Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Only good as close to shops

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Location and some of the décor.
Cons: The heating, the wifi in the rooms, the bathrooms.
Location: Close to he Spanish Steps and the shopping street.
There was nobody to at reception at our hotel, when someone finally arrived we were told they were refurbishing and moving us to another of their hotels which apparently was better. We had to pay for the taxi to move there and only got it reimbursed when we asked. The second hotel was also undergoing refurbishment and the restaurant and lobby were not in order. The room was comfortable but a little cold, the bathroom was old, very cold as the window did not shut properly, the show was either boiling hot or low pressure. Having said this our children who had a room on the top floor had a good room with a new bathroom but no shower curtain so they flooded the room when they used it. The hotel is quaint and well located next to the Spanish steps and I would recommend in the warmer months.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

EXCELLENT!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
The staff was by far the most pleasant! The room very clean! Enjoyed staying in this not too busy streets, was able to sleep with windows open! I would most definetly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent location, lovely hotel, wonderful people

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: location, room, people
Cons: OK, there isn't a conventional shower, but the tub is set up with a hand held shower with marble surround that allows for a great European shower.
Location: Vatican, Piaza di Fiori, restaurants and just 20 minutes by foot to everything in Rome!
We stayed at Relais Group Palace hotel for 4 nights. We scored! Amazing location in the middle of a Roman neighborhood and devoid of some of the flocks of tourists in Rome. There are at least 50 restaurants within a 15 minute walk - we had excellent food every night. This hotel is 7 minutes to Vatican on foot, and maybe 8 minutes to Piaza di Fiori and its daily fresh market. The hotel itself is very small (7 rooms), quiet, and wonderfully historic - so a pleasant and intimate place to stay. From the circular elevator which accommodates just 3 people, to the wood shuttered windows, wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms....all just lovely. This hotel would suit those who want to experience Rome, not those looking for a chain hotel and all the American comforts. We particularly appreciated Bashir who served as doorman, concierge, breakfast maker, housekeeper, and man-who-makes-your-stay-perfect, and Madame (also an owner) at the front desk, who was fluent in English and Italian, and so helpful in providing us with sites, directions, and always a smile. Thank you Relais Group Palace for an excellent stay in Rome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Blue Mountains Australia

Heritage building in ancient Rome

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: central location
Cons: breakfast laid out in same room as dining. Better tea making facilities in room
Location: Close to Vatican and river walks. Many other sites near by.
central ancient Rome and close to Vatican. quite close to good shopping and red bus (hop on Hop off) route. Older property but lots of Character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014
It was a pleasant experience and very quiet.
2 out of 5
by CÖY from İZMİR TURKEY

PINK PLASTIC TRAYS

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Location,all touristic attractions within at most half an hour's walk,we didn't need any kind of transportation during our 4 days.
Cons: Hangers for trousers,some tv channels in English,cold tea & coffoe & omelet for breakfast,not having a breakfast table
Location: Great
On a tiny street full of parked cars and motorcyles,a bar next door makes noise during late hours.Just 7 rooms and saw 4 workers during our 3 days accomadation,Problem of the safe was solved by the receptionist,TV has hundreds of channels but not CNN or BBC or Euronews,we tried to translate Italian teletexts.The cupboard didn't contain hangers for trousers,the bathtube didn't have a water seperator.Breakfast served to room as there wasn't a room in this tiny hotel,while expecting 4 star quality we had pink plastic trays with tepid bread and tea and coffoe and omelet,thanks to wife carrying lots of teabags for the room's hotpot.I had to remember my dormatory days and put our suitcases on other's top to have a breakfast table.Not for this price.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but improvement required...

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Location I think was the only thing giving favour to this hotel as well as the size of the hotel room.
Cons: Water pressure as well as water temperature, and bed mattresses. Offering a choice for breakfast instead of wasting food.
Location: Location is perfect if you want to be close to Vatican City. Everything else is within walking distance - quite a redeeming feature.
The hotel gives a medieval feel about it. The first day we got there we failed to have hot water. We were informed at the time that it was a problem in the street which clearly wasn't true as just the night before I had resorted to having a shower in the staff bathroom. Half an hour the next morning of arguing about checking out (after being charged upfront when we first got there), we were moved to another room where there was lukewarm water, but unfortunately horrible pressure to the point you had to shower for half an hour trying to get clean. The buffet breakfast consisted of two trays of food delivered to your room with everything on them, instead of offering exactly what we wanted...this forced us to leave a lot of food on the trays which is a waste and under ordinary circumstances you wouldn't put what you didn't want on your plate at a "traditional" buffet breakfast. The location was good, and the space of the room we stayed in the only couple of redeeming factors....
3 out of 5
by Bob from SF and Paris

I want to love this hotel. But I don't.

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: In the 'heart' of the historic center. A short walk to Navonna, Pantheon, Fiore.
Cons: Water pressure, lighting, addition of a table for breakfast, English language TV stations.
Location: A short walk to Navonna, Pantheon, Fiore. A shorter walk brings you to the River Tiber.
Here is a once proud building, located a short walk from Piazza Navona and The Pantheon. There is an element of grandness to the hotel; its furnishings, the circular stairway, the 'open' elevator. A short block or two and you are at the River Tiber. There is, however, a need to restore the building's non-aethetics. There is NO water pressure (and yes, the hotel management is aware of this; 'The building is old'). A shower is impossible. To fill the bathtub; a good twenty minutes. The rooms are dark. There are many light-fixtures but none strong enough to illuminate the surroundings. The bed is large but uncomfortable; a back-ache each morning. Breakfast is superb; a literal buffet BROUGHT TO YOUR ROOM. Eggs, cereal, croissants, juice, coffee, pastries. But in the room there is NO TABLE. Instead a dresser-top with only one knee-hole. The second diner, most uncomfortable. The TV provides 500 stations; but NOT ONE in English. Though the hotel faces away from busy Via Emmanuel, the sound of buses and trucks is continuous; in fact through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Virginia, USA

Great Location for Everything!

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The hotel is intimate and stylish with a delightful old-world aesthetic. The employees are responsive and helpful.
Cons: The only suggestion I would make is to have a larger supply of ice on hand. Aside from that small matter everything was great!
Location: We felt secure and safe in the area (except for the unavoidable pickpockets on the buses - guard your wallets) and close to all key attractions.
You must remember this is NOT an American style hotel. Once you understand that you will find it charming and ideally suited to your needs for a great location in Rome. For example, you are a short walk to the Vatican and the main bus line that connects to the most desirable tourist attractions. Unrelated to the hotel - be careful on the 64 buses for pickpockets! That aside, we found the staff to be wonderful and warm providing you are respectful and polite. We witnessed some rude fellow-Americans staying in the hotel who were unnecessarily abrupt and demanding. Simply put, just be considerate and the staff will delight in providing you with a wonderful stay. One cultural difference is that the rooms are dark with the shutters drawn during the day to keep the rooms cool. Once you understand the reasoning behind this you can appreciate this Italian practice. Remember, you didn't journey to have a room in Los Angeles or Boston...as they say...when in Rome...one should do as the Romans do! Each morning we were provided with a lovely breakfast that kept us filled for most of the day. Moreover, we grabbed some oranges and apples from the daily replenished fruit-bowl to snack on during our touring adventures! My wife and I would be delighted to stay at the hotel again. We had a beautiful marble bathroom and the air-conditioned room was sufficiently cool. One word of caution for almost any European hotel. Bring a portable smoke detector for your room! We loved this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samuel Pepys

Good value

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Good location in the charming, historic, un-touristy residential quarter of Rome. Old fashioned but particularly nice staff, and good value. Water pressure poor, bathroom dark but room like a fridge - not to be underestimated in a Roman summer.