Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Good hotel, food, staff..some deferred maintenance

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: food, staff, setting
Cons: some updated maintenance is needed. Painting, carpeting
Location: Beaches, water sports, pool!
Our stay there this July was good. The hotel is situated about 45 minutes from the phillispburg airport between two mountains in a nice cove. The water is not rough at all. There is snorkeling and other water sports on the beach but the snorkeling is not good there. You have to take a snorkeling excursion to find any good fish or sea life. You can kayak or paddle board included in your all inclusive package. You can also jet ski or book excursions there. The high point of the hotel is the pool and pool bar. The pool is about 4.5-5 foot deep on one (infinity end) end which keeps the young kids on the middle to the other side. The bar tenders will come right up to you and serve you while you hang over the pool wall. Iguanas everywhere if you have kids who like that. I preferred the buffet food with my family because it gave my kids choices and it was fast in and out. There is a certain amount of repeat but the food is good. Its a very picturesque setting between the two mountains. I recommend a half day trip to pinel island if you want to do just nothing and feel out in the middle of the ocean wading around. I did not visit too many of the beaches and preferred to stay at the resort and do some snorkel or boating excursions. The hotel needs some updates to carpeting and some paint on the cabanas, pool, etc. It's not a high rise and can't really be compared to say Riu Palace Aruba which is much fancier and prestigious. Prefer Bermuda and Grand Cayman.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Very clean, food was good, staff was friendly. The resort is right on the beach with plenty of chairs for everyone. Only downside is its on the other side of the island...but who cares, the beach was awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Terrible hotel with the worst customer service

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel is very simple, the decoration, furniture, and common areas don't justify the "palace" name at all. The pool is dated. The room is spacious and the bathroom looks decent but the carpet was extremely dirty, and bathroom floor and bathtub was not clean either. One of the comforter has blood stains and one of the sheets has hairs like they didn't change it before they gave us the room. The room service was a disaster, did not work at all. At the buffet, the service was awful, most of the staff is rude and incompetent. The excursion in the catamaran around the Island was amazing, the crew of the Quality Time Catamaran really made our day. Beautiful beaches, excellent service and the restaurant's was very good. On the other hand, the exrcusion to St. Barth was somewhat disappointing, even though the Island is really nice with awesome views and nice beaches, the tour guide was very rude and the restaurant they take you to have lunch a total disaster with rude staff, poor service and poor food. The show, if you can call it "show" is terrible and the music and bars are over at 11:30pm. The taxi driver the hotels called was very unprofessional, the van was falling apart, the seats were dirty and this lady (the tax driver) was upset yelling to other drivers about they way they were driving. On top of everything else, my father left behind a medical device to measure his blood sugar levels because he is diabetic and they did not returned to us after several attempts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth every penny!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
In a lot of ways this hotel exceeded our expectations. Although the dinner booking was a bit challenging if you do your homework it's fine. Dinners were great but the buffet was amazing!! Nightlife was ok. Drinks were great although I wish they had Caribe on tap ILO Heineken. Take a Yeti or Turvis with you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort. Secluded on French side

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Resort was great. Food and drinks all top quality. Biggest issue was lack of entertainment
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice Hotel, Great Views

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything. Didn't have a single issue all weekend with our rooms, meals or amenities.
Cons: As stated above, some minor renovations may be in order but they aren't a big deal.
We had a wonderful stay at the Riu St. Martin. The staff was very friendly, and the views were terrific. Food was also good and our room was excellent (we stayed in a suite). There are some minor renovations that could be done, but they are more of the ticky-tack variety and didn't impact our stay. Will definitely be coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, PA

Beautiful grounds but lacks service

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location- remote and on the French side. Not far from Grand Case and Orient Beach. Beautiful grounds and infinity pool
Cons: Service service service! Empower your staff to accommodate guest's needs and wow them with exceptional service.
Location: Secluded. Need a car to see the island and go to beaches. Grand Case (fantastic dining) is 10 minutes away. Orient Beach 10 minutes.
If you're looking for a hotel with beautiful grounds, nice and clean rooms then this is your place. If you're looking for exceptional service then you will be disappointed. I've worked in the hotel industry for over 20 years and I can have a more discerning eye on things.. We stayed here when it was Radisson Blu hotel and we loved it and was the reason for us to come back. We never stayed at RIU brand hotels and if this was an indication of how they operate, we probably won't return. Food: Not bad, Overall quality was good. Sometimes inconsistent and not always fresh. Better labeling is a must. You couldn't always figure out what it was just by looking at it. Also people may have food allergies and you wouldn't know...Rooms: Clean and comfortable. Pillows were a bit lumpy and have a slight musty odor. The air conditioning is centrally controled so if you want it cooler you have to call. Service: Staff was generally friendly but not always accommodating, which I feel is RIU's responsibility. No empowerment. Asked for an extra pool towel and was told one towel per card (they give towel cards to exchange for towels) and was then directed to ask for additional towel cards, which I did and was told they "ran out of towel card" - not sure how being that this wasn't high season and the hotel was not sold out.. So I asked how can I get an extra towel was given the ingrained verbiage of only one towel per guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

Not 4 star maybe 3

Posted Jun 4, 2016
The pool is dirty full of iguana crap and the pool has no tiles and loose tiles everywere i cut my hand on that never saw anybody cleaning the pool in 9 days the restsurant you cant get into always booked up the food in the only restaurant you could get into food not even average yuk ppl working there always happy and serving you this hotell is not a 4 star hotell maybe a 3 star since ppl serving you makes up for the hotell being not that good drinks at pool not good drinks in lobby bar better never going there again will not recommend to friends
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Only beach
This was the worst vacation of my life. Hotel was dated, food is not even remotely close to food Rui Palace has to offer in Cabo Mexico for instance. Worst of all this is a thief heaven. On the last day of my trip when I was getting ready to leave, I opened locked safe and discovered that my watch , Rado watch, was gone. I could not have lost it or misplace it because every time I go on vacation of this kind I always take it off my hand, lock it in the safe and take it out on the day I leave. So having said that, somebody from local staff, had access to locked safe, opened it and stole my watch. This is unspeakable. I felt like I was violated . My advice avoid this place at all costs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Good family oriented hotel with very friendly staff. Beach and pool were awesome