Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good location.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Satisfied with room. Shower very small. TV had weak sound, but appreciated having CCN and BBC. Slept well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Confort
There's much to see along the way if you walk. Walk everywhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way overpriced liars.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
No wifi in the rooms. Asked staff about it because I need wifi for work, no wifi in any rooms. You literally have to stand under the wifi box in the lobby as it has a range of about 5 feet. Staff ignored Do Not Disturb sign. Left our window open, which we kept closed because it leads to a walkway where people could enter and steal stuff. Very upset because I choose this hotel because they said they had wifi in the rooms which is a must for me. Was expecting a much nicer hotel with better staff given the price. I travel for work a lot and this is the only place I wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

OK....

Posted Oct 27, 2016
This is a "no frills" hotel which is fine if you are looking for somewhere convenient to Termini in a slightly more interesting area. The distance from the Quirinal and Diocletian's Baths, together with the excellent Palazzo Barbarini, make it a good area that is complemented by excellent local restaurants. The hotel itself just feels a bit tired and run down, although the room was clean enough. The room I had did not smell of cigarettes, but the corridor did, and, I'm afraid, that is enough for me not to make a return visit here. That's a smell I thought we'd left behind in the 1980s! Trash collection outside was noisy :( It is unfair of other reviewers to complain about lack of breakfast space as that is made perfectly clear in the advertising - plus there is an offer of having breakfast in one's room. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, although ordinary. I chose not to have the breakfast but to visit Vero, the excellent breakfast shop on XX Settembre, just around the corner, where there is a selection of fresh pastries, cakes, coffees and healthier options too. The staff were fine, and the cleaners very pleasant. As someone who visits Rome often I have come to the conclusion that it is better for me, personally, to pay a bit more money and have a luxury hotel. Rome is a busy and enervating city, and, for me, I need to come home to something a bit classier at the end of each day. But if you were coming on business for a couple of nights this hotel would be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon, UK

Hotel Invictus stay and review

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: This hotel is a 15 minute walk from the main rail terminus, there are a couple of handy cafe's just opposite again good value.
The hotel entrance is easily missed since there are no huge signs or give aways that it is a hotel. Just looking into the entrance it appears to be a block of flats, the hotel starts on the 2nd floor (there is a lift). Once inside the hotel the reception is smart and manned, the staff I found helpful and attentive. The room we had looked upmarket and clean. All in all I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good room at reasonable price. Most of the main attractions will require a trip on the metro (unless you are keen on walking) although there is one only 10 minutes away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Avoid this Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The room A/C didn't work and the receptionist smoke all the time and the hotel smells to cigarettes. Avoid this hotel if you don't want to get sick when in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Nice hotel, great location. Plenty of restaurants both nearby all within a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Room was a good size and in good condition and very clean. Air conditioning was working and bed was comfortable. Only thing I'd flaw was the bed sheets were too thin, however upon request we got a spare one straight away for no charge. Bathroom was also in good condition with a working hot shower, clean toilet and bidet. So overall a great stay at a nice hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, US & Vicenza, IT.

Big mistake, Never again

Posted Sep 7, 2016
It's located in a questionable part of town. Ground floor reception is non existent. You have to guess how to get to the actual lobby after riding an elevator built in the 1940s. No kidding! NO PARKING PROVIDED. You have to pay $40 per day if you want to park at some "private" parking not even close to the hotel. I prepaid for 2 nights stay, but didn't even stay at all, so I lost my money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel that occupies (only) 3rd floor of building

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clearly indicate what the hotel actually is.
Location: The location was listed as near the Spanish steps. It is not. There are some good restaurants nearby.
We arrive and can see no exterior signs that this is the Invictus Hotel. We are confronted with a heavy wooden entry door. We must push the button for the hotel and they click open the door. No personnel or sign exist on the ground floor so we take the early 20th century elevator up to the third floor (2nd floor in European parlance). Our double room had little more than two connected single beds. The room was very small. I can see why they do not allow cancellations. Risking losing our whole week's payment, we still chose to leave after the first night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Not again

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Near to the attractions. fountain, colloseum.
Location: Not a very nice location.
Near to the attractions. But gloomy hotel. Gloomy rooms. And the rubbish trucks come at midnight every night.