Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

A good place to relax

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location, building, grounds, pleasant staff.
Location: Nice Italian restaurant a short drive away. Nice places to walk or jog. Close to both village and good shopping center.
Four relaxing days in room with nice view of garden and pond. Hard to leave and get back to the hassle of everyday life!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Let down by breakfast!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We recently stayed for one night and had good experience which included a lovely evening meal. All staff were attentive. However what would put me off returning would be the breakfast experience. The food was cold and the scrambled egg was grey not appealing, there did not seem to be any other choice of egg. The toaster took three attempts to brown the toast The waitress at breakfast although showed us to the table and was polite had no smile which appeared that she was not happy or approachable to ask anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

pre-cruise stay

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: grounds were lovely, very imposing.
Cons: teapots at breakfast, more milk for tea/coffee in rooms. Better ways of keeping breakfast items hot.
Location: Location hard to find,
I must admit that finding this hotel was a bit of a nightmare, but will put that down to my being unfamiliar with the area. The directions given looked easy to find, but were not in reality. The hotel itself was very nice, but a bit like a faded rose inside, could do with an update. Our room was quiet, bed was comfortable, tea making facilities available. Tap in bathroom must have had air in, the noise was terrible every time you used it, also the view from the windows was awful, back of buildings and I presume kitchens, not very inspiring when some rooms obviously had fab views of the gardens. Breakfast was adequate but not hot----serve yourself from covered dishes, also lack of teapots, I like lots of tea in the morning but had to wait until staff available to pour one from a pot they brought round, not good. Otherwise hotel very clean, and staff pleasant, but I would have to think twice before staying again for reasons already given.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Once a splendid building now requires lots of TLC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff were polite efficient and worked hard to please.
Cons: Lots of investment.
Location:
Grounds and approach impressive. From there on the fabric of the hotel let it down. It requires lots of work to the rear elevation. The room though clean was tired the bathroom even more so. The restaurant food was not what what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. One meal had to be returned. Breakfast was very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Daryl

Recent stay Aug 5th 2017

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
To put it mildly a lovely hotel that has seen better days. The rooms are spacious but have water marks on the ceiling, peeling wallpaper etc We had to wait 40 minutes to book in as rooms were not ready. This hotel requires TLC and it needs to fast
2 out of 5
by Simon

Faulty towers

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Botleigh Grange was very disappointing. Aside from two fantastic receptionist the service was abysmal. We couldn't get service in the bar. The restaurant was run by teenagers who did their best but fell a long way short. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Only one towel was provided in the room. The lovely receptionist gave us some more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Paid extra for hotel facilities but steam room not working
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Jacuzzi not working, a normal occurrence I am told
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
The whole of the swimming pool area, steam room were closed for whole of my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent cruise Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Gardens were beautiful. Hotel very friendly
Cons: Bar meals
Location: It was very relaxing just to walk around the gardens and the village. Excellent place for a weekend stay.
As there was a wedding on the day of our stay we felt there was not enough staff to cope with requests for Evening meals served in the bar. Enjoyed our stay and will most certainly use the hotel again when we next cruise.