Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Friendly

Posted May 15, 2018
Really enjoyed,but you informed the hotel my card was refused which was inbarising.Why you did this I am not sure.Will think again about booking through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Beautiful old house in a quiet setting.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The warmth and hospitality received and the fantastic food. The exclusiveness of staying in a very small and elegant hotel.
Location: Near to the centre of Shepton Mallet on a quiet road, 30 minutes away from Bath and Glastonbury so ideally suited for sightseeing around the area.
We stayed for two nights and this was our 2nd visit having stayed 2 years previously. The hospitality shown is us was amazing, the owners Martin and Leonard welcoming us back. It felt like we'd never left. The staff are just great and you feel like you're amongst friends instead of being a nameless guest like in a normal hotel. The food was simply fantastic - lamb shanks to die for! Breakfast was perfectly cooked and fuelled us for the day. We stayed in the 4 poster bedroom at the back of the house and found this to be comfortable. More like a suite than just a room with a nice view over the garden. Bowlish House is a very old house so everything you may expect of one - creaky floorboards, sloping floors and strange shape doorways just add to the charm of the place. If you want the blandness and facelessness then stay in a chain hotel. If you want the warmth and charm of a home environment then this is for you. We would happily return to Bowlish House!
5 out of 5
by Kathryn

Wonderful weekend.

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great weekend. Room was comfortable and well equipped. Restaurant was wonderful. Staff helpful and knowledgeable about food and wine. Nothing was too much trouble. Local area was interesting and fun. Wells market on Saturday morning is well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very interesting hotel. I have no hesitation in r

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Good linedmin dinning room and bedroom and what food,we had was good
Location: I would on,y stay there en route
We. Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and will probably,return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disapointment

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good
Cons: Someone on check in with people skills.
i was made to feel unwelcome when i checked in, there was no bar or restaurant available. TV remote was very dirty and had to clean it before i used it, as was the telephone in the room but i did not clean that as i was not going to be using it. every floorboard in the room creaked. It was fortunate i was the only guest as the noise from people walking in the other rooms would have been annoying. The water made a noise which would have woken the dead.
4 out of 5
by Anne

Charm and character

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
A comfortable stay in a beautiful old house, full of character. The evening meal was delicious and beautifully presented, as was the breakfast (with a good, strong pot of tea!). A good base for visiting the area. Be prepared for all the quirkiness of such an old house - creaky floors, well-worn doors and a maze of rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Character Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: We were able to enjoy a couple of peaceful days in pleasant surroundings.
We very much enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. The hotel has bags of character, the room was very clean and well presented. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fading English Glory

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel is a beautiful old country house with notable "pedigree" of previous owners. It's set back from a fairly busy road but traffic noise is low. The owners/managers are charming and made me feel very welcome. You have very nice lounge and bar areas at the front of the house that sadly I had no time to use, but if you're staying in the area will make your stay a relaxed one. The restaurant at the back of the house overlooking a wonderful garden and beautifully sunny and feels very relaxed. The bedroom at the back of the house and up the curved staircase was spacious with a comfortable four-poster bed and a perfectly acceptable ensuite bathroom. If you're a night owl your room key also has a front door key for you to return late at night.
Cons: "Fading English Glory" describes the slightly decayed feeling of the hotel. Little things you notice like the towel rail coming away from the wall, the stain glass window with a broken pane, the dead bird on the flat roof that had not been removed. As the managers do not actually own the building they face the challenge of the building owner who seems not to want to spend money on restoring and keeping it in top condition (later confirmed by two local residents). The floor in my bedroom creaked a lot. I put this down to old age - after all we would all creak a little if we were the age of the house...
Location: The Mendips are an area of hills to the south of Bath and close to Glastonbury with its ancient history and its famous music festival.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel full of charm with great food

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is wonderful for it's charming character and the rear garden. The food is excellent although you have to be patient as the chef takes great care over all meals, including the breakfast. The house is 18th Century and crammed full of character and charm. Please excuse the warped and creaky floorboards on the first floor as the charm of this house more than makes up for the occasional sound of someone walking around on the floor above. Sadly the town of Shepton Mallet was a disappointment without any of the charm of other towns in this area. Having said that, this hotel makes a great base for touring the area and there is space for parking six cars. Although the hotel fronts a main road there was not a lot of road noise even with our windows wide open on the hot nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice surprise

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We needed an overnight urgently because we were going to a party too far away from home to drive all the way back. Shelton Mallet is not many people's idea of a glamorous destination so Bowlish House was a pleasant surprise. Only oddity was the constant sound of walking-about above our ceiling. It's an old house, so maybe ghosts...But service and presentation attractive and impeccable, and great breakfast.