Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pre cruise

Posted Aug 24, 2017
No a/c. Had to climb two steep narrow flights of stairs with much luggage. No lift or assistance!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Can't be it's a Mecure Hotel: Terrible!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We thought this would make a nice post cruise stopover but we were wrong. Having read mixed reviews on this hotel we thought we would give it benefit of doubt. Bad idea! The hotel is so badly run down and has suffered from the most amateurish quick fix jobs that it probably rates as one of the worst hotels we've stayed in. Apart from David on Reception, the staff look as though they need training. Very inefficiently run. See our photos to give you an idea. There was even a sticker on the pillowcase! Dirty substances on walls. Really poor finish everywhere. We shall avoid this one in future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato CA

Convenient location but dated

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the rooms. Better wifi Air conditioning
Location: Not much going on in Southampton. Good restaurants nearby and handy for cruises/ferry to Isle of Wight.
Very convenient for the ferry and docks for cruises. Hotel is 600 years old so some history but the rooms are very creaky and old. No air conditioning and wi fi is limited. The rooms were a little on the warm side even though the weather was not particularly hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but lacking amenities

Posted Jul 12, 2017
No air conditioning and no staff to help with bags. Told room was on ground floor but still had several steps to navigate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not One of our Best Hotel Experiences

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: Even a small removable screen would fix most of the problems.
We arrived sleepless after flying all night, and could not get into our room. The staff was polite but inadequate to checking many people in and out at one time. It seemed to take all 3 people on the desk to check each person in. The room, when we got to it, was VERY hot, even though it was not so hot outside. We opened the window, and two pigeons flew in. So the window could only be opened 1 inch. There was a tiny, ancient fan, which stirred the air just enough for us to sleep. And the shower had two water temperatures: scalding hot and even hotter. The pluses: the breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room. And the beds were comfortable. We will not return
2 out of 5
by Daisy

Wouldn't recommend at all

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I would definitely not label this hotel as a 4*, the staff were friendly and the lobby was alright but as we entered our room there was two pigeons on our beds, I think that's unacceptable as the windows weren't open so they had obviously been in there for a while, we did get a room change very quickly but weren't upgraded or refunded or anything as I think we deserved. The bathrooms were pretty worn and dirty and I wouldn't dare have a shower, the walls were also very thin so we could here talking and even snoring. I would say this hotel is a 3 at a push.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrendous Night Stay

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were comfortable and clean but the bedrooms themselves need completely updating. The windows didn't close properly so the cold air was coming through most of the night. The bathroom Had mould on the ceiling the shower was faulty and practically hanging off the wall and the water from the tap smelt. We mentioned all of this to the manager and they took off £15 which I think was not fair as we paid £134 for the room. The other two rooms I booked for my family had the same issues plus one of the rooms the Tap was very loose and dripping onto the floor which was A hazard and could have caused harm. I don't feel they gave us good enough compensation for the horrendous stay we had. I will definitely not be staying here again.
5 out of 5
by Ana Filipa

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, great service, clean and quiet. Staff was polite and very nice overall
3 out of 5
by Diane

Mecure Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine for the price and there was much to do within walking distance. We choose this because it is close to the cruise port.