Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Frederick

Not bad. Fantastic location for price.

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
The location was fantastic. Near lots of food and shopping, and very very close to three major metro lines. The breakfast was high quality, but finding one of the employees to cook your hot order was sometimes not easy. The rooms were clean but difficult to get in and out of (mine had a huge step up in front of it) the communal stairwell was very dirty and had smokers in it like 24-7. The bathroom was clean and modern but the shower was a terrifying experience in rapidly changing water temperatures. Overall not bad, but not great. Good for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Sep 21, 2016
My guests and I had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Though on the outside, it does not look nice, as it is inside a huge building with an old-small-sized elevator, but we were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the actual lobby area of the hotel and to our room. It is cozy, bright, clean and has a nice ambience to it. The receptionist is very pleasant and welcoming and speaks English. The location of the hotel is very convenient, ie within walking distance to the metro, cafes, Hessburger, and also supermarket. Not to mention also within walking distance to the minibus station and there is a Coffee House just next to the hotel building. Will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and will stay there again on my next St.Petersburg visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it a joint bulding with lot of resedent apparmtnet

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: nice stuff and friendly front desk
Cons: must change the carpet in some rooms ,and clean the stairs
Location: very bad location nobody could find ,, no singe with the hotel name
when you take the stairs to the hotel you smell the urine all the way ,, room service bad never changed the towels for three days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly

Posted Aug 3, 2016
There was a sewer problem while we were there and the rooms smelled. The hotel showed us a room that was not smelly on check-in but the other rooms were so bad that we ended up not staying there. The staff was understanding and did not charge us a cancellation fee.
1 out of 5
by wael from Boca Raton

Almost Hostel fake photos

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
no blinds on room window, no A/C in room, trash breakfast, smelly room. The place is apartment divided into rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, California

No security. Don't leave any stuff in your room

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: it would be better to close the hotel.
Last night I was staying at the hotel my macbook pro and kindle has been stolen from the room. I was out for an hour. Somebody just opened my room with a key, took all valuables he could find, closed the door with the key. Obviously this person is related to the hotel staff. After reporting about the issue to local police I was answering stupid repeating questions for 4-5 hours. Next day I had a 18-hour flight without my laptop or ebook. The room itself equipped with 2 twin beds instead of one queen. Mattresses are so old that you can feel every spring. Shower cabin doors broken. Shower holder broken. TV remote doesn't work. One light bulb doesn't work, another makes high pitch noise. Floor, curtains, blanket, everything is smoked through. Despite I asked for non-smoking room. Hotel staff is unfriendly.
1 out of 5
by Madeleine1950

This place is a dump

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Orbitz
Awful and scary entrance, filthy hallway with crumbling concrete stairs, ancient and unsafe two person elevator. We walked to the 4th floor every time we came. In. No attempt at safety. Room was tiny, worn and run down with chipped furniture and an ancient TV. There were.no lamps to read by and no AC, it was hot while we were there and it was impossible to sleep, we just sweated all night. There was a ineffective floor fan which did very little. I wouldn't stay here again if you payed me.
1 out of 5
by Madeleine1950

Hotel awful

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Orbitz
Firstly, the photo you show on your website is not of the hotel. The Comfitel Demidov was an absolute dump, we were shocked when we saw it. If you want photos I can supply them. The outside is shocking in appearance as is the inside. The room and bathroom were cleanish but the room itself was very small, worn and tired looking with no lamps to read by. It was hot while we were there and there is no AC in the building. We lay awake at night sweating. I do not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by traveller from london

Wasn't too bad

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed there couple of nights. Was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Best location for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: TV was the tiniest I've ever seen.
Location: Walking distance to everything.
Right in the heart of the city with walking distance to almost everything you have on your travel list. Breakfast is included and has plenty of food to choose from. Staff is sweet and helpful. While the furniture is not of the newest, the room itself is big, including the bathroom. Ceilings are huge making the room appear even bigger. The windows face the Griboedov Canal. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and come back another time.