Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Heather was wonderful very helpful

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The Ocean being so close and shops being close as well
Location: Picnic during the day or go shopping, Night go to different bars lined up outside along the sidewalks , Different types of retaurants for your taste
my experience was so nice, the employee I believe her name to be Heather, was so very nice and full of knowledge and answers. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again, soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Location: Birch Aquarium in town. 40 minutes to San Diego Safari Park or Zoo (in opposite directions). Fabulous gelato place nearby. La Dolce Vita Restaurant
This quaint, older hotel has a European feel, but does not provide luxurious accommodations. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both small, and the quality differed considerably. Definitely preferred the ocean-front room, which had been updated. There is no parking and, in the summer, in a resort town close to the beach, street parking was almost impossible to find. The parking garage costs about $20 daily. Positives include the view, being in the heart of the village, convenience to shops and restaurants, WiFi, having the Cove a short distance away and finding seals along the coast. The price was reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Smack dab in the middle of La Jolla

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to local establishments and the beach.
Cons: The entrance and front desk could be more inviting.
Location: Plenty of good restaurants - like Richard Walker's - and shops; the La Jolla Cove and beach are steps away from the hotel.
La Jolla Inn is a quaint little facility that does the job for overnighters in that beautiful town. The rooms are smaller. but sufficient. The staff is friendly and helpful. Just a short walk takes you to the beach or any of the numerous shops and eating establishments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Great location the 4th of July staff was great we will be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better places close to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This motel is one block from the beach, and located within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants, and the staff was friendly. However, when I stayed in room #4, the wall A/C unit only worked for 30 seconds at a time, and if you sit more than a foot away from the unit all you felt was hot, stagnant, stale air. There is no ceiling fan to keep the air circulating. My wife and I were sweating all night. The bed was rock hard, and the exterior rooms are on a major street with a LOT of car noise and people walking by. I didn't feel very safe. Next time I'll pay the extra hundred dollars to stay at a better place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jun 4, 2016
The room wasn't vaccumed, behind the fridge it's was very dusty and filthy (fridge is up on countertop). Hotel had a weird smell. It's old so I wasn't expecting much. Other than that it was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Tv is not work first, wifi is not stable,always on and off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel close to beach

Posted May 30, 2016
Quick and helpful services from staffs. Clean room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016
Relaxing.. Close to the beach.. Yummmmmmy restaurants near by! Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in heart of La Jolla next to beach

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: the location and view
Location: swim snorkel bike run shop attend cultural events at the Atheneum etc
We stayed in the Cove Suite and it was spectacular. with easy access to a beautiful roof top lounge overlooking the beautiful beaches.