Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Not a pleasant stay. Hotel needs a lot of TLC. Close to the X parks but food and amenities were average.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Worst experience in Riviera Maya in 4 yrs

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This hotel looks like it was once a wonderful resort but now looks like it's waitIng to die. The photos on the website are deceiving and clearly taken years ago. The property is enormous but falling apart and very sad looking. Our checkin was disastrous and took forever to complete even tho they had rooms, and the staff was not helpful. We had no idea there was an on-site "zoo" which was so disturbing to see beautiful animals in dirty cages especially when the whole area is supposed to be eco-friendly. There's no beach, the pool area was not inviting, the lounge chairs dirty. The food is bad cafeteria style, we ate off property and I couldn't even eat the breakfast it was so poorly prepared. I'm glad we only stayed one night but it was big downer after 10 wonderful days in Costa Maya. I'm in the service industry and have been for years and this is a hotel experience I would never recommend. The Bel-Air needs some serious overhaul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Jungle love

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We stayed for 7 days and absolutely loved it. The best part was that it wasn't a "white marble sterile" resort. We sat on our balcony and fed the birds while having coffee, watched Capybaras and Coati's run around, large iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks, just amazing to see! Staff was incredibly welcoming and great sense of humor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

3.5 , Works well for those NOT going all inclusive

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Natural setting in mangrove. Friendly Staff. Restaurants fine but I didn't eat sushi so was limited.
Cons: Paint goes a long way, get rid of animal enclosures including all current animals. Limited bars for those going all inclusive.
Location: Busing to beach went well as advertised.
Like the natural setting. Sitting on balcony watching wildlife and for most part, quite private due to how buildings laid out. Wasn't expecting a 4 -5 star as this was a discounted resort and that's what we got on a Cyber Monday deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Gerente de Atención al huésped:, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time, in the most attentive manner, we give an apology for the incidents that have come to pass, Likewise, you are grateful that you and your family have enjoyed this little paradise. We wish you an excellent day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Cons: Food needs improvement, pool area looks lonely and music was way too loud. No one offered us a bicycle to get around.
Location: Cenotes
All inclusive resorts usually have a very crappy food menu option like this hotel. I think the food was over salted, over sugared and no nutritional value at all. Left over dinner from the night before was served again during breakfast the next day. No salads or fresh vegetables offered. Very poor food quality. The rooms are set in the jungle so you do not get much sunlight at all. Rooms are very dark therefore. Staff seems uninterested especially cleaning lady gives you dirty looks and makes you feel uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by BEL AIR XPUHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for sharing your opinion with us and let us know what made you feel uncomfortable and did not allow that your experiencie here in Bel Air Xpu Ha had been a terrific one. We will focus on this feedback that you are proving us with and we will improve our service in order to make you feel completely delighted. We extend an invitation to you to come back and give us a chance to do it better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Not good

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Best was the staff.
Cons: Think I covered that the hotel review.
Location: Don't know. Unfortunately we were not interested in nearby attractions. Thought we could have a complete vacation onsite and never leave.
It was very disappointing. Didn't know from the info given by Expedia that it was not all inclusive. Thank goodness the staff told us not to upgrade to all inclusive and that it would be less expensive to "pay as you go" . Food was hit or miss ranged from horrible to not bad. High points were: the Mexican buffet on the Saturday night we were there. The sax player was good entertainment that night. Also, high point was Gilberto Balam who waited on us several meals during our stay there. He comforted us and helped us navigate the eating situation. The rooms are rundown. The facility overall is rundown and needs help. The pool wasn't that clean we only went in there one time. If it rains, any outside activities are canceled and not rescheduled. Those poor animals! It was awful to see the badgers, raccoons and cats begging outside the restaurants for food. We could hear the birds in the aviary fighting, the chimps? fighting and being very unhappy. The wild cats should be sent to the nearest zoo or back to Africa. It was awful to have a badger in the restaurant stalking the tables. No air conditioning the restaurants -- I thought I would die there in the August heat trying to eat! The sushi restaurant was OK but it was not sushi as we know it. Don't go there. Expedia please don't offer this place anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved. Our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and exceed your expectations. Kind Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Don't walk...run!!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We checked out after two days. We are still fighting to get our money back. They said there were no refunds in high season. There was no drinkable water in our room, the phones are out due a tornado that hit two weeks ago, there's no air conditioning in the restaurants so you get to sweat while you eat. We honestly felt like we were in a survival situation. When we complained about not being able to call for water they said they said, 'don't you have a cell phone?' Expedia called them multiple times and they never would answer. Also unless you consider deer and a skunk an animal sanctuary, you will be very disappointed with the 'zoo'. They also filled their liquor bottles with water so stick with wine or beer. Run from this hotel if you still have a chance. We saved for an entire year for this 'dream vacation' and I don't want this to happen to anyone else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice and quiet hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Good stay, hotel dated but very quiet and peaceful. Lovely setting and great staff. Food isn't the best. But if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful trip with a great jungle setting and lots to look at and do then his is the place. My kids loved it. Very authentic. So much to see. Loved the cenote. That was the best to snorkel in. The water was so clear and I got to swim with a manatee for free. How many resorts have manatee's? It was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Charles, MO

Secluded jungle like getaway.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The nature setting, pricing, and on site zoo.
Cons: Night life. Maybe some extra pathways to short cut you to different areas of the facility.
Location: Very secluded with shopping and activities roughly 20-40 minutes away.
This resort is very much in touch with nature, which you either like or don't... So if the sounds of wild life, and not so wild life can get on your nerves, then look elsewhere. Also, the facility is pretty large, so expect to do some walking to get to where you want to be (ie, the pool, dinning hall, activity, etc...). There are shuttles (extended golf carts) that run "every 15 minutes", but we never waited for one. If we caught one as it was going by, we'd hop on, otherwise we walked. Decent beach viewing for laying out on site, but no good for swimming or taking a quick dip really. Too much coral and rock. The property has access to a public beach area that is very nice with their own lounge chairs and umbrellas. This area also has it's own bar with limited snacks (wings, chips with different dips, chicken nuggets, etc...). Figure everything to do is ~20-40 minutes away that you'll need to take a cab or shuttle/bus for, except the beach is only like 10 tops. Great for families as there is so much on site to keep the kids happy for about a week while the parents can still relax and have some fun during the day. Nightlife leaves some to be desired... so definitely a more family/kid oriented facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Kindest regards from our hotel Belair Collection Xpuha Riviera Maya.We are pleased that you enjoyed all our additional activities and you enjoyed our resort, we would be happy to have you back in our country and the hotel for better service. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Cool room, cool grounds, food and staff average

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Sooo... Going into it I expected three star service and hotel... And that's what we got. The hotel grounds were very nice and unique. Part hotel and part zoo. Animals looked healthy and happy as they could be out of the wild. Food was ok. Quality was on par with "Denny's" or "Perkins". On site beach was not swimmable and rocky, although they do provide a shuttle to a very nice sandy beach they share with other hotels (10 min away). Front desk staff was helpful with scheduling and transportation. The operating hours of on sight snack and drink bars seemed to change and rarely lined up with the printed schedule you receive when checking in. If you need a comfortable bed, quiet pool and good base for things to do in the area the bel-air is a good choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are pleased that you liked our resort and we are pleased to know that it 's a great time at our resort and we met your expectations. We would love to have you again to serve you better . Best regards.