Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw Michigan

Hotel was fair.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: don't know
Location: Watched the big ships and the trains.
It was clean & nice. Breakfast was ok but not what I expected. Price was too high for what you get. Employees was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted Aug 18, 2017
They put us on the 2nd floor, without an elevator, with many rooms on the first floor empty. We had to ask for a receipt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Their free breakfast
Cons: see above comment
Location: Nice location. Close to downtown Sault Ste Marie and Canada.
When we checked in our room was HOT and the cover fir the AC was on the floor. I called to the front desk and they said "it should be ok to place back on". The AC did not work and when I asked if someone could look at it. I was told there was no one there and there are no more rooms available. Thankfully the window did open but it was very uncomfortable sleeping at night While my kids were swimming later on another guest had complained about kids jumping into the pool. The front desk clerk came into the pool and was using profanity towards the kids and complaining about having a bad day. Now my children are young and they didn't need to be hearing that. The hotel seems to be going through some renovations. So i can understand that things may not be perfect. However our room was dirty. The bottom of the tub was very dirty. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. the carpet was run down. At the end of the day the workers were outside sitting under a tree drinking and smoking right by an exit to the hotel. One worker was visibly intoxicated and was unable to even stand. He was yelling profanity and inappropriate comments to young girls that were near by. The next day someone did come to look at the AC and replaced it with a newer one. That night was much cooler. Overall this place was horrible and I will not be spending another night there every again. Our families that were there had a total of 6 rooms and we stayed 2 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Undergoing renovations & unruly guests...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
They were undergoing renovations, so everything had a layer of dust and grime on it. Chunks of concrete were still all around the hot tub when it was reopened... We had some very unruly guest staying above us, who partied until 1230am. A call down to the desk at 11:30, proved futile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cass City, MI

Not what we expected

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The motel had; a cold pool and dirty hottub, room wasn't very good-i.e. Needed to be updated, musty smell in it and halls, breakfast had poor/limited choices, not what was expected. But to their credit they said they were updating rooms. But during summer vacations???
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Guest relations Manager, Hotel Management
Unoforuanly the remodel is a year long project. We are working our hardest to keep the mess and dust down to a minimum during the busy times of the week. That way we can offer you our guest the best stay at our property.
3 out of 5
by April

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by Rodney

Ready to go back

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great bowling weekend .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us during your stay. We shall see you again next time, Happy Bowling
5 out of 5
by Candance

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Danielle

No heat and really dirty pool

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The people that worked there were nice but the hotel was unsatisfactory. The first room we stayed in the heat did not work and when we told the desk staff the next morning, they told us that they thought they had a problem with that room the week before. Why would you not check it before giving the room away. Most importantly though was the pool and hot tub were so dirty I could not shower fast enough afterwards. Also, not that it was a big deal to me, there was garbage in one of the dresser drawers and writing in the note pad that gets left on the table. The second bed in the room was broken or something because when you say in one side the whole thing would tip, I think if you were to sit down to fast it would flip over.
2 out of 5
by Jenny

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The first room that they gave us was under construction the second room they gave us the bathroom was dirty and there was trash in the trashcan