Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Westin st john

Posted Jul 8, 2016
The Westin has a nice lounge at the airport in st Thomas. This is where you will schedule your ferry transportation to St. John. While it is very convenient and efficient, it costs $120 per person for "unlimited ferry rides" to and from St Thomas. My wife and I found no reason to go back to St Thomas until we needed to fly back home. Public ferry to St. John is $6 or $7 per person. You will need a cab to get to the ferry in st Thomas and another cab to get from the ferry dock in St. John to the Westin but you could save some serious money by doing this work yourself. Cab approx $10-20 plus ferry 7 + 7 = $34 (worse case) each way. So $64 versus $240 for Westin to take care of it for you. After you get to the Westin they have free rum punch waiting for you! The resort is fabulous. Without a question the best resort on the island. Staff is top notch, as are facilities. Fine dining and casual dining are available, poolside bar, free kayaks, paddle boards , floats, and a beautiful beach! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Westin. The Marriot has recently purchased the Westin and the resort is going timeshare/ condo so I'm not certain how much longer "hotel rooms" will be available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Family of four had a great time. Staff was excellent. Pool was great. Beach was awesome. Water sports rentals were great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Very relaxing and quiet hotel on beach

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The hotel staff here are exceptional. The hotel has a great pool and is right on the beach with a great swimming area. They have a restaurant bar right on the beach.
4 out of 5
by John from Louisville

Great hotel but glitch with Hotels.com

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great visit. Our only problem was that we had a party of four and they gave us a single King bed. We had paid for beachfront and they said it was a glitch between them and Hotels.com, which doesn't guarantee the number of beds. While I realize my reservation said that, I've never had this issue before and it's not ok to put a family of four (including a 14 year old and a 17 year old) in a room with only a King bed. They offered a roll away but that would only accommodate one. Finally, they moved us into a different room but it was clearly not as nice, not beachfront and she told us it was less expensive. I feel like we should have only paid the value of the room we were put into. Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il.

No balcony!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, good breakfast, a lot of activities offered for guests. The on-site car rental was an unexpected plus!
Cons: Put a map on the website and ensure the guest actually is aligned with the hotel on what room and view they want.
Location: Endless activities!
I read many reviews on Expedia prior to booking. One thing that is consistent was many people felt they got a different room than they booked online. I called about a month prior and asked for an ocean view room with a balcony. To our surprise, we checked in and got to the room with a wonderful view and no balcony. We were very disappointed with this mix up especially since we took additional steps to ensure we would get the correct room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brattleboro, VT

Not for people on a budget

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Physically beautiful, clean, safe, perfectly maintained, room & bed comfortable, almost all the staff friendly and helpful
Cons: Hotel should be less greedy. Super Bowl bbq nice but $39 for hot dogs & nachos and wings a little excessive. Throw in something free now & then.
Location: Best was snorkeling/sea turtle trip with Cinnamon Bay co.
Paying so much to stay, I perhaps naively didn't realize how expensive everything additional would be - food, drinks, snacks, activities, transportation. TV options very basic unless you pay more. Beach man-made and short, tho beautiful. Everyone seems to expect a tip. If you like beach combing, don't go to Virgin Islands - can't take found objects home. Driving on other side of road on narrow twisting roads harrowing, cabs Xpensive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Nice hotel with all amenities.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Facilities and staff top notch. Friendly, safe, not crowded resort. Wished pool bar was open later.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spencer, ma

Perfect quick getaway

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Arrived early 10am and there was a room available at that time, yay! front desk was quick and helpful, we set our wake up calls at the same time as check in. Everything was easy, the room was clean, the staff was friendly, the resort was well maintained and the location is gorgeous. Easy access to downtown shops and bars with taxis waiting by front lobby. Can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
by Dean from Midlothian, VA

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 days after spending a week with our family in a villa on St John. We enjoyed the stay and all of the amenities. Overall the rooms were very comfortable and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Food was very good...but the menu was limited. Grounds are spectacular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Was surprised about the lack of service and the unfriendliness of the staff - some was outright rude