Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Avoid at all costs

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Room had a microwave and refrigerator. There was a standard breakfast.
Cons: The rooms need serious remodeling.
Location: Lincoln Tomb, Koream War memorial, World War II memorial, Vietnam War memorial all are in close proximity
This hotel is dingy beyond expression. The room had torn bed-covers, stinky carpet, broken lamps, carpet had bigggg stains, bathroom had slow shower and certain moldy patches in the tub. Everything was in dilapidated condition but functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Springfield Races

Posted Sep 5, 2017
A quiet place to stay after the Flat Track races. Super friendly staff, Very good Continental breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not nice

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel room door look like it had been kicked in a time or two. there was no mini fridge. walls were filthy. Scotch tape was holding the wallpaper on. Requested a non-smoking room it definitely had been smoked in recently. All in all I would not recommend staying here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muskego Wi

Rather Stay at Bates Motel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Key didnt work. Smell of pot the entire trip. Bathroom floor felt like itvwas ginna give away. Broken tiles that cut my foot. Mold in bathroom. Maybe they should try using aj actual cleanser. Coffee maker had coffee splatter all over it. Our guest to the side of us fought the whole time, he had to hide from the police when they showed up. It was an un easy feeling. Faucet handle leaked and toilet pump was working in properly. Picked this hotel because it said it 2 miles away from fairgrounds. It was over 6. Desk clerk was kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated place. We ended up leaving instead

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The motel is in poor condition. Our room had a huge dent in the exterior door and large chunk of missing paint. The inside of the room was clean, but furniture old and beat up, mismatched, closet doors barely attached. Bedding looked to be over 20 years old. We ended up driving home 3 hours (after the event we had come to) instead of going through with staying in the room. I lost my money, obviously since I prepaid. But I preferred that to staying in that dump.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Springfield, Illinois

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly. Pool open first day...other three closed. It would have been nice to swim was 95 degrees. Breakfast very simple, but ran out of bagels last morning. It was in an excellent location to do all the Lincoln attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a motel than a hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The room was large and clean. HOWEVER...The carpet was buckling and the entire bathroom needs grout and caulk. Room very dark and needs updating. Breakfast was lousy and served very little and not well kept. Lobby is beautiful. Rooms were like a motel. You entered your room from outside the building. Would not stay here again. Wyndham really needs to redo this entire property badly. Asked the front desk guy for pillows, blankets, and a remote st 12:30 am and he said ok and he never came with those items. Told the girl the next morning which she went and got for us. So for one night all we could watch was CNN since remote didn't work. Very disappointed in this property. The breakfast room had 5 tables for 150+ guests. Non airconditioned room. Had to walk up 5-6 stairs. Not handicap accessible. Had 1 waffle machine. Had to wait 28 minutes to make 1 waffle. Out of orange juice. Out of syrup. Only fruit offered were small, mushy, old apples. No muffins. 2 types of cereal offered. Both high sugar frosted for kids. Bagels were frozen. That was breakfast which is offered from 6-9 am. Outside staircase that you must use to get to your room is all rusted. Birds nest there as well with bird feces all over the stairwell. We were on the 2nd floor a few doors down from stairwell. This hotel gets a 2- 2 1/4 from us. Truly disappointed in this property. Not worth the $$. Go elsewhere. Sorry to be so harsh but this is totally 100% accurate.
2 out of 5
by Alan

Springfield Howard Johnson

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is an older hotel that is pretty run down. It would appear there are permanent residents in some of the rooms. The rooms all open to the outside. The steel support for the 2nd floor balcony is rusted heavily in many places and the balcony sags quite a bit. The air conditioner in the room was very noisy. Removing the vent cover did alleviate most of that noise. Even thought Illinois has essentially had a no smoking law for several years now the room smelled very heavily of cigarette smoke. I stayed there one night prior to leaving on an Honor Flight. It was the only hotel near the Springfield airport and had special pricing for those going on the flight. I would never stay there again. I would drive the extra several miles to the airport in the morning in order to have better accommodations. I would definitely recommend against any friend or relative staying in this place.
3 out of 5
by Taylor

Poor Hotel Choice

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The interior of the room was poorly kept and the several things were loose and needed fixed. The pool was not open as all other pools were for Memorial Day.... Overall barely mediocre service. Not a good hotel visit for me.
3 out of 5
by patrick

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Basic motel was ok, No wifi in my room, I told the desk about it, they told me they would have someone check it. I got back that evening still no wifi,