Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Nice hotel , amazing beach and resort landscape , but beach area needs improvement and newer ,cleaner beach beds. Resort entertainment needs improvement and more varieties..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

A lot of potential!

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Food, staff, pool, beach and the grounds.
Cons: The rooms, as stated above, the hotel needs to be renovated.
Location: Perfect location, they offered several, very expensive, off site tours.
The grounds are beautiful, the food was very good, the staff was top notch. What I believe I witnessed was management/ownership cutting back on maintenance and capital expenditures. Our room had an active leak in the water closet, the toilet clogged several times, empty or not, the shower dripped loud enough to keep us awake at times, the plantation shutters for the walkout doors were very hard to keep in the track. The hallway smelled of mold and had an obvious roof leak that was damaging the wall, the elevator did not work correctly and one time we got out of it after it did not respond when the buttons were pushed. The pool was beautiful, but not very clean. The beach was beautiful and the sand was like sugar. The rinse showers by the main pool entrance to the beach didn't work correctly. I have other items, but you get the point. Ownership needs to put some money into renovations and some simple maintenance. I'm sure when the bought the hotel out of receivership (it was a Four Seasons) it was a gem. I won't return until they renovate the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Winter Holiday

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect, white beaches and blue waters. The hotel itself was fabulous as were the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and staff. I can’t fault it and am already planning my trip back next year!
1 out of 5
by James

Sandals Shambles!

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a complete let down, no more than a 2 star hotel, the staff were rude and completely unhelpful. You have to constantly ask for things and they bring you the bare minimum. For example, we asked for more coffee and water for the room and after calling three times over the course of one day, they brought one small bottle of water and one coffee sachet! Unbelievable! The room was dirty, dated and mouldy with bugs and even a small crab! At check in they make you complete your own details on an iPad which kept crashing. It took over an hour! We eventually got to the pool at about 3.00pm and they had no loungers and no towels. We soon discovered that you need to be there at 7.00am to claim a lounger as they are on a first come first served basis... and forget a cabana, unless you fancy going down to the pool at around 5.00am! They also are constantly trying to sell you other Sandals vacations. While the sea was a lovely colour of turquoise, there was seaweed everywhere on the beach. We stay at many 4/5-star hotels, and rarely do we feel strongly enough to write such a negative review but we paid over $2500 for four days and we were expecting a 5-star vacation but were appalled and completely disappointed. This property is not as it seems. We would never go back to a Sandals resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

Absolutely beautiful

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Don’t know what stands out the most the staff, the food or the beautiful scenery. Will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Loved Sandals Emerald Bay

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: The food was good & the butler service was awesome.
Cons: I was a little disappointed in the decor of the restaurants. They are clearly changed often and the decor is sort of "transient" looking.
Location: Don't know. Plenty of relaxing things to do on the resort. Never wanted to leave; just relax.
Sandals Emerald Bay is as beautiful as the pictures. They do not lie. The food was really good; especially Bombay. Butler service was awesome; loved it. It really helped me relax as I didn't have to make any dinner reservations or anything. Day#1: I told the butler what I wanted to do while I was there & sort of what time of day I wanted to do it (dinner/golf/massage)...he came back a bit later & left the itinerary on my table. DONE...& then he escorted me to all the appointments. No thought on my part at all...I didn't have to do anything. I tipped $25 per day, per butler. 4 days/3 butlers = $300..not sure it was enough; but that was the guidance at the time. Caution: you can not see the ocean from the ground floor of any building on the resort because of the dunes. I had an oceanfront WALKOUT...could not see the ocean, nothin but dunes. If you get an ocean front/view room to have an ocean view, go up a floor. Also, the resort is small; although an oceanfront room will have a beautiful view; the walk from a standard room to the beach is nothing to worry about; it's not far at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Awesome staff and facilities!!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We rode out hurricane Irma while staying there. Jeremy and staff were great!!!! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monongahela penna

Beautiful beach and water nicest ever seen

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Hotel was good , did not get towels after cleaning room after first night, Had to request bar to be stocked every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, Missouri

Nice relaxing vacation, great beach

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Overall we had a great time. Excellent beach and pool. Very relaxing. Have to get to pool and beach early in the morning to grab shade or hut. Grounds are fabulously kept. Staff was great except pool bar service was very slow. Best meals were the Bombay Club and Kimonos. Buffet was not a favorite and did not like a lot of the selections. Room was nice and clean but with noisy doors and neighbors. However beautiful location and overall great service outweighs any minor complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Excellent hotel with best beach.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This resort is amazing and the location is perfect. If you love a beautiful beach this is the place for you. Super clear blue water, white sand and very private. Out on the beach there are plenty of palapas and best of all none are stacked in front of each other so you get the perfect view each time. The resort has great pools, plenty of restaurants with great food. The rooms are very comfortable and all have balconys. It's a great place for a quiet get away but also you can have some loud fun if that's what you want. There's a quiet pool and one with music and activities. At night there's entertainment and games or you can choose to have a quiet diner and sit by a fire pit or hammock. There are also a variety of activities you can pay for to do outside the resort. If it's your first time the tour that takes you to several cays including swimming with the pigs is a must do. And last but definitely not least the employees at the resort were all amazing. Best customer service and friendly employees I've experienced so far at a Sandals resort.