Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good affordable accommodations

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff very friendly and the location central to most things
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. We are glad you were happy with our pricing and that our service and location were to your satisfaction. We value your business and hope you will visit again the next time you are in San Diego. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to valley view center

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Very quiet,clean,employees were very nice and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for being our guest and for the feedback about our hotel. We are happy to note that our location was the highlight of your visit and you enjoyed our service and clean facilities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again at Extended Stay America San Diego - Hotel Circle. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mammoth Lakes

Central location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
I booked on Expedia and receipt said parking was included, however when I arrived at the hotel they wanted to charge me $15 a day for parking ? They let the trash build up outside toward the end of our stay and everything in our room was nice except for the outside of the refrigerator which was VERY dirty and sticky !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased you had an overall nice stay, loved our prime location and your comfortable room. I would like to inform you that our website clearly states about the parking charges. Thanks again, we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Unhappy

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The floor was dirty, the windows would not close and it was a cold day. But what got me more mad is that Expedia said on the site free parking and the hotel made me pay to park my car after i rented the room if not they said go find a parking in the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay. We are sorry you were disappointed in availability of parking and the fee associated. I have made a note of the cleanliness item you mentioned and the window situation, I will alert our staff members to make the necessary changes and repairs. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have you visit again soon. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Expedia advertised as free parking and free breakfast. When we arrived we had to pay $15 per night for parking. Free breakfast consisted of a prepackaged muffin or a granola bar and coffee. No juice or fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience online. Our website clearly states about our parking charges, but we apologize if any inconvenience was caused due to this. I am also sorry that our breakfast offerings were not up to your expectations. I have made a note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our breakfast offerings. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carefree, AZ

YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location was good.
This hotel charged a hidden fee of $15/night for parking. Every room had a small kitchenette but my room had no dishes, silverware, or pots and pans--not even a coffee pot. So, the kitchenette was useless. Also, there was no daily maid service. The bed went unmade, the towels never were replaced. I realize this was a budget hotel, but I will never stay at Extended Stay America again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We apologize for your disappointment with your recent stay at our hotel.  Since we are an extended stay property, we provide housekeeping services to guests who stay eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee.   We also offer a complimentary linen exchange service at the front desk. In response to your feedback, we will be coaching our front desk staff to ensure we are clearly communicating our services and amenities during guest arrivals as well as providing each guest with professional customer service. We hope you will visit us again when you are in this area.   Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not my best experience

Posted Jan 25, 2017
For the price paid, I felt the facility should have been nicer. The room had no shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom, you had to ask for it at the front desk. Being an extended stay hotel you would expect the cabinets to be stocked with glasses,mugs,dishes,etc. but again you have to ask for them at the desk. The complimentary "grab n go" breakfast was also disappointing, no sugar for the coffee and a very slim choice of granola bars and muffins to choose from. I have stayed at many other places that offered more for half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to offer our apologies for not living up to your expectations. Although we make every effort to be perfect, sometimes we fall short. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future so we can prove this is not typical of our usual service. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO HANDICAP ACCESSIBILITY!!!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Handicap access cleaner more hazard free environment safety comes first!
I would have to say this was one of our worst hotel experiences. First of all as soon as we walk in we were greeted with a sign letting us know we would be charged $15 a night for parking. Something which was NEVER mentioned to us at any time during our booking. Second, there was NO elevator or any handicap access to get to upper floors. My husband is currently handicapped, and unable to walk far distances. We were forced to get a room downstairs, away from our friends and family due to your facility not having an operating elevator. At times when I had questions and came to the front lobby there was no one there. There was even one point where there was an open door to a room with like a generator in it, in the middle of the hall way was a cart with tools, and all kinds of wires and tools all over the floor. This alone is a hazard, and my husband could've easily fallen. Not only that, someone could have easily gone into that room which was open and unwatched and moved around the wires or something. This facility seemed very unsafe, and hazardous. We had no choice but to stay since all other hotels were either booked and or more expensive. I am truly disappointed and feel I was robbed. I work very hard for my money and expect to be comfortable when traveling. This was just unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego Hotel Circle

Very atenttive staff clean rooms.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
I have been at this hotel before very nice attentive staff there a rooms are clean and very roomy. I would stay here again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Karla, It’s always a pleasure welcoming you back and we appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful review about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and that our service was to your satisfaction. We look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team. Please visit with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Awful experience!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The room was actually pretty nice. Good bed, very good desk with lighting and outlets. Good bathroom and shower.
Cons: Get rid of the usurious parking fee. Fix the elevator. Provide maid service. Awful overall experience.
Location: Close to I-8 and I-5. Convenient to restaurants, mall and Old Town.
They charge $15 per night for parking. Surprise! This is not a downtown hotel, and the parking fee is way out of line. Second, elevator was out of service for "preventive maintenance." I had to carry three pieces of luggage up the stairs to the 3rd floor. (I'm 70 years old.) Third, no housekeeping whatsoever on second day: Bed unmade, trash can not emptied, etc. Hello-o-o! Less important but still annoying: No hair dryer, no shampoo, no vending machine on floor. I've never given out a "1" rating before, but this one was deserved!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your candid feedback with us and we sincerely apologize for your disappointing stay. It is never our intention to lose focus on providing excellent hospitality. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you should have experienced during this stay. Thanks again for being our guest and we hope to hear from you soon.   Sincerely, General Manager