Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable accommodation close to the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Comfortable beds, spacious closet, quiet sleeping environment. Across the street from great restaurants. Only downside is limited parking (there is a discount for a parking garage if you don't get a space nearby). Also, toiletries are not free, which wasn't a problem since we brought our own. The soap, toilet paper and hair dryer are free.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mesa az

Great location, good room, false advertisement

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Location is great. One block from the beach and all of La Jolla in walking distance. Room was very quiet, even with the windows open at night.
Cons: Up-date the property description. Be truthful.
Location: La Jolla Cove, 1 block. Restaraunts and shops all around. Easy access to all other San Diego-based activities
okay, first, it's a smaller, older property with all the issues associated with that. It will not compete with the larger and more expessive properties nearby. The location and view are hard to beat at this price point. The rooms are clean and comfortable. With that in mind, this is a great recommend. 4 stars. Where the place loses points is in advertising their amenities. They clearly state they offer valet parking, which they do not. When I asked about it, the girl at the desk was very matter-of-fact about correcting me, which tells me this issue comes up often and they must know their description is wrong. In fact, as of this writing, it's still listed. I even waited a week to see if they updated it since I called them on it. That's lying and that's unacceptble to me. That costs one full star. But if that doesn't matter to you and you can deal with an older property, this place is a good choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Hotel is definitely in a nice area. It's an expensive area, so you may have to do a little traveling if you're looking for a younger crowd. I feel like I got a great deal for my money. The hotel is quaint, but I like that over big name hotels. The staff was friendly and there's a nice coffee shop and some restaurants very close. I would definitely stay there again whenever I'm in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Eh

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were casual. Location is amazing. Room is small and had minimal sunlight. Outside entrance to your room. Parking lot was $10 a day and 2 blocks away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location Room was clean but small Close to beach and shopping so didn't stay in room much anyway!! Staff courteous. Would stay there again and recommend for short stays
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lacey from Santa Monica

Dirty Hotel in Amazing location

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was super old and super dirty. The bedspread was stained and under the bed looked like it hadn't been cleaned this year. There was trash etc underneath it, Then the tv didn't have a remote and everything in the room just seemed really old. However you can not beat the location. It was right on the beach and in a really awesome area of restaurants and shops.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poway, CA

DON"T even consider this Inn

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: For starters, no false advertising. If it's a double bed, then state so. I would put people at the front desk that care.
Location: La Jolla is a beautiful place and there are lots of great restaurants around the area plus the beautiful coast.
First of all, the parking is horrible. You have to park in front in the "loading zone," and then check in. Once you're done checking in, if you want to use their parking facilities, you have to pay an extra $10 per car and park more than 2 blocks away (they say 2 blocks but it's farther away than that). I paid for a room with a queen size bed..it was a double size bed. When I went to the front desk to inquire, I was told "that's our queen size bed." What? As I disagreed with her, all she kept saying was "that's our queen size bed." I asked if I could get a refund, she said since I booked through Expedia, it was non-refundable. I asked for the manager, no manager on duty. Then there was the air conditioner that turned off and the extremely small room got hot and stuffy. It wouldn't stay on...I was told to just turn the "turbo" off and it will stay on. Nope, turned off throughout the night and I had to get up and turn it back on. I would never stay here, no would I recommend it to anyone. Run...don't walk from this place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carmen

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
I was not comfortable with the duty carpet, and the bed spread full of stains. The door to the bathroom was not well located since it hit the main door. I was not certain that I had enough security when I closed the door, the wood stuck. My room # was 21 and I will not want to stay in a room that needs either new carpet or shampoo the carpet and have new clean bed spread. Check in was very slow.