Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Gainesville, Florida

Excellent Hotel in Sabie, Beautiful grounds

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay in Sabie. The grounds are exceptionally kept and just beautiful. The hotel is gated so you'll feel safe and requires a fob to get in and out of the hotel grounds. You will be close to the amazing Lone Creek Falls and a short drive to the downtown Sabie area. The owners/management are very friendly and easy to work with. All workers at Lone Creek are helpful and informative. Thank you for a great stay!
4 out of 5
by Julien from Montreal

Perfect stay!

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Nous avons adoré. Le buffet du restaurant était parfait.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from New Brunswick, Canada

Great stay in Sabie

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lone Creek was recommended to us by people from Sabie to stay. It is the best accommodations in the area and was great value for money. I ended up staying in their timber cabins and it has two bedrooms, wood stove, fully equipped kitchen, and a lovely covered patio with a great Braai/BBQ. Stayed 2 nights and had their full English breakfast on both days which was great. Also stayed for dinner one evening and they offered a full buffet. Had a very nice stay and would stay again. This would be a great place to stay with family or friends.
4 out of 5
by Jason from JHB

Great service

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very obliging Beautiful view from the room onto the river and mountain Website photos a bit misleading as there was no kitchen in our unit however the room we had lead onto the river which was very relaxing
5 out of 5
by Nkosi from Johannesburg

Lone creek lodge feedback

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
It was from the 9th until 11th Han 2015 awesomeness met the manager friendliest ever you could come across she gave a map to us to make our journey even better
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Prague

Ducks not in a row

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
The accommodation was perfectly adequate and, esp for a family, nicely organised in that you have a complete chalet (Upstairs and down) to yourselves. We also appreciate the dinner reservation that was made on our behalf and then rescheduled on short notice. On the negative side the owner/manager clearly did not understand her contractual relationship with Hotels.com and was very insistent that I pay a deposit which was in complete contradiction to the confirmation I had. This was very annoying. Furthermore, the manager that we dealt with when checking out found it necessary to share her thoughts (Mostly negative) about a number of other guests with us which was quite awkward and made us wonder what she would be saying about us to the next people that checked out.
5 out of 5
by G & D from Sussex, England

Gorgeous decor

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived at the reception of this hotel we were bowled over. Liezle, the joint-owner took one look at D (who was unwell) and offered us an upgrade (with bath) at no extra cost. I am a vegetarian and although there was no vegetarian dish on offer that night I chose to eat in, because it was late. Although I had a starter and a dessert I was surprised to learn on checking out that we had only been charged for the one meal. The décor of our room (no.2) was gorgeous and although the building is less than 20 years old it has a period-look and feel about it. The grounds are beautifully manicured with a pool and a river running along its border. We would definitely return if we should visit the area again and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Kelly from Vancouver, Canada

Very disappointed

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above
Location: Close to Kruger national Park
We had read good reviews about this lodge, but unfortunately we did not have a good experience. We arrived at approx. 4:00 p.m. after travelling from 5:00 in the morning. My husband was ill and just needed to get some food and lie in bed. The restaurant at the lodge was closed so we went into town to get some food at the super market. By the time we returned at 5:00 the guard at the gate informed us that the reception was closed. The front desk staff failed to tell us that we had to pre-book breakfast, so by the time we read this in our room after 5pm, there was no one at the front desk to inform of our wish to have breakfast. We were in the ground floor room of 4-plex lodge and there was a family with small children above us. There was absolutely no insulation between the rooms and we heard every creak in the floor, their voices and arguments and this went on for 5 hours before they went to bed. It was unbelievably loud. They awoke before 6 am and consequently to did we. We also heard the conversations of the people in the room adjacent to us on the ground floor. The bed sheets were dirty and the wood for the fire would not light in the fireplace (we tried three times using all of the fuel provided). We slept poorly due to the noise, had no breakfast and left early the next morning due to the circumstances. I did relay all of this to the front desk staff, who said, that she had accommodation on the grounds and she could have been contacted. We were not informed of this.
2 out of 5
by Abdullah from Johannesburg, South Africa

NEVER get a room at the ground floor!!!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location. The lodges are beautifully designed
Cons: Sound-proofing between floors Facilities should be in working order Hot plate or stove
Location: Panorama route, God's Window and other scenic places
The access road to the resort was in a terrible condition, caused a lot of stress to the car. But that was the least of our worries. While the lodges themselves are beautiful, we had taken up a room on the ground floor (technically first floor, as the lodges are elevated), we were not able to sleep for a little bit due to the excessive noise coming from the top. It turns out, there is absolutely NO insulation or sound-proofing done between the floors. As a result, the slightest step or movement by occupants of the floor above felt like load, screeching noises in our room. The WC was leaking, and while the resort says the lodges are self-catering, there was no stove / cooking plate in the kitchenette. With the price paid, not worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from allentown pa

hotel is great

Posted Nov 30, 2011
very cozy place with fireplace. had everything you need in a kitchen. only thing missing was a blower dryer for hair. great looking pool and setting.