Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thunderbay ontario canada

High above the coast above the village of Amalfi

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Five ladies for five days ! Wonderful experience in Pontone - the bus rides up th steep hills were thrilling , the scenery stunning and the stairs down into Amalfi were safe and well done . We had two lovely restaurants up here to choose from. We used the buses to get back up to L'Antico at the end of the day though many walked the stairs up and down . Anna, our hostess, showed much concern for our needs and was very good with the full breakfasts - homemade juices, baking , and yogurt - superlative coffee too ! We were initially disappointed as there was no pool as advertised but we swam in the sea and enjoyed many other activities including a ferry ride to Positano ! Excellent accommodations and wonderful hostess ! Go there for an authentic stay not a generic hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing view and traditional ambiance

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The stay at this little hotel was just amazing! I loved the simple but delicious breakfast and the staff was super helpful whenever I had questions or needed help/advice. Keep in mind that buses do not frequently drive from this location in this particular village. There is a shuttle (about 1.50 €) that stops about 5 times a day, but other than that you will need to prepare for taking the cab home if you return in the evenings. And those are costly and will be anywhere between 35-60€! Even though I highly recommend this hotel for its charm and comfort, the cab drives where an added cost, that definitely need to be added to your trip, if considering to stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok but access is an issue

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The hotel was very close to the tiny town square where the locals gathered in the evening and we enjoyed being part of that. Shower was good.
Cons: Access to the internet could be improved as there was no signal in the room, and our own preference is to not sleep in a loft bed as it was very hot.
Location: The local restaurant was excellent and had a lovely family feel about it. Given, the distance to Amalfi, this was a godsend.
The hotel itself is ok, however without a car the hotel is difficult to get to. Although only 2.2kms from Amalfi, it is almost all uphill with hundreds of steps (one estimate from a local was 900). The bus to Pontone, the closest town, is sporadic, doesn't appear to adhere to a timetable and even the locals can't agree what times it runs on Sundays. As for the taxis, the requested amout on Saturday evening for the 5km drive was obscene, only to become more obscene on the Sunday when the price for the same drive was an additional 30%. Because of the poor bus service, the taxis are holding people to ransom, and the losers will be the B&Bs further up the mountain. That would be a shame.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Cons: Wifi to be working and more towels to be available.
Location: If you're up for the trek, take the plentiful steps down to Amalfi which the journey provides many beautiful views of this area of Italy.
This is set in a charming area of the town Scala. The room was clean and comfortable with many pros. Only cons were the Wifi was down during our one night stay and there weren't enough towels available for the five us staying in the room (all five of us ended up having to share two towels). Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. They provided a great and plentiful breakfast and the hotel is set in an old church which makes this hotel even more charming.
5 out of 5
by sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

A beautiful gem with incredible view

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Fridge Hot water for tea Room with view Sun deck with chairs and a hammock Wifi area
Location: Lots of hiking, nature, history Swim at beach not far
Once i finally found it, it was worth all the effort. I was greeted with the best fresh lemon water in a pitcher to quench my thirst! Beautiful, comfortable, lovely staff, and big window with wonderful view fromup above in Pontone village. Appreciated the nice tile washroom, the refridgerator, and the kitchen in which i could boil water for my tea. Fresh fruit for breakfast every day a delight!
5 out of 5
by behshid from Manchester

Lovely place

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at L'Antico Episcopio for 10 nights, the room was very clean, comfortable and had a lovely view. The hotel was clean, breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. Anna was charming and very helpful. If you don't have a car you have to rely on public transport unless you are prepared to negotiate 1000 steps from Amalfi to get to Pontone. The buses are regular but not all of them go to Pontone, which means a 15 minute walk from the stop to the hotel (uphill)!!! Over all a fantastic place to stay. There are a couple of restaurants yards away which are very good too.
4 out of 5
by Lauren from Naples, Italy

great little B&B!

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Room and hotel were very clean! Modern accommodations. Great breakfast included, staff was very friendly, and the resident dogs were nice too! Not many restaurant choices in area, but prices were better than Amalfi. I would stay at this B&B again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to get to but worth it once you're there

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels
A bit of a walk up some stairs but the view and the service were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For something off the beaten paths

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Lovely B&B if you are looking for something far from the commercial Amalfi area. Hard to find at first but once we figured out our way around the Amalfi, Pontone area, and have figured out how to use the public transit and shuttles, it was very pleasant. The breakeast served was excellent, rooms are clean and staff very friendly. A couple of convenient excellent restaurants near by with a friendly bar close by to get our daily coffee and refreshments.