that they might as well not have been there. I could hear EVERYTHING happening around me. People walking by my room and talking on the phone, I could hear this side of the conversation like he was in my room. The curtain didn't block out the light, so at night the room was well lit by all the walkway lights outside. What is it with hotels using their furniture to block all the outlets? I'm not going to watch TV, but I do want to charge my phone. The mattress was rock hard, which I actually like, but I imagine that many would not care for. Never again. Okay, maybe if I were on a return trip from Burning Man. The bathrooms are already gross so it's not like showering off playa dust would make it any grosser. That would be the only instance where I'd consider the Vagabond Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place for your money.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The location sort of..
Cons: Needs a lot of maintenance, better manager, customer service, attitude, and rooms.
Location: Peppermill, and the Atlantis casino.
Called ahead of time and notified them I will be checking in late (flight reasons) & they said "no problem I will be here". I show up 12:30AM like I said I would but the door to check in was locked & nobody answered. When they finally opened the doors in the morning (did not get sleep all night) they continued to argue it was my fault. 1 hour later I finally got the key and opened the door to broken furniture and the bed not made & told the manager I was not happy with the room and wanted a refund. The manager then got very mad and did not stop asking why & when I told him about the room he ran off to go look for himself, only to return back yelling at me that the room is fine. I called Expedia about the situation to call the manager, but the manager put Expedia on a block call list after the whole ordeal that has happened. Only good thing that came out of this was getting my money back..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The front desk gave me keys to a room that was already occupied. I opened the door & there was a couple in bed! I went back to front desk, it took another 20min before they gave me keys to another room. In the refrigerator, there was left over food. This hotel is dirty. Go rent a room somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by Larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Very nice

Posted Feb 26, 2017
It was comfortable ,no breakfasts concealed, had a nice stat .
2 out of 5
by Robyn

Reno Vagabond is a disgusting mess.

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
filthy.