Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Russian visitor

Horrible Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2010 on Orbitz
Everything was horrible, food was disgusting and the same every day. The room didn't even have an iron. It's basically just a bed and a roof over your head.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anonymous

Good hotel for overnight stay.

Posted Sep 13, 2010 on Orbitz
It was difficult to request transporation service to the hotel from airport. I read some reviews that it is included in the reservation, but I guess they changed that. I spoke with hotel representative from both Sham Suites and Mirabel with conflicting answers whether or not they can send a private car to airport to take us to the hotel as well as various prices quotes from free to 90 EGP for private car pick up. The taxis at the airport all tried to rip us off by asking for 200 EGP. We finally asked Mirabel Resort (sister resort) to send the private car because Sham Suites reps kept telling us to take a taxi. We paid 100 EGP for the private car that the Mirabel Resort sent. The staff at Shams was quite polite and nice during our hotel stay otherwise. We spent majority of our day at the Mirabel Resort pools and the resort's private beach on the Red Sea. It was very nice to have access to their amenities, but then enjoy the quiet relaxation back in our spacious family room (1 queen, 2 singles) at Sham Suites. Sham Suites was a nice hotel and nicely located close to the Mirabel Resort and was worth the cost that I paid. It even had a nice smaller pool and food at the hotel. I hope they can help provide car service when needed because it is not close to the airport or to downtown Sharm el Shiekh. Overall I had a pleasant stay with my friends and good value for the price I paid for the room at Sham Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

small friendly hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2010
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The studio suites have a large fridge and a small kitchen which is very useful. The access to the Mirabel is good as this provides access to the beach (although it takes about fifteen minutes to walk to the hotel and reach the beach.) The bed and breakfast option is also useful as you can eat in the restaurants in the Mirabel 5* if you wish. Taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced. Since it is a 3* hotel it would be unreasonable to expect 5* standards but this hotel provides good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonymous

Sharm Suites

Posted Aug 10, 2010 on Orbitz
Staff was the best. Very friendly and helpful. None of the hard sell salesmen you will find in the other resorts. Chef went out of his way to provide the best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel "Near" Sharm - in still building "resort"

Posted Jul 15, 2010 on Hotels
Very cheap, but definately not "cheerfull" resort style hotel in middle of unfinished complex. When up and running will be great for family wanting sun and pool. For me, as it had no real eating or drinking facilities, and no bottled water freely available, it was a disaster. Turned out to be some 30km from Naama, where i needed to be, so i left and went elsewhere. Also they had no cash facilities and as i dont use cards or run a tab it was very dry!! In the future "Yes", at the moment "No"!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

solymar shams sharm elshaikh

Posted May 31, 2010 on Hotels
most gust in this hotel are emplyee of the travel compnys very few gust are travelers ,food same almost every day ,i have to call house keeper to change cover of my bad on my frist day ,counter top in the kitchen was very dirty and have water milon seed from the exgust ,bathroom wall was dirty need to be clean up and hallway tothe rooms need more clean over all was very good front disk and mgr of the hotel they try to ther best
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Only Hotel in the Universe Without Internet

Posted Apr 24, 2010
I've read the previous reviews and, ironically, both sides are accurate. First, it's barely a step up from a Motel 6 (American budget chain). I call it Motel 6.5. It's probably the last hotel in the developed world without any Internet access at all. If that's completely unimportant to you, this place is OK. On the plus side, the place is clean and the staff is friendly. One might note that with only 10 or 15 guests in the entire place, the staff has plenty of time to be friendly. However, despite being friendly, they are not helpful with local knowledge. For example, they will not tell you about the shuttle bus that runs along the highway or what you should pay for a ride. They will not tell you about local tourism sites or tour operators. In short, the staff appears to know nothing of the area (even though they obviously must know these things.) The Mirabel Hotel complex that they have a facilities-sharing arrangement with is, as advertised, a mere 5-minute walk down the highway. It is a true 4- or 5-star hotel and the beach and pool facilities are excellent. But it is very expensive ($15 US for a half hour of Internet time, $3 for a bottle of water) and filled with married couples and children. The lounge is strictly Holiday Inn and the "disco" is...well...lame. And the staff are generally snooty and unhelpful. If the hotel could offer WiFi Internet and instruct the staff on how to help guests find their way around, it would be OK. My overall verdict: avoid it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from bristol

will return next year

Posted Feb 17, 2010
everything was as expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Poole, Dorset

Watch out for hidden extras

Posted Feb 11, 2010
Sol Y Mar Sham Suites was a nice hotel - the staff were very friendly and always on hand to help - the rooms were clean and comfortable - the food was okay, but my criticism of it - one of the other residents unfortunately broke the key to his room ( broke in the lock) and they charged him a large amount of money - far above the going rate for Egypt and way above for this country, also the late stay was expensive - seeing as the hotel was empty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't recommend Sharm el Cheik

Posted Feb 10, 2010
Its one big building site, with litter and waste sites, without character! Strange atmosphere, between locals and tourists.