Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mesa az

Great location, good room, false advertisement

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Location is great. One block from the beach and all of La Jolla in walking distance. Room was very quiet, even with the windows open at night.
Cons: Up-date the property description. Be truthful.
Location: La Jolla Cove, 1 block. Restaraunts and shops all around. Easy access to all other San Diego-based activities
okay, first, it's a smaller, older property with all the issues associated with that. It will not compete with the larger and more expessive properties nearby. The location and view are hard to beat at this price point. The rooms are clean and comfortable. With that in mind, this is a great recommend. 4 stars. Where the place loses points is in advertising their amenities. They clearly state they offer valet parking, which they do not. When I asked about it, the girl at the desk was very matter-of-fact about correcting me, which tells me this issue comes up often and they must know their description is wrong. In fact, as of this writing, it's still listed. I even waited a week to see if they updated it since I called them on it. That's lying and that's unacceptble to me. That costs one full star. But if that doesn't matter to you and you can deal with an older property, this place is a good choice.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Hotel is definitely in a nice area. It's an expensive area, so you may have to do a little traveling if you're looking for a younger crowd. I feel like I got a great deal for my money. The hotel is quaint, but I like that over big name hotels. The staff was friendly and there's a nice coffee shop and some restaurants very close. I would definitely stay there again whenever I'm in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poway, CA

DON"T even consider this Inn

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: For starters, no false advertising. If it's a double bed, then state so. I would put people at the front desk that care.
Location: La Jolla is a beautiful place and there are lots of great restaurants around the area plus the beautiful coast.
First of all, the parking is horrible. You have to park in front in the "loading zone," and then check in. Once you're done checking in, if you want to use their parking facilities, you have to pay an extra $10 per car and park more than 2 blocks away (they say 2 blocks but it's farther away than that). I paid for a room with a queen size bed..it was a double size bed. When I went to the front desk to inquire, I was told "that's our queen size bed." What? As I disagreed with her, all she kept saying was "that's our queen size bed." I asked if I could get a refund, she said since I booked through Expedia, it was non-refundable. I asked for the manager, no manager on duty. Then there was the air conditioner that turned off and the extremely small room got hot and stuffy. It wouldn't stay on...I was told to just turn the "turbo" off and it will stay on. Nope, turned off throughout the night and I had to get up and turn it back on. I would never stay here, no would I recommend it to anyone. Run...don't walk from this place!
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Hills, CA

Quaint, simple hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Cons: The phone should have worked in the room. Parking two blocks away means having to double park to unload luggage, which sucks if the beach is busy.
Location: A block from the park, two blocks from La Jolla cove water's edge. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance.
The room was small but clean. The room held a queen bed, a table against the wall, a small wicker table and two chairs. There was a small sink, a microwave, a mini-fridge and even a small coffee maker! The bathroom was clean, and had a bathtub the wife could use. The ice maker is scoop bin just past the office on the first floor. We were in unit 8 on the first floor, so we had a view of the ocean and a nice breeze through the corner Windows. If you walk up the stairs by the office, it takes you to the roof, where there is a wonderful patio area with tables and chairs that is perfect for a bottle of wine and an unobstructed view of the ocean. It was empty the two nights we were there. The hotel is a jewel so close to the ocean and so reasonably priced. We're here in early October, so that probably matters, but we're coming back here next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

perfect location,BUT...

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: new carpet, update look
Great location next to beach, shopping & dining. But hotel was old & out dated. Had 2 rooms reserved, only one was in their system. Expedia's fault, but I was trying to tell them "confirmation" numbers, but staff kept saying, "no. those are expedia's numbers, it's between you & them." After 1 hr & calling expedia, they found the reservation....under the number I was trying to get them to use! Upgraded room. Room carpet filthy, many, many stains. Hair & sand on bathroom floor. Our 2nd rm was "upgraded" because there was hair on the pillow & it looked like someone had slept on the bed. AC worked great, & we had a fantastic view. But could hear the noise from the bar up the street & sounded like 20 garbage trucks every morning.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Sabina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County Ca.

old hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: the suites were very nice
Cons: web site poictures
Location: The hotel is in the middle of everything and close to the beach
when we booked the room the pictures on expedia were totally misleading, poor at best. we booked for two nights and after complaining to management they moved us to a sweet which what is online in the picture discription, this was a very nice room. the staff was very nice. Overall we would stay there again but only if we rented a sweet.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to beach

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Excellent access to beach, shops and places to eat. Handrail at bottom of stairs is broken and I almost fell though so be careful. Otherwise, good deal for the price.
5 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Alfred from Silver Spring, Maryland (City as well as Suburb of Washignton, DC

Our 4 Night Getaway from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was great and the location is formidable.
5 out of 5
for Families
by H Berto

La Jolla Fun

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great room. Plenty of things to do within walking distance.