Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Room was very clean, but had a small odor (pets are allowed in rooms). Secluded location, gentle breezes when you're outside.
Cons: Proprietor
All you need to know is that the proprietor should NOT be in the hospitality business. No air conditioning and was not posted on the website. Lodge is run-down and in disrepair (especially for the room rate)! They make a big deal of asking about diet restrictions/choices and breakfast staff thought pancakes were okay for gluten-free! There are no CHOICES for breakfast. (Price included in room rate.) We didn't even attempt to eat breakfast the second morning. The proprietor went to great lengths to write a handbook for the room about the lodge, employees, and how she became the owner of the facility. However, lots of interactions with staff (and proprietor) showed us that they were fairly clueless as to how to communicate with guests---very frustrating. The TV/DVR is not good at all---TV was very small and in a wardrobe dresser---sound was horrible. There is a vast library of available DVD's available to watch. The Lodge/site are very old, but could really be great. The surrounding landscape is quiet and off-the beaten path. Signage for after dark arrival is non-existent. The property is off a winding small road with overgrowth along the street. The area is pitch-black after dark. Going back to the lodge after dinner in neighboring town was a challenge. We turned into three private driveways before actually making it to the lodge. Siri (iPhone) tells you to turn into the property where there is no road. Front desk is not manned after 6 or 7 PM. Proprietor c
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming historical hotel, somewhat overpriced

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Beautiful old building, nice pool, interesting location
Cons: Rooms are poorly lit and the AC did not work. Beds were too soft for us. Breakfast portions were very small with no choice
Hotel is located in a 120+ year old historical building with a good location and view of the mountains on the South side. Rooms are spacious, but we found the beds to be way too soft for our comfort. Most rooms were poorly lit and the AC was not working in our room. Staff is courteous and helpful. Swimming pool is very nice when in season. Breakfast is served at a pre-determined time and there is no menu selection - all get the same meal. If you don't like what you got, you are out of luck. Food was tasty, but portions were small. Overall, nice place, but not worth the over $200 a night price point.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place with a great mountain view

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: historical - beautiful property outside the city
Cons: rooms are somewhat dark
had fun- the staff very friendly- nice breakfast- no complaints
5 out of 5
for Families
by Kimberly

Happy we chose to stay here off the beaten path.

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
It's a charming, comforting, and special place. The service was so friendly and just outstanding in every way.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: ambience
Cons: groundskeeping
We arrived late in the evening looking forward to a dip in the pool after a long drive. But we learned that the pool was unavailable. The staff were preparing the grounds and pool for a wedding on the following wknd. Very dis appointing . The lodge was itself, the property was very nice too bad about other issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not right for our family

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The location was secluded and peaceful. The grounds were beautiful and picturesque. The lobby and dining room were beautiful. The place did have charm
Cons: The bed coverings and carpet need to be updated. For the price, I would like to be pampered. I'm not sure what I was paying so much for.
Location: Close to Taos.
The room we stayed in really needs to be updated. The room looked like an old folks home with seats in the shower and railings next to the toilet. The hotel would be perfect for an elderly retreat, but no so much for a young, active family. The TV was small and there was no clock. We were disappointed that neither the pool or the hot tub were open. The breakfast portions were more like a snack than a meal. This place would probably appeal to many who want peace and quiet and to those who want to bring their dogs, but for us, it wasn't the right choice.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, CO

Nice but,

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Quaint and quiet
Cons: Housekeeping and hot tub usability.....
Location: Taos was fun.......
I understood that the pool would be open in June but was told upon arrival that it is actually opening June 15th. That was a unhappy moment that with no water in pool, couldn't be corrected. I was told the hot open was open but the cover was never removed for anyone's use. I tried to lift it but could open halfway. No one was around to open at all the rest of the visit. The breakfast was excellent and the room was fine although my wife found a hairball in the sink drain. Nasty!! Overall it had nice things and some bad outcomes. I give it a 3......
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Loved this gem!

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Great character, comfortable, great breakfast.
Cons: Possibly a larger fridge for guests to store stuff in.
Location: A few minute drive or short bike ride to downtown Taos along a pretty road, great location to mountain hiking.
I loved the location close to hiking trails and beautiful scenery, the views from the balcony, the whole character of the place and the great books and leisurely areas to hang out and read. Fantastic breakfast!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed staying at this lodge. It feels very historic and like home. The only thing I did not like is you don't get to chose what to have for breakfast. As someone who doesn't eat eggs I kind of got the short end of the stick. My boyfriend loved the breakfast, but I just wish there were options available.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted May 28, 2015
Very relaxing,great hospitality and breakfast was wonderful!We will definitely go back!