Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really nice people, nice place

Posted May 13, 2012
really nice and helpful people. It is also very quiet around. The hotel is almost inside the forest and had great fresh air. Getting from hotel to city center takes about 10 minutes and costs about 9-11 euros.
3 out of 5
by Dennis

Great Location to Visit Castle

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel is being upgraded so it should be fine by summer 2012. Don't advise for weekends as it has a popular restaurant with a great view of city, attracting parties and celebrations. But, it is relatively close to the castle--up above it on the mountain, actually--so if that's of interest, it could be a nice stay. Also a great view of the valley. It might be quieter during the week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC USA

Good place to stay

Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels
I have been here one night and will also be staying this evening as well. The hotel is quaint in a very wooded area, but just a short walk to town and also a beautiful park. Many of the rooms are being renovated, so there is noise during the day at the moment, but the new rooms look very nice. The staff is friendly, but speak minimal English so make sure you speak a little German. The food is good, but very expensive. Breakfast is 10 euro and Sunday brunch is 25euro. The rooms are normal size for Germany and the view from the balcony is beautiful. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. In a month when the rooms are done, it will be quite high class. Definitely recommend this hotel if you enjoy quiet and nature, but want to be close to town and the castle.
5 out of 5
by AB+ from Vitoria, España

Nolkenkurg Café: Pequeño hotel en Molkenberg, vistas estupendas de Heidelberg, en la montaña

Posted Oct 27, 2011
Location: El barrio antiguo, Altebruke, Hauptstrasse. Schloss. Importante que haga buen tiempo. Heidelberg es una ciudad pequeña pero bonita, un día basta para conocerla
Pequeño hotel a las afueras de Heidelberg, en Molkenbrg , en pleno bosque, vistas estupendas de la ciudad, pero justo al lado de la estación Molkenberg ,que te lleva al casco histórico en 5 min ( ( unos 6€ el viaje sencillo, la vuelta solo funciona hasta las 17.15 ) El trato del personal del hotel es ESTUPENDO. Las habitaciones son espartanas pero la calefacción funciona estupendamente. Terraza en la parte inferior con vistas a la ciudad. Un taxi hasta la Hauptbahnhof cuesta unos 12€
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not far from altstadt

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels
In short.. Nice service and helpfull employees. Great view over most of the town not far from Altstadt, where most tourist attractions are located. despite steep roads and quite a few stairs we found it fairly easy to walk the distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aptos, CA

A forest gem

Posted Sep 29, 2011 on Hotels
We very much enjoyed our stay at the charming Molkenkur Hotel. We chose it based on reviews we'd read and we were not disappointed. That said, the room was small, being that it is a very old building and ensuites have been added at some point, encroaching on what would have been the original room size. However, the furniture in the room was lovely. The two large windows that opened out to a view of the trees and of Heidelberg below more than made up for the smaller size of the room. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel in two different rooms, both beautifully appointed. The ballroom next to the breakfast room is a sight to behold. The food was excellent and it was reasonably priced. We don't know very much German, but the staff spoke English and they were very gracious. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the funicular that goes down to the old part of the city; a ride that we really enjoyed, sitting in the front seat on the way down! All in all, I would give it a 4 out of 5. It only needed a larger room and bathroom to move to perfection.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danmark

Heidelbergs bedste udsigt.

Posted Sep 17, 2011 on Hotels
Et alm. godt hotel med venlig og god betjening og med en pragtfuld beliggenhed.
3 out of 5
by Anne-Beth from Amersfoort, Holland

Geschikt voor doorreis, niet voor vakantie

Posted Aug 13, 2011
Onpersoonlijke behandeling, gehorige gangen en kamers. Prima voor op doorreis, maar geen aanrader als vakantieadres.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haugesund

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels
Hotellet ligger i nydelige omgivelser oppe i høyden, med flott utsikt over byen og området rundt. Lett adkomst til byen 3-4 min. med "trikkebanen" som har holdeplass rett ved siden av hotellet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Molkenkur Cafe

Posted Jul 9, 2011 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Great Views. Room clean and comfortable. Food good. You need to be aware that access to Heidelberg old town and the castle is easy - there is a funicular railway right next to the hotel. Don't worry, you don't see it or hear it !!