Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Edwin from Sydney

Lived Up To Low Expectations

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
My wife has family in Ridgetown. This is the closest, cheapest option. Traveling with my parents, we only needed a place to sleep and arrived not expecting much. That's basically what we got. We checked in ~noon so we could get keys and return late without worrying about staff being on hand. The woman on duty seemed to struggle with everything. Having read all the negative reviews I decided to check our room to make sure it was clean and keys worked for later. I walked in and noticed a bag on the chair. "Maybe the previous guest hadn't left yet, the room's clean, beds made, they'll be gone when we get back." Wrong. That night, the keys didn't work on the doors and it seemed like someone was inside. Buzzed staff on duty, they checked the room and found it occupied and awkwardly double-booked. Annoying, but okay, mistakes happen. Keys were reassigned, but didn't work, so I had to return and have them coded again. (Keys had to be coded again the following night.) Finally got in, didn't have enough towels and had to return to the desk once more. Also, the fridge had been unplugged, so it was warm and FULL of water from the freezer. The room was clean, beds and bathroom were fine and overall we were satisfied, but staff could do with more training and certainly need to pay more attention to details. Also, the key card system could do with a serious overhaul. The whole place could stand to have a decent facelift, but it's fine for a budget motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
No fresh food for breakfast (bread was inside the fridge). Hotel condition is just okay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left before sundown

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Awful, we left before sundown. Everything was out of order, pool was freezing, stains on sheets, we were really uneasy about state of hotel and location of our room for various reasons, we left before sundown, to which they never questioned us, or offered a refund, they didn't seem surprised at all.
5 out of 5
by Christine from Capreol ON

Kid friendly makes mom happy: )

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing! The staff kept the pool open late for my daughters as we didn't get to the hotel until later than anticipated. Then the following morning the staff also opened the pool early! The open and friendly staff made this stay one that my kids and I will not soon forget.The hotel stay was the highlight of our trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
This hotel is the only available close to Ridgetown University so for a one night stay it suits your needs just fine. For what the older building lacks the staff does their best to make your stay pleasant.
4 out of 5
by David from Winnipeg


Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
The location was excellent. The manager guided us to a restaurant that was superb.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB

Falling apart!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Needs a major reno, or rebuild. The rooms close to the office are okay. If you need to enter the building from the South end through the entry way it smells bad. Also if you offer breakfast put some effort into it, or don't offer any.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Room old and run down. Inadequate heating. Very old but clean
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Stratford


Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
Was good, nothing wrong with the facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mooresville NC

Needs Severe upgrading

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The Breakfast and the manager
Cons: The whole facility needs to be upgraded.
Location: Near 401 Highway but other than that nothing going for it.
We stayed here in August, nice staff great food in restaurant. Paid the going rate (too high for the facility). This time through Expedia!! Much better rate but still too high. Maybe one other room was booked in the whole Motel??? We were given a room at the back (parking in mud) by the dumpster. Dark and scarey as this place is out in the country. Because there was almost no one booked into the Motel we went back and inquired as to why we were at the back with 20? rooms at least in the front. We were told (Expedia)!!! their rates are so low they can't compete??? We had of course prepaid!!! The Manager was very co-operative and gave us an(upgraded room?) (which was identical inside as the one we just came from). This gives Expedia a bad name, and we will be reluctant to use Expedia again.