Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

BEAUTIFUL beach and location but AWFUL hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location Infinity Pool
Cons: AC that goes below 23 degrees Friendlier female bartenders Later closing times for towel service BETTER 24 'all inclusive' meal options
Location: Anse Marcel is gorgeous, it's like a private and secluded ocean bay enclosing just for the hotel.
- Start by I arrived to the hotel and no one bothered to get my bags, I had to ask. - On room arrival, there appeared to be what were several blood stains on the carpet. After reporting it, they said it was aloe after it dries (turns from green to dark red/brown), still skeptical about that but regardless, how is it possible it wasn't washed or cleaned PRIOR to having a new guest arrive? And they wouldn't change my room. - The 'daily' filled minibar was half-full when I got my room and still had half-empty-open sodas from the previous guest (gross). - A.C. would NOT go below 23 degrees in the HOT Caribbean and staff said they couldn't do anything about it. - I ordered the '24 hour room service' which turned out to be grand choice of ONLY 5 POOR snacks, I got two salmon bagels with cream cheese on the side, chopped lettuce, no dressing, a sliced week-old lime and did I mention the bagels were TINY (joke)? - Ordered a glass of champagne, which the butler dropped and broke, partially cleaned it up, I say partially because the next day I stepped on a remaining piece of glass and the day after that on another! Not only the butler but maid did NOT properly clean room. - The food was 'ok' at best with low variety, with the exception of 'Krystal' which ONLY took 26 guests and required reservations. - Several staff just looked miserable. - Tours got cancelled not because of weather. - The ONLY plus is the beautiful beach/location (GORGEOUS) and the infinity pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

All inclusive with very good quality

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This hotel was very nice. There were many food options available at all of the meals. The staff were very friendly and the highlight of the hotel. The condition of the hotel is very good. There are a few minor repairs that were being made but overall it was a good quality hotel. I would recommend going here if you are looking for a good value all inclusive option. Most of the drinks were made very well and were very good quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Some staff members were very friendly and my room was nice and clean.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: The location is terrible and there is nothing to do except eat and swim! The resort needs to include more water sports and activities for teenagers.
If you are not eating or swimming, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO!!! The food is mediocre at best! There are no activities that are apart of the all inclusive package. The hotel is in the mountains, it is hard to find, and there is nothing to do on the French side. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Excellent Hotel with its own private Beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
If you looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind then this is the place for you. It was my first time staying in a RIU buy I must say I was impressed. Everyone was friendly and definitely made you feel welcomed. Everyone from check in all the way to the techs always had a smile on there face. The food was pretty good. The only thing that I wished was that there was walk up pool bar and better night entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

French side hotel, secluded and quiet.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Quiet & out of the way hotel on the French side. Some hiking trails that can take you to some beautiful beaches. All the major tourist attractions are on the Dutch side. Would highly recommend renting a car, taxi's are a bit pricey. Typical RIU buffets & 3 different restaurants. Friendly staff. We found out its the smallest of all RIU Palaces.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Great trip!!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Service and the property was beautiful.
Cons: Aside from the gorgeous pools and lounge areas. Some cement and tiles seemed to be lifting. This will not deter my revisit!! Just FYI for maintenance.
Location: The excursion consisted of a boat ride, snorkeling, swimming with the turtles, lunch and drinks!!
I was very pleased with the entire stay at the Riu. I especially appreciate Ms. Love from the nightly shows. She was one of the waitresses who took care of us and always made sure we were ok. She remembered what we enjoyed and kept them coming. The rest of the staff was nice as well. Everyone made our stay one of the best we have ever experienced. The hotel was very nice. The excursion we booked included swimming with turtles which was awesome. We also booked massages which were great. Well worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice all inclusive on the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: We were surprised by the spaciousness of the room. We travelled with an infant and were very comfortable. They provided a full size crib!
Cons: We saw a lot of ants in our room :-(
Location: Lots of beaches, bays, and marinas. Safe island if you want to rent a car and just drive around (that's what we did).
We enjoyed our stay. It was calm and relaxing. We spent all but one day hanging out around the resort, enjoying the beach, pool, and nightly entertainment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island,ny

Nice hotel, beach and pool

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I was totally satisfied, everyone was so helpful and nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: A beautiful remote location
It wasn't long enough !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Its ok resort.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Service staff.
Cons: entertainment shows needs tons f improvement.
Location: so so.
Not too much restaurant choices. Not exciting entertainment shows. Service staff is great.