Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Don't be put off by first impressions...

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The staff Its location Its cleanliness
Cons: Room furnishings Sound proofing Move the sink to the en-suite area Have a fridge as standard (most other hotels do)
Location: Busy area. Lots of traffic. Very close to a rocky beach with excellent swimming areas and also close to beachside swimming pools. Lots of restaurants.
Overall this is a clean and decent hotel well situated for you to access Sliema's local facilities. Excellent swimming off of rocks into deep water is very close by as are various eating places. The Valletta ferry and harbour side is a 20 minute walk. Sliema itself has a lot of modern development although its back streets are older and more interesting. A supermarket is just up the road about 15 minutes walk away. Hotel staff are consistently pleasant and helpful. The hotel is an old original building and the owners could exploit that to improve the look of the place by use of the right sort of furniture. Unfortunately the choice of room furnishings seem out of place, hallway carpets are badly worn, and the way the on-suite shower has been constructed in our room looked a little strange. Despite being above a restaurant and bar noise wasn't a constant problem but on certain nights it was loud and sleep was difficult. Noise did transmit from neighbouring rooms, especially via the en-suite room but overall it wasn't too problematic. The rooms did not have a fridge and although one was available for an additional daily charge, it was irritating having to pay this. There was air-con which worked well. The balcony / terrace was nice but on the first floor it felt like you were very close to the traffic and restaurant downstairs - the terrace furniture looked cheap. Overall it was a pleasant hotel but initial impressions of its condition could put the less flexible travellers off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people, hotel building site

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: needs a refresh
Location: lots to do
Building work all around this hotel, but in fairness most of Malta is at the moment. Screaming music until 3am one night 6am building start all week Malta brilliant and cannot be faulted.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Paul

NOT a business travellers Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
I booked and to be fair I probably made an error on my judgement. It is clean in a good area of Sliema but just dated and not well appointed, it was good value compared to the other accommodation in the area and I can see why. It is in reality one step up from a back packers hostel. yes you have your own room, shower and bathroom and I did have a first floor balcony but it is very basic and dated. I have had better furniture in my student flats - so be warned. and it is above a lively bar as well which is a good and bad thing. Nice bar but noisy, good for a drink but bad for sleep. so I hope this a fair review and there are good and bad points - good price, lively, very clean - bad very basic and can be noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Felixstowe UK

Short stay - Astra Hotel, Sliema

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness & tidiness of the rooms. The beds comfortable for a good nights sleep.
Cons: The furniture looks tired and perhaps updating might well improve the ambience of the rooms.
Location: Excellent location with the Fort car park opposite. Easy walk to Sliema town centre or to St. Julians. Many bars and Cafe's along the route.
A nice welcome on arrival (although the reception is not clearly advertised and ended up enquiring in the Times Square pub who directed us around the corner). Rooms were very clean and tidy and everything we wanted for a short stay. However, very disappointing not to have hot water for a shower in the mornings. That said, it was a very comfortable short stay in a very comfortable basic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Graceful budget hotel by the water front

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Well located and catering for budget customers this hotel has charming staff and a great Italian eatery by the lobby, also closing very late is a pub serving kebab and vegetatarian food. If you come late home there's always something to eat there. Facilities are basic but the rooms corridors were charming, the room very spacious and clean with especially high ceilings. It's much more than expected from such a small night rate. The hotel staff was very helpfull with directions and overall graceful
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel near the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It's a basic hotel. Staff is very friendly. Near the bus stop and Sea. If you want breakfast either go to Perulana hotel or other restaurants. 10 minutes walking distance to shopping area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant value for money and fantastic food.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The staff are always very pleasant and you can use all the facilities at The Preluna hotel which is five star. It is also well situated with the beach across the road and about 50 meters from a bus stop and a 5 minutes walk into town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Sliema is beautiful so the location was perfect... Hotel was dirty!! As I single traveller it was ok but I definitely wouldn't take a partner to this hotel
3 out of 5
by Tengku from Rochester, UK

OK hotel for a short trip

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a bit difficult to locate this hotel if arriving after hours as the hotel sign is slightly hidden. We entered a bar and an italian restaurant underneath the hotel only to be told that the reception has closed and we are to check in at a different hotel (Preluna Hotel & Spa) which appears to be the parent owner of this hotel, and then walk back to this hotel once we received the key. As for the location, it is easy to get a bus to Valletta or St Julians. You can also walk from the hotel to Sliema harbour and take a ferry across to Valletta. There's a nice cafe restaurant just across the hotel on the main esplanade, recommended to have breakfast there. It is also possible to book boat tours easily as agents open booths near the cafe. If you're diving, a PADI dive shop is also just across the road. To get to the hotel from the airport you can either take direct bus X2 and stop at Chalet bus station (the next one after the 'Sliema' stop), or take bus X4 towards Valletta, stop by Bombi 2A (before reaching Valletta), walk down the stairs to bus stop Bombi 4 and take bus 13 to 'Chalet' stop. Recommended to take whichever bus (either X2 or X4) that arrives first at the airport rather than wait specifically for the X2, as the wait can take really long. Once arrived at 'Chalet' just continue to walk along the road until you get to a Kebab shop next to a bar and turn left. The hotel is located next to the Italian pizzeria shop.