Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Business/Casual stay Hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The pool
Cons: More Coffee in rooms :)
Location: Nicely located with-in walking distance to food, short drive to Wal-Mart, Cheap gas across street @ Kangaroo Station.
I used this hotel on a business trip for a week. The room was what I expected and the amenities were as they should be. The staff was more than helpful and the breakfast was on par with more expensive hotels that I priced and have used in the past. The only thing that I found off was when I worked late one night and went to the lobby for coffee, I found the doors locked with cable locks. I am sure that I could have rung the bell to gain entry but I was just looking for a quick cup of Joe and didn't want to bother anyone. They had key card readers for entry, but for some reason they felt the need to secure the doors further. The next day I just asked the cleaning crew for more coffee for the coffee maker in my room, and they happily obliged. All in all a good stay, uneventful, which is exactly what i was looking for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Disgusting! kitchen staff unsanitary/ ROACHES!

Posted Feb 15, 2016
My room was very disgusting and are INFESTED with roaches. The kitchen was also dirty. A kitchen staff member was seen taking a spatula for the grits and banging it on top of a near by trashcan and then using her bare hands to clean off the spoon part of the spatula. Then, she placed the spatula back in place for use. I told management and have yet to be refunded!! Do NOT waste your money!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2016 by Ashley G., Hotel Management
Dear Fallon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on the Quality Inn Sumter. We truly regret that you left with a poor impression from the hotel and services and are really concerned to learn about your disappointments. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the appropriate hotel team members to ensure that we are providing the best service/environment possible. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our operations manager to ensure that our inspectors are following proper procedures when inspecting a room. As you can see from other reviews, our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards as we take cleanliness very seriously.  We would like to welcome you back in the future to show you our dedication to you and all of our guests. Until then, take care.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Marietta, SC

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent experience. We were concerned about booking this hotel after reading a few of the reviews but were pleasantly surprised. Everything about our 2 day stay was excellent. The staff, facilities, breakfast and the bar were all top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Katie, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad that you had a wonderful experence with us. I will be sure to pass on your great review with our hardworking saff for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for choosing Quality Inn Sumter! Sincerely, Ashley G. Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

Once again, a wonderful stay.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Price, cleanliness, pet friendly and breakfast
Cons: More attention needs to be paid to exterior maintenance of the entire facility and parking lot lighting.
We have stayed here multiple times while visiting family at Shaw Air Base. Although the place is not brand spanking new and shiny, you're not paying new and spanky prices ! The breakfast was wonderful as always in the former hotel dining room, not a part of the lobby as some more expensive places. Yes, the place may be older, I believe it is a former Holiday Inn, and yes it could use a little maintenance....but it was clean, food was great, staff was friendly, room was comfortable and they are pet friendly. (which we have a small dog) There is also also an attached restaurant/bar, but we have not been in there... And have not been here in the summer to enjoy the pool, looks nice. Another pleasing visit and we'll be back. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2016 by Ashley G., Hotel Management
Dear FF Retired, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Quality Inn Sumter. We are so glad that you had another wonderful stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your review with our hardworking saff for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincarly, Ashley G. Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Wandrika from Hampton South Carolina

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was quiet and peaceful. .. The breakfast was great
4 out of 5
by Sharon from London

Family visit in Sumter

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is adequate with a good location and the hot breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable but the bedding could use an upgrade. The shower was difficult to use and the grab bar in the shower area was dangerous to use as the tiles were almost pulled out of the wall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent getaway!

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed one night and it was just so we could do something different...everything was nice the room was decent for that one night the only thing I did not like was the outside noise. We could here everything everybody was saying outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs training on guest relations & communications

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel has gone down quite a bit since my last vist about 5 years ago. The room looked a little dingy but it was clean.
Location: Great location!
The check in person, evening manager and morning breakfast person were not nasty but they were not friendly either. They all could use a brush up lesson on how to greet guests and show smile every once in a while. Gloomy attitudes.
3 out of 5
by Chedric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Leonard from Virginia

Good but not great

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
First time using Hotels.com. Searched for a "pet friendly" place and made reservations accordingly. Assumed additional fees for bringing pets would have been factored into the price paid but got blind-sided with an additional $35 at the establishment. Dated décor showing hotel's age. Hopefully, a remodel is coming in the imminent future. Overall, not an unpleasant stay. Facilities adequately met our needs. Will visit again in the future if the need arises.