Ratings based on 1,502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

暴風のせい?

Posted Feb 2, 2016
暴風の日で外に出れない日に泊まりました。 風が吹くたびに建物に扉か何かが当たってその衝撃と音がベッドに響いて、とても寝れる状況ではありませんでした。 耳栓をしても全く効果なし。 地震のような地響きがひたすら続いて、結局朝まで続いてチェックアウトしました。 目を覚まそうとシャワーを浴びようとするも今度はお湯が出ず。 最悪でした。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland, WA

Close to everything we wanted this trip!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Proximity and staff.
Location: Within 2 miles of the Zoo, Balboa Park, USS MIdway and other waterfront tours, Seaport Village.
We loved that we were within walking distance of the zoo, Balboa Park, the USS Midway, Gaslamp district, Seaport Village, bus/trolley and the airport. The room was comfortable, nothing exciting, but doable. The staff was great. There was an issue with our toilet the last night, they quickly moved us to another room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel is under Renovation

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Location is good
THIS HOTEL IS UNDER RENOVATION. I understand that properties need to be renovated to occasionally but it would be nice to have a heads-up before booking so the consumer can decide whether they want to deal with this or not. The construction started at 6:50 AM on Saturday morning and continued all day and also all day Sunday. They were even Working on the room directly above mine at 9:00 AM on Sunday morning. I find this lack of awareness and consideration astounding. Other things to note...There is a metal security door from the lobby to get to the rooms that slams shut and shakes the whole building. I was in room 301 (which is actually js the second floor, not 3rd) and from about 6:30am - 9:30am- the heavy traffic times) it sounded like a a cannon going off every 2-3 minutes when someone passed through this door. Needless to say I didn't get any sleep all weekend. The WIFI network didn't even show up on my Ipad, it appeared on my phone once, but I was kicked off after signing on and didn't bother to go through the hassle of logging on every time I wanted to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Pleasant hotel near Balboa Park

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Great price, clean, good staff, not too far from activities
Location: Near Balboa Park museums and San Diego Zoo, Little Italy (Saturday Farmer's Market!). Harbor & Gaslamp a little further but accessible.
Stayed two nights while in San Diego, walked to Balboa Park & harbor. Hotel was undergoing major room improvements, but it wasn't a major inconvenience and the staff was friendly and responsive. Room was small but clean and cozy. Near flight path for planes landing at San Diego airport - not a great place to stay if you need quiet, but considering how many people living near downtown San Diego live with the airplane noise, in a strange way it's part of the local charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Q

Cozy hotel close to Downtown.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Every chance I get to travel to San Diego I am more than excited to book a room at this hotel. The staff is so professional and very welcoming. The best part about this hotel is the cleanliness of the room and it is close to the Downtown area. Will definitely be back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

Small rooms with no parking

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Close to San Diego zoo.
Cons: Hotel Parking and room quality.
Location: San Diego zoo
No hotel provided parking. Only limited hour street parking. Very small rooms. In morning found water leakage in sink and we were getting late.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You would have to be desperate!

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything!
Location: Little Italy was nearby within walking distance.
This hotel was a joke! This was the smallest room I have ever been in. It was noisy and uncomfortable to move around in. The bathroom door was chewed at the bottom apparently by a dog or other small animal and had a very musty wet smell to it. Breakfast in the morning was also disappointing. We were told we could not bring our food back to our own room to eat it. I was very I'll and had wanted my boyfriend to bring me something back to eat in the room as I did not want to get dressed. He was "stopped" at the door and told he could not bring food back for any reason. Do not stay here if you can help it!! Also, NO PARKING!! Also, construction was going on tour entire stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The room was small and needs renovation. The hotel is close to balboa park and the zoo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to gas lamp district

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Nice staff, easy check-in process, pretty decent room, very small but clean. The only bad thing is there is only metered parking during the day but after 6pm you can park for however long until 8am the next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nilan from Birmingham

My experiance

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Decided to visit San diego for a holiday and booked this hotel. when i arrived the hotel asked for a $25 deposit for the room. i told them the room was paid in full and didn't tell me about any other deposits. They said its hotel policy. They asked for my bank card and said it will be refunded back to me on check out. Due to me having to use my card i was charged from my bank a high cost due to the exchange rang and using my card abroad. The room had faults such as blinds were faulty and room service didn't change bed sheet for the stay of 10 days. No milk in the breakfast room and also some staff were not friendly at all. Very loud music after 11pm till 4am from a bar behind the building and the music was just way too loud.