Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

An overpriced motel. Feels old, smelly, not safe.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
It is an overpriced motel. Book a normal hotel chain if you want to spend 300+ per night or just a normal motel to spend less. Uber/Lift or rented car will help you to get everywhere. Everything is super close around San Jose. This place feels old, smelly, not safe (strangers are having drinks some evenings / nights/ mornings). It will be ok for $150, but not for $300+
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great local find in Stanford

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Despite previous reviews, the I found the staff to be lovely and helpful. I enjoy local, smaller, hotels, and this fit the bill. I loved the plants and my room was huge. My only qualm/word of caution is the strict cancellation policy and fee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodinville, WA

Welcome to the jungle

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Cons: Soundproofing, and asking guests not to drop bowling balls on the floor during the night.
Location: California Ave is a hip little street about .5 miles and an easy walk. Lots of nice eateries and tapas/wine bars.
Cool renovation of an older/traditional hotel. There are more plants in this place than a nursery, and has a really super cool outdoorsy vibe in the courtyards. Lots of crickets and is very unique. Super nice, spacious rooms with wood floors, nice bathrooms, decent beds. Only complaint is the soundproofing between rooms/floors which is not that great, however I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bonne localisation : proximité de Standford

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Localisation, chambre spacieuse, parking
Cons: Luminosité, chambres un peu vieillotes
Location: Proximimité de l'université de Standford, et centre ville de Palo Alto
Hotel correct de milieu de gamme ... moyennant un prix (très) élevé.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

A nice hotel close to Stanford

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Stanford
I was traveling to Stanford to business. This was an easy walk to campus, clean, and friendly.
2 out of 5
by Lorie

A last resort

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is bizarre to say the least. Old property. Cheap face lift. A million plants everywhere. No comfortable common areas. And the garage has this weird abandoned valet parking station, with red ropes and all. But there were never more than 10 cars in the garage and it was never staffed. Some people wrote in about the fantastic breakfast. If you like pork buns, fish soup and corn on the cob then you're in the right place but after day 1 I couldn't eat there anymore. I had also read that there was a shuttle to Stanford and nearby locations. Not true. Just a city bus stop a few blocks away. It's very close to Stanford, next door to Starbucks, and within 2 miles of great restaurants and shopping. But the hotel itself is so weird I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice vintage hotel w/ completely updated interior.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: Some of the finishes in the updated rooms were not 100%. There were gaps in the flooring, and sink faucet handles that were not properly aligned.
The hotel has a tropical feel with planters everywhere. Breakfast options were international, including dumplings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
People nice. Creepy with so many plants. Clean room. Comfortable beds. Good parking
4 out of 5
by Stacy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Dissapointed in hotel, seemed to be a spruced up budget hotel for a non-budget price. Rooms were large and breakfast was nice, but not worth over $300 a night. Would not return.