Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Character Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: We were able to enjoy a couple of peaceful days in pleasant surroundings.
We very much enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. The hotel has bags of character, the room was very clean and well presented. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fading English Glory

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel is a beautiful old country house with notable "pedigree" of previous owners. It's set back from a fairly busy road but traffic noise is low. The owners/managers are charming and made me feel very welcome. You have very nice lounge and bar areas at the front of the house that sadly I had no time to use, but if you're staying in the area will make your stay a relaxed one. The restaurant at the back of the house overlooking a wonderful garden and beautifully sunny and feels very relaxed. The bedroom at the back of the house and up the curved staircase was spacious with a comfortable four-poster bed and a perfectly acceptable ensuite bathroom. If you're a night owl your room key also has a front door key for you to return late at night.
Cons: "Fading English Glory" describes the slightly decayed feeling of the hotel. Little things you notice like the towel rail coming away from the wall, the stain glass window with a broken pane, the dead bird on the flat roof that had not been removed. As the managers do not actually own the building they face the challenge of the building owner who seems not to want to spend money on restoring and keeping it in top condition (later confirmed by two local residents). The floor in my bedroom creaked a lot. I put this down to old age - after all we would all creak a little if we were the age of the house...
Location: The Mendips are an area of hills to the south of Bath and close to Glastonbury with its ancient history and its famous music festival.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel full of charm with great food

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is wonderful for it's charming character and the rear garden. The food is excellent although you have to be patient as the chef takes great care over all meals, including the breakfast. The house is 18th Century and crammed full of character and charm. Please excuse the warped and creaky floorboards on the first floor as the charm of this house more than makes up for the occasional sound of someone walking around on the floor above. Sadly the town of Shepton Mallet was a disappointment without any of the charm of other towns in this area. Having said that, this hotel makes a great base for touring the area and there is space for parking six cars. Although the hotel fronts a main road there was not a lot of road noise even with our windows wide open on the hot nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice surprise

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We needed an overnight urgently because we were going to a party too far away from home to drive all the way back. Shelton Mallet is not many people's idea of a glamorous destination so Bowlish House was a pleasant surprise. Only oddity was the constant sound of walking-about above our ceiling. It's an old house, so maybe ghosts...But service and presentation attractive and impeccable, and great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great B&B in Old Georgian House

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Positives: very pleasant ambiance; bar and restaurant are excellent; breakfast was formal but good; location is good for driving around the area.
Cons: If you're not into old houses, then might not appreciate the place as much as we did.
Location: We visited Glastonbury Abbey and some nearby churches. Wells Cathedral was also impressive.
We spent a weekend in this B&B in mid-March. Check-in was straight forward. The room we got was the same as we'd booked (doesn't always happen at B&Bs), a king size bed in a relatively spacious room with it's own bath. The floors are creaky and uneven, and that's normal in a house of this age. Decoration was tasteful and comfortable. Amenities and coffee were included in the room. We had dinner in the small restaurant on the ground floor. Beware you have to let them know ahead of time that you'd like to stay for dinner. The meal was really very good and the surroundings quite pleasant. Bed was quite comfortable. There was minimal noise from adjacent rooms or the street. Breakfast was also quite good. My friend had the standard English breakfast while I had eggs and smoked salmon. Both were well prepared. Overall, a very pleasant stay. I'd recommend to anyone considering a B&B in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Restaurant was closed

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
The restaurant is not open on a Sunday or Monday night. This was not indicated on any of the prior information received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely property very convenient for Glastonbury

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Made to feel very welcome, it's a lovely house, nice room, very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby, but unfortunately not chic

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
I had paid in advance for a 2-night stay, and ended up staying less than 2 hours. The ample parking as described was anything but, and the whole décor of the house had a shabby look. We fully understood that the house was nearly 300 years old, but keeping up maintenance on any house whatever the age is vital - oh what a lick of paint would have done for the place!! Our room (4-poster at the rear) was dimly lit with hardly any storage for clothing. The owner thought it amusing to demonstrate opening/closing the sash windows because the chord had been "broken by the previous occupant" although it did look as though it had been like that for years. He used a piece of wood to prise it open, then used the same piece of wood to wedge it open "for a couple of inches, or stand it on it's end if you want it open wider!!" Tiles were loose/falling off in the bathroom and the bathroom itself looked to be period 70's - how the establishment can place signs up declaring the property to be rates 4* is beyond me - we made our excuses and left!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: There should be a full shower curtain or perhaps instructions on how not to get water all over the floor when showering.
Location: We didn't spend enough time in that area to see what was around. It was just a stop on our way.
Old hotel with creeky floors, but that was ok, added charm. Staff was not very informative and almost a bit distant. Room was nice size and bed was comfortable but the room is old. Internet was extremely slow which we understand they are trying to rectify. Hotel dining was very nice although it would have been nice to have music playing in the dining room. Maybe they did? I can't remember it was so quiet. Breakfast was nice and in the light we could see that they have a lovely garden out in the back. Location is strange as it's really not by anything. There is a small shopping center near by though for incidentials. We were given information on some historic sites which was helpful.