Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Top of the tree in hospitality & experience

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: so special, amazing hosts
Location: amazing views, feel so safe and relaxing
Top of the tree in hospitality, kindness, and architectural beauty Victoria and Jack were incredibly flexible and generous with us. Our family of 4 arrived too late at night to travel from the airport to Upolu, and Jack allowed us to move our reservation to another night at no extra cost. Jack gave us his own cell phone to use data when the wireless internet was out due to the storm, Victoria dried our clothes that got soaked from the storm, and they even took us to town in the midst of a storm to get a rental car, after our driver bailed out. Jack designed and engineered the treehouses and built it with his son using their own hands, with almost no outside help. The treehouse is a work of art! Especially the shower that butts against a gorgeous part of the tree. This is a celebration of nature and of the surrounding view of plantations, jungle and the south bay. We took both tree houses, so that our son and daughter wouldn't need to share a bed, so we got to enjoy both the star gazing experience (at the one bedroom treehouse) and the magical two story unit (where the room upstairs is accessed by a ladder). Victoria's and Anna's home cooked dinner and breakfast were generously sized and delicious! I think between the four of us we tried everything on the menu and loved EVERYTHING. The best part of our stay was sitting on the veranda of their home and listening to Jack's stories. Both him and Victoria are tremendously friendly, and Jack's rich life experience, includin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury treehouse

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Great experience living in a luxurious treehouse. Jack and Victoria were wonderful hosts and showed me around the area. It is out of the way but the views, and peacefulness are worth it. Great food as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Enchanted faraway tree

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Like living a childhood dream!
Cons: Wifi was only available in the restaurant/reception area which was no trouble for us but may be helpful for others to know.
Location: We visited the ocean trench, nearby waterfalls, the cultural centre, and Taufua beach resort (who welcome day visitors if you buy lunch and a drink).
The hardest part about visiting Lupe Sina was having to leave. How I wish I could have stayed in our perfect little treehouse, nestled in the branches of a 300 year old banyan tree, with forests and skies and oceans to the horizon. Victoria and Jack were warm and gracious hosts. The tree houses are an easy drive from many of Samoa's best attractions, and the air in the highlands was a pleasant few degrees cooler than the coast.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Pago Pago

Beautiful!

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was absolutely perfect! Jack could not have been more friendly and accommodating. I cannot even begin to describe how beautiful the tree houses are... It was like sleeping in a luxury version of some long forgotten childhood dream.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

An absolutely terrible stay

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: It did have magnificent views.
Cons: The owner is doing a great job of destroying the business with his drunkenness and fighting. The room was very small.
Location: Very isolated with no security. There is a waterfall you can take a taxi too.
When we had dinner at the 'restaurant' (ie, deck area incorporated into the main house) we were subjected to an extremely intoxicated owner who was fighting, yelling, smashing apart the house. We did not get the dinner as Jack flung this across the kitchen smashing it into the wall. We excused ourselves extremely quickly but the fighting, yelling, dog barking and destroying of the house continued for many hours into the night - we know as we stayed awake most of the night fearing what was going on in the house and expecting the police to turn up. We were literally trapped at the treehouse as the property is so isolated, we did not have a hire car and the only way we could have called a taxi was to go back to the main house and use the telephone - and we were NOT going to go back to the main house, no way!! So we just had to stay there and be subjected to this on going fighting, wishing we were somewhere else. I do not recommend you stay at this place if: - you are travelling with children - you are a solo travelling female - you do not have your own transport to enable you to get out - you do not have your own method of telecommunication. For a full encounter of our experience, please refer to Trip Advisor, but until management changes, I recommend that you do not stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Dare to dream! Jack did and the result is amazing

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The unique nature of the Treesort and the rainforest of which it is a part.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Local villages are nearby as well as some lovely beaches. The south of the island is much less built up than the north.
We love to stay at and in unique locations and got all we could hope for at Lupe Sina Treesort. Carol and Jack are perfect hosts and have created a truly unique guest experience with the 2 tree houses that Jack has meticulously built. The design of each unique treehouse is amazing and a testament to Jack's skills as a designer and builder of very special buildings. They are very different from each other and both are remarkable. You should try to stay on both as we did and you double the pleasure. Carol's skills as a hostess are as commendable as Jack as a builder. Each compliments the other and Jack will also play waiter from time to time. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by Tavita from Perth WA

Sea and Forest in One

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
This treesort is beyond and above our expectation in overall. It caught our attention and our imagination especially the septic and water system built around these trees. We thoroughly checked for leaks when it rains but found none (well done Jack).The place is soooo comfort, quiet and peaceful. It really suited tired, exhausted semiretired hard working couple who really needed a well earned rest like us.( and we definitely got it ... we woke up so refreshed) Thank you so much Carol and Jack for your friendly hospitality You are one of the friends that we would keep and have for the rest of our lives.. God protects and bless you as part of Samoan people and its culture.
5 out of 5
by Adrian from Melbourne

Faultless and the highlight of our trip to Samoa

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
This was truly a completely unique experience as there is nothing like Lupe Sina anywhere. Anyone going to Samoa should treat themselves to at least one night in one of the two treehouses. Apart from the treehouses themselves which include all the facilities and were faultless for cleanliness and attention to detail, Jack and Carol could not do enough to make our stay the most memorable and enjoyable part of our Samoan holiday. The food overall was wonderful and the Moon fish that Carol prepared was to die for. My wife and I could not recommend Lupe Sina more highly and we will with out question be staying there again when we return to Samoa later this year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ian from Ireland

A Must See for Anyone Traveling to Samoa

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed here for 3 nights in May and was lucky enough to stay in both treehouses. For anyone planning on seeing Samoa, Treesort is a place you simply must stay at. We stayed in several resorts throughout our holiday and this one is still the one that we have the fondest memories of. The location is central to everything, the views are beautiful both in the morning and at night, the owners are amazing people and Carol's cooking is incredible. This was by far the highlight of our Samoan trip and an experience we won't forget anytime soon. Check it out!