Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Nice hotel and wonderful beach.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The beach is on the small side but the white sand beach without the waves.
Cons: The entertainment at night could use some improvement.
Consider a small resort for RIU, isolated but has a very nice beach. The food at the buffet is just average but the food at specialty restaurants are excellent. The entertainment is quite simple. Overall, it's a very good place for anyone looking for a quite place to relax and unwind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth, NJ

Family Vacay -St Martin 2017

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We were a group of 7 adults - our experience here was amazing. We loved the hotel, the food was delicious and the rooms were very nice and clean. However, the only thing that this resort is lacking is a better entertainment shows for the night life. This is our complaint. But, if you are looking for a beautiful place with peace and tranquility this is your place. We miss the Rui staff as well - so much attention and great service. Big shout out to Dhari/Ana, Jose, Christian, Erika, Wanda and everyone else that made our stay so special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice property with comfortable amenities

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: All inclusiveness, nice pool, room was quiet and beds were very comfortable!
Cons: A bit dated, but clean. Unlike some resorts that have a snack shack that is open all day, this resort only has select times that you can get food.
Location: Pretty secluded area. Grand Case and Orient Bay are nearby. Rent a car and enjoy Marigot.
We loved our stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable, the grounds were nice, however they needed some maintenance. The buffet and dinners were all good, and the all inclusive drinks were great. We rented a car, so we were not on the resort for our full trio, which is good, because unless you just want to sit by the small beach or pool, there is not much to do, and it is not close to town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota Fl.

Room was very musty

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The staff was just wonderful!
Cons: The food, the musty smell, repairs around the property.
Location: Love the French side beaches
The room was very musty, the food was not a four star. We up graded to the Marina suit thinking it would be nice it had not been redone. Had a problem with the musty smell, I feel they have a mold problem and need to shut down that group of rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Nice hotel but far away from everything!

Posted May 24, 2017
Nice hotel, clean, staff was friendly and helpful! It sits on the French side of the island and is nowhere near shopping and entertainment. Everything is over pretty early including the pool. Entertainment was just okay and tailored more towards older retirees, in my opinion. We had to pretty much make our own "party" or rent a car to go elsewhere. Hills are steep and there are tons of turns so if renting a car to adventure off of the resort to seek so sort of fun, I don't recommend involving alcohol. Food was not as good as some of the other Riu locations like Jamaica. Definitely needed more seasoning. If we visit here again, I would stay on the Dutch side where the night life doesn't close at 11 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Perfect getaway for families with younger kids

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The Hotel is kid friendly, yet quiet. Huge points for the location of the property-secluded and idyllic.
Cons: The speed of check in could use improvement. Beverage service at meals takes very long time.
Location: Perfectly secluded on a calm water bay. Butterfly farm is 10 minutes away and worth visiting for any age.
We were looking for a location that provides a calm water that our toddler daughter can run in and out freely without the worry of the waves knocking her over. We have been to Cancun and Punta Cana in the past and knew the waters there were still too rough for her. The bay at Riu was exactly what we were looking for. It was our first stay at Riu property and we were very positively surprised. We decided to rent a car instead of the transfer shuttle and it proved to be a great decision. The hotel is located on the opposite side of the island from the airport and takes about 30 minutes to get to- just follow the main road- literally. There is nothing within walking distance and you'd need a car to get anywhere, the Hotel can arrange for a rental car. The check in did not leave us impressed as it took what seemed like forever. Few minutes to check in time our room was still not ready, but we were surprised with a small snack and champagne for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The room was spacious and clean with a view of the perfectly manicured grounds. The restaurants were clean with ample seating but the beverage service and wait staff were not on point. Sometimes we were halfway done with our meal before getting a drink. The food is delicious with variety of selections that will satisfy any stomach. On a non windy day there is snorkeling to be done close to the shore. Our overall experience was excellent and we are planning to go back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Absolutely loved my stay at the Riu Palace. This is my 1st visit to St. Marteen and first time with this chain and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very attentive in every aspect. From the hosts and wait staff at restaurants, to Bartenders at the pool to maintenance. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds were kept immaculate. My room was very clean and looked new. The food at the buffet was outstanding. The pool was huge and clean. There were even shows poolside during the afternoon which I really enjoyed. As being part of the hotel industry I can say the Managing Director focus is great on this property as we you see through out the whole day in every area making sure the service is up to par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Rowing at Riu

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: I liked that there were very few crickets at night making noise. I also really liked the food at the restaurant, Krystal.
Cons: The channel selection on the television could be improved.
Location: A quiet and peaceful locale, perfect if you just want to relax and hang out on the beach. However, the night life is little lacking.
A very relaxing vacation experience with a nice beach, friendly staff, and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing place! Paradise......

Posted May 2, 2017
Very friendly staff, and great service!!! I wish to come here again every year for vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Endwell, NY

Loved it!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location was secluded and very scenic. The all-inclusive food and drink was excellent in quality. Clean rooms with comfortable beds.
Cons: Maintenance needs to be kept on top of a little better. The pool should be open later (closes at 7:00)
Location: The marina adjoining the resort has snorkeling and scuba excursions. Nearby Grand Case and Marigot are 10-15 minutes by car.
Our first All-Inclusive Resort experience! I had read various bad reviews before we arrived, but I can say. I disagree! This was a great place! The rooms and hallways were clean. The resort had changed hands in the last few years, and I think they are attempting to rebound from a lack of maintenance under the old management. But really, seeing a broken tile, or other minor imperfection is not going to ruin my vacation. We were always able to get into the nicer restaurants for dinner, we arrived at 6:30 and dressed appropriately, and got right in without problem. But we often opted for the more casual buffet dinner at Le Marche. The Steakhouse at L'Île was great food and service. Sara was one of the friendliest waitresses there and made us feel welcome. The drink service at the pool during the day was also great. The woman with the drink cart, anouncing "Medication! Medication!" was memorable as well. The Eric at the watersports desk by the beach was helpful in arranging a few snorkeling, scuba and jet ski excursions for us, and I saw him other times elsewhere on the property, and received a friendly smile and wave. Gustavo from Scuba Zen is at the pool certain mornings giving free scuba lessons. The beach was good, being in a cove, the waves were pretty calm. If you're looking for big waves, you'll have to rent a car and head to another beach (which we did several times) Check in was fast and efficient. Overall, a great vacation!