Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Michigan

Good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Across the street is the best mall in town with a Walmart, movie theatre, many dining options, and many stores - big mall. Also within walking distance are two of the best tourist activities - the Agawa Canyon train tour, and the Bush pilot museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rice Lake WI

Had issue with air quality

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was extremely nice. The location and parking are great.
Cons: Some renovations to make the rooms fresh again would do wonders.
Location: We loved the Soo Locks and the Valley Camp Museum Ship. Both are SO interesting. There are a lot of nice shops just across the street from the locks.
It appears that this hotel formerly allowed smoking, but when it went non-smoking, all they did was put a sign on the door. When we first walked into the room, there was a strong smell of disinfectant or air freshener. We left the bathroom fan on while we went out for dinner and that seemed to help. However, we both woke up during the night, feeling like we were coming down with colds, but as soon as we left the room, we were fine. So it was just that lingering smokiness in the room. The carpet and bedding and maybe air filters need to be replaced--no amount of air freshener is going to cover years of cigarette smoke.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marquette, MI

Old and dark

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pool was nice, staff was nice. That's it. It was dark, dank, the hot tub was dirty and the water was barely warmer than the pool. Trim missing in the room with exposed old glue stuff where it used to be. AC unit old without a thermostat, just warmer/colder and it shut off on its own for no reason. Breakfast average. I usually say something nice or nothing at all, but just wasn't pleased with the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jenison, MIchigan

Bridge Walk

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: The pillows
My son and grand kids spent Sunday night so we could to the bridge walk. My grand daughter found a Jack Daniels in the freezer. We gave it to my son. I will bring my own pillow the next time as the pillows are very flat. We enjoyed our stay there and the breakfast was very good. The grand kids enjoyed the pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but had some issues

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our reservations were screwed up. Also reserved a roll away bed when I booked the room and our first night there they didn't have one available so my son had to sleep on the floor. When i reserved a room I had no clue they didn't have an elevator and my oldest son is in a wheelchair. Staff was nice and helped out the best they could. Not sure I would go back unless there was no other places available in our price range. Could have been worse but could have been better. Clean so that was a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excuse our dust we are remodeling. Place is showing its age but seemed the facelift was underway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw Michigan

Hotel was fair.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: don't know
Location: Watched the big ships and the trains.
It was clean & nice. Breakfast was ok but not what I expected. Price was too high for what you get. Employees was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted Aug 18, 2017
They put us on the 2nd floor, without an elevator, with many rooms on the first floor empty. We had to ask for a receipt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Their free breakfast
Cons: see above comment
Location: Nice location. Close to downtown Sault Ste Marie and Canada.
When we checked in our room was HOT and the cover fir the AC was on the floor. I called to the front desk and they said "it should be ok to place back on". The AC did not work and when I asked if someone could look at it. I was told there was no one there and there are no more rooms available. Thankfully the window did open but it was very uncomfortable sleeping at night While my kids were swimming later on another guest had complained about kids jumping into the pool. The front desk clerk came into the pool and was using profanity towards the kids and complaining about having a bad day. Now my children are young and they didn't need to be hearing that. The hotel seems to be going through some renovations. So i can understand that things may not be perfect. However our room was dirty. The bottom of the tub was very dirty. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. the carpet was run down. At the end of the day the workers were outside sitting under a tree drinking and smoking right by an exit to the hotel. One worker was visibly intoxicated and was unable to even stand. He was yelling profanity and inappropriate comments to young girls that were near by. The next day someone did come to look at the AC and replaced it with a newer one. That night was much cooler. Overall this place was horrible and I will not be spending another night there every again. Our families that were there had a total of 6 rooms and we stayed 2 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Undergoing renovations & unruly guests...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
They were undergoing renovations, so everything had a layer of dust and grime on it. Chunks of concrete were still all around the hot tub when it was reopened... We had some very unruly guest staying above us, who partied until 1230am. A call down to the desk at 11:30, proved futile.