Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty and outdated

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Close to everything, but dirty and outdated. Had to change rooms. Staff were a little impatient, with my concerns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from No. Cal

Convenient location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Certainly convenient. Rooms are dated but comfortable. Ask for a second floor corner room -- they are spacious compared to your typical room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to zoo and whale/dolphin cruises

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This an ok hotel. Very small room, beds comfortable and minimal breakfast. We would probably stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel showing its age.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Staff was friendly. Seems like okay place to stay. Room was okay but clearly the facility will need a facelift. It fit my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice location, nice staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Staff, lobby, parking were all nice. But the door handle fell off the bathroom door and the door jammed a lot. Room smelled strongly like cleaning chemicals (which is okay and expected thank god neither of us was sensitive to smells.) Location was great, Trader Joes 2 miles away and obviously park and beach right there. 5 minute uber ride to the bars. I was highly disappointed to see empty waterbottles and soda bottles thrown right into the landscaping though. Potted plants had 5+ just in there like a trash can and the cleaning staff just walked by and ignored it in several places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntley, IL

Good Location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: location, price
Cons: Up date, need to keep outside area cleaner.
Location: Near the beach.
I booked this motel based on the good reviews. I found it to be somewhat tired and rundown. The room was large, comfortable,everything worked in the bathroom, so that was good.. Carpet looked dirty, tv was not hooked up, did that ourselves. They had breakfast, mostly carbs, which is pretty standard. It was just ok for the price and for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Given only ONE pillow. Kindly asked for one more, he never brought it over. No customer service at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Handy to the freeway and Pacific Beach/Sea World.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Good place for the reasonable price. Dated, but with great beds and clean toilets/showers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR"

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
the staff was not very helpful when asking about the heater there was no heat only ac on the conditioner. I asked the staff to help me with the heat and they told me to turn up the temp and turn on the heat. there was no heat button and the temp was up to 86 and it was only blowing cold air out. I had to go to target and buy a portable heater, which the hotel should have to reimburse me for. instead of telling me what to do they should have showed me and put me in another room. my husband is in a wheel chair and all of the rooms have a 4-6 inch step to get into and out of the room. the vending machines had cob webs spider webs and spiders inside of them. they barely spoke or understood English., no disrespect intended. the area is not so great or safe. however, the surrounding areas are great for shopping and eating and beaches. you get what you pay for. the shower head was so rusty, and the top of the shower had mold and cracked pieces all over. the carpet in room was torn, the bed was ok but very old. the tv was in an odd spot and up way too high. the door jam was cracked and messed up. they have no drapes or curtains only pull string wooden blinds, in both room and bathroom. the room smelled clean but the cleaner stunk. there was a lot homeless people in the alley behind the bathrooms. the bathroom window was a full size window which anyone could have gotten into. like I said do your research you get what you pay for. this hotel is a big fat zero goodbye
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Back in the Good Old Days Motel Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The location and price.
Cons: It could use remodeling but then the lodging would not be economical. Although the property is very affordable it was also quiet without a transients.
Location: It would be possible to spend all day across the street enjoying Mission Bay Park. The entrance to SeaWorld is 2 miles off Route 5 to all attractions.
The Rodeway is located off the Freeway in a neighborhood with reasonably priced ethnic restaurants and fast food. It is across from an expansive park with beach area on Mission Bay. The cost is reasonable and parking was free. The "continental breakfast includes juice and coffee and English muffins and fruit. It is safe and the staff was pleasant and helpful. This is not a glamorous property but two nights here equals one night at many other "resort" hotels. No problem sleeping at this motel but if you are looking for upscale lodging then look somewhere else in San Diego.