Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Friendly B&B in a good location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The location, breakfast, and staff.
Cons: For the price, nothing.
Location: The sea, Porlock Weir and forest walk are all within walking distance. Lynmouth is a short but fantastic drive away.
The hotel is close to the village centre. There are plenty of eating options nearby. There is free parking a 2 minute walk away. The rooms are a bit small but are well-kept. The breakfast is very good - there is a good selection available. The real stand-out is Gill, who runs the B&B. She is very attentive and even cleaned our shoes after we got muddy on a forest walk - this goes above and beyond good service for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Cosy weekend. Very comfy bed and delicious breakfast. Gill was so welcoming and we had a lovely weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bishops Caundle, Dorset

Perfect location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Gill's friendly, but non-intrusive service was perfect, and the food was imaginative and good.
Cons: The Expedia site mentioned spa services, which are not offered. Might mention the steep stairs and tight access for those with mobility issues.
Location: Porlock Weir is interesting and has good restaurants; Porlock Marsh and the sea are close; lots of good walks.
I was warmly welcomed by the owner, Gill, who was full of useful information about the area, and kindly made me a pot of tea on arrival. The information office is just across the street, and they were also very helpful. The local bus from Minehead to Porlock Weir stops conveniently right outside Sea View. The breakfast menu was extensive and you can select what you want (and the time you want it served) the night before. The dining room is a bit tight if several guests come down at once - it's a very old house and the rooms are small, though there are a lot of them and the place has a Tardis-like capacity! Free parking is available nearby, which is a plus though it makes unloading anything heavy a bit of a pain. The narrow road in front of the house means you have to pull up onto the pavement. I was aware of traffic noise and pedestrians well into the night. I felt free to come and go as I pleased without bothering anyone. My single room had an ensuite bathroom, which I could barely get in and out of to be honest (I am large, but still...). The doorway is about 18" wide and the shower cubicle fills the corner inside the door; a toilet and sink share the remaining tiny space. Great sea view from the first floor. The room decor was a bit quirky, but all the basics were provided: tea/coffee making, tissues, toiletries, hair dryer, TV. Wi-fi is provided and worked well. The room was bright during the day, and a blind and curtains kept light out at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgwater.

Excellent location.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing to note.
Location: Great walking country and lovely town.
We had a very warm welcome from our hostess. The breakfast was very comprehensive and delicious. Our room (1) featured a bed with heavier coverings than we are used to but this is just a personal viewpoint, (We use a summer duvet all year). The bottom line is "book this accommodation and you won't be disappointed."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia calls this a 4* Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, lovely old house, room with a nice view, paintings all over the place
Cons: rather basic room and bathroom, no shower
We were looking for 3-5*hotels, when this B&B popped up. The local rates, being less than 50% of the Expedia rate, would very well match the quality of this B&B - but again, even in this review Expedia calls this place a 4* hotel. In many ways this is a nice, old place - but it is by no means a 4* hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wonderful Welcome

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Gill, our landlady, gave us a wonderful welcome and we were able to settle in very easily. Our room was very quiet and had all we needed for a one night stay. Gill's breakfasts were delicious and set us up for a whole day. We loved wandering around Porlock and our walk to Porlock Weir was delightful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything You Would Hope For In A B & B

Posted Oct 20, 2015
A super little B & B our stay made all the more pleasant by Gill's warmth and hospitality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly stay in Porlock!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Everything, cannot fault it at all!
Location: It's situated right on the coast and there are some stunning landscapes everywhere you go
This was the final leg of our journey down to the "south west". I have to confess I knew very little about the north of Devon/Somerset but I was glad I took the opportunity to see it! From the moment we got to Porlock we was greeted by lovely people and really enjoyed our stay. Gill was friendly and gave us a warm welcome, and all in all was a great end to an amazing trip! Thoroughly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

cute B&B in central Porlock

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: the view, and short walk to everything in Porlock
Very friendly hostess, Gill. There is, indeed, a pretty sea view. Our room was small but quite adequate, and Gill's breakfast (made to order from a long list of possibilities) was generous and good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Very good B&B

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Good position, nice old house. Good pub for food (The Ship) a few minutes walk.
Location: Ideal location for Dunster, Lynton & Lynmouth, Exmoor.
Enjoyable two night stay. Comfortable bed, good breakfast. Friendly host.