Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Convenient distance, but not much else

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: The helpful, friendly staff, the convenient distance to SD attractions, the price.
Cons: Outdated rooms need a facelift; new showers, better bathroom lighting, new flooring, and definitely new comforters (without cigarette burns).
Location: 10 min drive from Sea World, taxi/Uber/Lyft convenient for bar hopping in the Gaslamp Quarter or a game at Petco Park.
Across from Mission Bay Beach, about 10 minutes from Sea World, another 15-20 min from Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter: 5 stars for proximity to fun. The room itself was a bit below average. Cigarette burns on the comforter, loose tiles in the bathroom, shower stall whose ledge was about 2 inches high, allowing water to splash all over the floor, and an AC that had 2 settings: tropical (humid 79 degrees) and freezing (polar 59 degrees). The included continental breakfast was scarce: toast, cereal, muffins, all gone within 10 minutes and not restocked. The staff was at least very friendly, polite, and accommodating. The pricing was the best in the area, so there's that...but not much else.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Awesome for the price

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Had a few issues and all were resolved immediately. And it was close to everywhere awesome in SD. Definitely would recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anza,ca

wish we could have moved our beds outside.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: the next morning when i went into the lobby everything was well stocked with all the breakfast items and coffee,that was nice.
Cons: i wish someone would have come to the room and seen about maybe fixing the a/c. the filters were filthy.
Location: the location was great,right off the fwy.all kinds of things to do.go to the beach,sea world,zoo,.there's to many to name.
we left to go and have dinner at 6:30pm and when we arrived back at the hotel at 8:30pm we realized our a/c wasn't working,so we called the lobby to let them know and we were told they hadn't recieved any complaints from the previous guest.it was very warm this weekend so the room was pretty hot and all the a/c unit was doing was blowing warm air.we asked the gentleman if he had a fan ,but he said he had already given it out to someone else.we were on the bottom floor and had windows we could have opened,but did not feel comfortable in doing so,being that we were to women.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Clean, quiet, new amenities, excellent staff, cute

Posted Sep 19, 2015
My check in was easy and friendly. Responses to request were quickly met. The room was adorable. Appliances and amenities were new. Flat screen tv, many satellite options. Very clean! Great fragrance. Staff was very informative about the attractions to visit nearby. Price per night was great, best bang for your buck if you want an economic way of visiting San Diego. This Rodeway Inn hotel branch in San Diego exceeded my expectations. They delivered exactly what was advertised with a splash of very refreshing staff customer service.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly nice motel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Perfectly nice place. Very pleasant staff. Only a few minutes from the beach. I'll go back.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indio

SD Business Trip, just passing thru.....

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Not bad but not great either. No frills but they do a small breakfast which was nice. Overall I'd recommend it to someone in need of a place to crash for the night but probably not more than that.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to freeways and beach

Posted Aug 12, 2015
I was skeptical about this hotel at first based on previous reviews I had read, but was very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of my room, the renovations, and how quiet it was due to its proximity to the freeway and a main road. The breakfast wasn't fancy by any means but it did the job. Hotel staff was friendly and efficient and I had no problems whatsoever. I would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa vista

Just because it is near Sea World

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Sea world
I made last minute arrangements to stay at this hotel. The price online was one hundred and seventy six dollars per night. When checking into the motel/hotel, the women behind the counter tells me " a guy just left and will return so I will be right with you after he returns with...." waiting, waiting.... Strike one. Then she states the price was one hundred and twenty nine dollars per night, but we raise it to two hundred dollars a night for the weekend. Strike two. So, to the room we go and oh how special. The drawers were missing from the bedside dressers. It was literally one small room, barely big enough for the queen sized bed and a bathroom. STRIKE THREE ..you are out!! Breakfast was frozen waffles and not so great coffee. There were constant flies( yes plural) in the room which, I kid you not, we were unable to shoo out of the hotel due to them being right outside the door. This place was a nightmare and I say pay a little extra if you need to , so you can at least have peace of mind.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Az.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff was the greatest
Cons: not sure
Location: The location was great; close to the beach, downtown and restaurants
We had a very wonderdul experience. We did not want to come back to the heat in Az.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, room was very run down.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Will not be staying here again. Bathroom door didn't close all the way. Chipping paint.