Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County Ca.

old hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: the suites were very nice
Cons: web site poictures
Location: The hotel is in the middle of everything and close to the beach
when we booked the room the pictures on expedia were totally misleading, poor at best. we booked for two nights and after complaining to management they moved us to a sweet which what is online in the picture discription, this was a very nice room. the staff was very nice. Overall we would stay there again but only if we rented a sweet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to beach

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Excellent access to beach, shops and places to eat. Handrail at bottom of stairs is broken and I almost fell though so be careful. Otherwise, good deal for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
The Hotel is in a prime location, however it needs some updating and for the price, was not worth it. The staff was friendly but the facilities are run down and I was surprised that that the average rating is 3.5 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but VERY small and outdated...

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Quality of the room, update, make rooms bigger.
Location is great. Check-in was easy and the girl was very pleasant. Very disappointed in the room. Small does not even begin to describe it. Very outdated. When the girl asked how many keys we wanted, they were ACTUALLY keys! Metal keys. Bars on the windows we are not comforting to look at. The closet was literally a 1/3 of the size of the room. I couldn't even relax in the room. Plus, our door to our room was practically on the sidewalk of a pretty busy street. Anyone could walk up to our room and knock on our door. Sadly, I would not ever stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Parking two blocks away at $10 a day are you kidding me room entrance right on the sidewalk I've stayed in larger hostels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Close to the beach.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Room is close to the beach.
Cons: Room.
Location: Food and beach.
Very disappointing. Room is depressing. Nothing is included. Room has a basket of typical items at other hotels that are included in price. Room needs an update.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quant and close to the cove

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: room was fine, but bathroom was a bit cramped.
Cons: bathroom size and would prefer to have a view of something other than the building next door.
Location: Plenty of places to walk to for shopping, eating and drinking. The cove is right around the corner and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is clean and close to many places for walking as there is no close by parking. Overall, really enjoyed our stay in La Jolla.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Disgusting hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Not only were the carpets and bedding stained, there was no air conditioning and the room had a foul smell of mildew and urine. The shower did not drain and the hotel had the nerve to charge $10 for a Bic razor. I cannot believe this "inn" is even listed as an Expedia partner and the worst part is that the lowest rate was $250!! I want my money back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Do not recommend

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: It was centrally located and near the water.
Cons: Everything could be improved. Update the facility. Front desk should be open all night for late or early early morning check in, for starters.
Location: The location is the best thing about this hotel.
The accommodations are very very outdated. The rooms are very very small. There is mention on the website about spending a million dollars for renovations. Could not tell where that money was spent. The decor was from the 60s, and it smelled like an old unkept house. The carpet seemed just as old. Beds were uncomfortable and squeaked at every move. White towel had either a stain on one of them or it was dirt -- didn't use the dirty one. Housekeeping didn't change our sheets and sloppily just pulled the top blankets back over the sheets without smoothing out the bumps or making the top quilt lay where the bottom hem was even. Housecleaning also left a plastic bucket on our table -- could've been a cleaning bucket, but looked like a sand bucket that didn't belong to us. Could hear the creaky floor above us with every step. The library leather couch was old with rips in it. Overpriced for the accommodations -- even at a discount. 3.5 star rating is absurd. It was worse than a Motel6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Pleasant Small Hotel With View of Ocean

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Its small size & warm and homey appeal. High & low loft sleeping pillows available and no air freshener's used.
Cons: More healthy snack choices available within the rooms.
Location: Excellent location! Beach, museum and great Italian and Himalayan restaurant Gelato shop and other shops just outside the door!
The staff was pleasant and helpful. When we had not yet arrived, 45 minutes before check out closed, they gave me a call on my cell to remind me. since my reservation was non-refundable, the hotel would not have benefited from making the call. We arrived just before midnight and found the desk clerk reassuring, upbeat and accommodating.