Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely property very convenient for Glastonbury

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Made to feel very welcome, it's a lovely house, nice room, very comfortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Shabby, but unfortunately not chic

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
I had paid in advance for a 2-night stay, and ended up staying less than 2 hours. The ample parking as described was anything but, and the whole décor of the house had a shabby look. We fully understood that the house was nearly 300 years old, but keeping up maintenance on any house whatever the age is vital - oh what a lick of paint would have done for the place!! Our room (4-poster at the rear) was dimly lit with hardly any storage for clothing. The owner thought it amusing to demonstrate opening/closing the sash windows because the chord had been "broken by the previous occupant" although it did look as though it had been like that for years. He used a piece of wood to prise it open, then used the same piece of wood to wedge it open "for a couple of inches, or stand it on it's end if you want it open wider!!" Tiles were loose/falling off in the bathroom and the bathroom itself looked to be period 70's - how the establishment can place signs up declaring the property to be rates 4* is beyond me - we made our excuses and left!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: There should be a full shower curtain or perhaps instructions on how not to get water all over the floor when showering.
Location: We didn't spend enough time in that area to see what was around. It was just a stop on our way.
Old hotel with creeky floors, but that was ok, added charm. Staff was not very informative and almost a bit distant. Room was nice size and bed was comfortable but the room is old. Internet was extremely slow which we understand they are trying to rectify. Hotel dining was very nice although it would have been nice to have music playing in the dining room. Maybe they did? I can't remember it was so quiet. Breakfast was nice and in the light we could see that they have a lovely garden out in the back. Location is strange as it's really not by anything. There is a small shopping center near by though for incidentials. We were given information on some historic sites which was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing Georgian experience

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Elegant, stylish feel and decor.
Cons: Floorboards in the room above were a bit creaky. But then it's an older property so can't really complain. 9pm check-in limit is earlier than some.
Location: Lots to do locally, though would need a car to maximise the potential.
Friendly, stylish property with helpful staff on hand. Good breakfast, comfy bed and clean bathroom. Lovely gardens though we weren.t there long enough to enjoy these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london england

Stylish hotel in the Mendip Hills

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Impressive facade and delightful English interior. A beautiful country home tastefully furnished. A delightful place to stay and I have aleady recommended this howl to friends. My room was very clean and the view over the garden was stunning. Super big TV and comfy chairs ! Superb hot breakfasts and home made granola and marmalade . Lovely friendly staff as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, lots of character

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It's character
Cons: We would have liked a little more potato and veg with our meal but this is not a complaint.
Location: The location is good and not too far from Wells.
Our stay at the Bowlish Hotel was a very good experience. If you want an ultra modern hotel this is not for you. We enjoyed the creaky floorboards and the great character it offered. We had dinner there the night we stayed in the lovely dining room overlooking the well tended gardens. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and when we go back to that area we will be staying at the Bowlish.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Lovely open fires that were lit in the evening. Some effort was made to provide me with something gluten-free to eat. The garden was very pretty.
Cons: A breakfast menu should be provided, so you can choose what you want. I was offered some things, and my husband got offered different things to me.
Location: We found the most amazing vegetarian only cafe in Cheddar village called The Sitting Room. Great value, filling and wholesome food. Wells was nice.
The hotel is on a fairly busy road. The curtains in room 1 don't close properly, so the lights from oncoming traffic shine in through the gaps and reflect in the mirror opposite, meaning you can't get any darkness in the room. The walls are extremely thin and you can clearly hear conversations in other rooms. The floorboards are extremely creaky and uneven. The bathroom door had a huge gap underneath and didn't close. We didn't find the bed comfortable, and got very little sleep. In fairness we are probably spoilt at home with our memory foam mattress. The pillows were too soft with no support at all. I had a great shower the next morning, but when my husband got in, the people in the room next to us turned on their shower. My husband's water completely stopped coming out, but luckily he hadn't shampooed his hair and had just about got the shower gel off his body. There was a small fridge on a table, but it was quite noisy, so I switched it off overnight and turned it back on in the morning. There were gaps all around the door where you could see through. The kettle wasn't big enough to make 2 drinks at once, and the lead was too short to reach the socket properly. I was pleased to be able to get some gluten-free toast for breakfast, and some gluten-free cereal. The homemade marmalade was nice, but I prefer savoury things. It would have been nice to have been offered something hot, even if it was only some baked beans or scrambled egg to go on my toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good stay, excellent dinner

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, excellent restaurant. Personal feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jay from Newbury

One night stop over in pleasant quirky hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Used this hotel for a one night stay. Arrived in the evening and were courteously greeted. It was dark but the hotel was pleasant on the outide and welcoming on the inside. Open fires lit in the bar and lounge. The room was spacious, along with a generously sized bathroom. Obviously an old building with its period quirks - placing a glass of drink on the table had it slipping away due to the sloping floor! There is a semi-main road outside the hotel but not enough traffic to generate much noise, I certainly slept through it. The hotel is probably a 2 minute drive from Shepton Mallet town centre. This would translate to around a 10 minute walk to the town. There is a pub opposite the hotel which is worth a visit, had real ales on tap but I won't review the pub! We didn't eat in the hotel so can't commend on the evening meals. Positives + clean + polite staff + good quality breakfast with homemade breads/marmalade (a menu listing options would be good) + spacious room + comfortable bed Minor negatives - mini bar consisted of a small fridge in room that was perched on a table. To be honest this probably isn't necessary and would remove the noise of the fridge from the room (it wasn't that loud though). Also the drink prices were what I would consider on the high side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Weston-super-Mare

Wonderful place

Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed overnight with evening meal. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Yes, there were a few draughts and creaky floors but that just added to the character of the place. The house and gardens are beautiful, the restaurant, food and service delightful. Thank you.